We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Ranked #132 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Nice Location”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Very nice location about 3 miles away from ORD, just off I-90 and across from the CTA Blue line station. This looks like an older hotel, but it has been well maintained. The room was very clean, with good Wi-Fi service, full cable TV, microwave and a refrigerator. My room was on the 10th floor (second from the top) and although the hotel is directly under the flight path and almost next to the freeway, the soundproofing was very good.

I had dinner at Bar Louie; good service and an interesting menu. Shuttle service to the airport was on-time and was a quick ride given the heavy morning traffic.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobile_concierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirza B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to write such nice words about our hotel. The team and I were extremely happy to read your note and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our aim to provide our guest with an memorable experience. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Mirza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    211
    162
    54
    48
See reviews for
115
127
89
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Pole
Level Contributor
247 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was in Chicagoland for an overnight having some fun and visiting friends. I had a car and wanted to find a great hotel with an equally great location, internet, convenience and parking. The Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare is it! What I was blown away with was the outstanding service starting with the check in with Danielle. She offered a complimentary room upgrade, gave me a free buffet breakfast, and had an early morning check in available. If you're looking for a quality room with great service usually well under $90/night and not needing to be downtown, then this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viking94708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirza B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for your kind review about our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your comments with the team and we are all thank you for kind words and for giving us a chance to offer you a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Holiday Inn O'Hare.
Sincerely,
Mirza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Enjoyed the hotel, as it was very clean. Convention was going on at the time, so a little crowded, but it's a hotel near a major airport, it's to be expected.

I would surely stay here again, next time i'm in Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirza B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel on Trip advisor.I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our leisure facilities to your liking. I hope that we will have the pleasure of receiving you back again in the future.
Sincerely,
Mirza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
336 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This isn't really a four star hotel, maybe except for the prices they ask for. But it is a nice place, with clean and large rooms, good service and a breakfast above the American average. It is close to the airport and some freeways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirza B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear trip advisor member,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor and sharing your experience. The reviews we receive from all our guests are very valuable as they give us a true in-site on the service we are providing. I wish to thank you for your kind words regarding our team and look forward to welcoming you back soon at Holiday Inn O'Hare.
Respectfully,
Mirza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Holiday Inn O'Hare isn't a four-star hotel, but I rated it 4 TA stars because of what you get for what you pay.
I scored a $50 pn rate on Priceline - an excellent price for a room that was clean and comfortable, and service that was pretty good.
The hotel is located on Cumberland right at the O'Hare Kennedy expressway. It's not far from the main O'Hare hotel drag - River Road - but there's not a whole lot to pique one's interest in the area, other than a Dominick's grocery store.
Self-parking was free, which is surprisingly rare among O'Hare-area hotels. (Yes, most of the AIRPORT hotels in the area charge for parking.) There are relatively few spaces in front of the hotel, so more than likely you'll have to park on the deck in back.
The relatively small lobby was busy and attractive, with a Bar Louie restaurant off to one side. My check-in was quick and friendly.
A bank of three elevators takes you to the room floors. My queen single was a decent size, with nice extras such as a mini-fridge and microwave. The furniture was worn, but no biggie. The work desk was fine, and the free WiFi offered decent speed.
My bed was comfortable, and the standalone air conditioner worked well, if it was a wee bit noisy. The standard Holiday Inn-issue bathroom was of a decent size, with the standard HI bath products (cut down on the coconut in the lotion and shampoo, okay HI?).
The CTA El (Blue Line) Cumberland station is across the street from the hotel for a trip into downtown Chicago. But beware that it's not a pedestrian-friendly scenario when crossing Cumberland, and the construction underway during my visit made it even less so. I took the shuttle to O'Hare to catch the Blue Line. The shuttle en route to O'Hare was no problem, but I waited seemingly 45 minutes or so for a shuttle to show up for pickup.
Having the fridge in the room made it easy to pick up some goodies from Dominicks to snack on. And though the dining options in the area are limited, Giordano's, with its wonderful stuffed pizza, is a few minutes drive away on Higgins Road at River Road.

Room Tip: All rooms are subject to jet noise. Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michiganmarlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirza B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for sharing your review about your stay on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for your psitive comments about our facilities, and services. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Holiday Inn O'Hare.
Sincerely,
Mirza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

spent nite due to missing flight. put up by AA. no show on the courtesy shuttle so found other means to get to hotel, super slow checking, told extensively that shuttle to airport is first come first serve ( must be a problem) no wifi code on my room key wallet even though it has space for it. had to call and eventually someone answered.

breakfast way overpriced. my voicher only covered half. im sure they do this pirposely. sad place like this takes advantage of such a big customer like AA.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miscelmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Miscelmail,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time with us. We do take all of the reviews we receive very seriously. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Walnut Grove, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was booked to this holiday inn-cumberland by my airline after a 24 hour delay. They offer continuous shuttle from ORD airport to the hotel, which usually runs every 30 minutes except peak time. Rooms were clean and spacious. However, you will have a hard time finding dining places over there. There is only one restaurant on the first floor. You will have no choice if you don't have a car - hotel is next to the highway, impossible to walk to other restaurants. Also, my AA hotel voucher showed that AA paid ~$54 for my stay, while I looked up the price online and the lowest price I found was over ~110 - Just FYI

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank juggernaut419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirza B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. I was especially pleased with your comments about our shuttle service and rooms. Hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you back soon to Holiday Inn o'Hare.
Sincerely,
Mirza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#107 of 187 in Chicago
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwest Side
Quality Inn Midway Airport
Quality Inn Midway Airport
#144 of 187 in Chicago
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Address: 5615 N Cumberland Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631-2915 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Barcelo - O'Hare Arpt)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Chicago O'Hare International Airport hotel. The Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel (ORD), just minutes from downtown Chicago, offers you quality lodgings near the airport, making us your top choice for comfort and convenience in Chicago. Come and dine 24-hours in our new Bar Louie restaurant and bar. Bring your family to our Chicago O'Hare hotel, located just off I-90 with close proximity to all that Chicago has to offer. Nearby attractions include the Rosemont Theatre, Allstate Arena, Wrigley Field, Millennium Park, Sears Tower and shopping on the Magnificent Mile. Corporate travelers seeking prime Chicago O'Hare accommodations will not be disappointed in this hotel. O'Hare International Airport is just two miles away, and we are close to numerous businesses such as Career Builders, US Cellular, OCE, T-Mobile, the Big Ten Headquarters and the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center. The Blue Line of the subway is within walking distance of our Chicago Airport hotel. In addition, we offer a business center with a fax machine, copier, printer, computer and free high-speed Internet access. While staying at our Chicago O'Hare hotel, you can enjoy amenities including a heated, outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, an ATM machine and Bar Louie, our new 24-hour restaurant and bar, where kids eat breakfast for free. While traveling, you can bring your furry friends to our pet friendly hotel near O'Hare Airport. Book your Chicago hotel reservations now to enjoy our great rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing