We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great staff, great bar - terrible nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Ranked #137 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, great staff, great bar - terrible nights sleep”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Quick train ride from ORD. Fitness room was acceptable and clean- good TV- 1 TM, 1 EL, 1 Bike, and home gym. Staff friendly. Bar Louie great place to grab a drink and very active nightly. Clean room, attentive housekeeping. Issue I had was the bed, possibly the worst I have ever slept on... or in this case could not sleep on. Beds were incredibly firm and not up to par for rest of Holiday Inns I have stayed at in past. Will avoid this HI in future because of bed issue- they are in dire need of mattress upgrades.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leisuretravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Leisuretravel00,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. I am delighted you were satisfied with our fitness room, the bar as well as the service you received from our staff and your room accommodations. I apologize that you encountered some issues with the bed. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    215
    167
    54
    54
See reviews for
124
129
90
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, f
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Easily, the best part of my stay was how friendly the staff were. From the front desk to the restaurant, every one was very pleasant and went out of their way to make my stay a good one. The room I stayed in was decent, but think it could definitely be touched up a bit. All in all, though, I would recommend this hotel, mostly due to the great staff that works there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Rockville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed at this Holiday Inn for 4 nights and had a great time. The Blue Line metro is a 3 minute walk away allowing for a 30 min subway ride into downtown Chicago. I stayed her with my fiance because it is a minutes walk to a USMLE step2 location which is great for med students taking the exam in Chicago. Overall the room was great but the AC unit was a little loud and kicked in and off very frequently which was a little annoying. There is a great bar/lounge on the ground floor which was perfect for grabbing food or a drink. This is a great pick for staying out of the downtown area while having easy access to public transportation into downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyGirl12_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The price was great because they chose my bid on Priceline ($65 per night) which is awesome for Chicago. I called the front desk upon arrival of our flight and was given directions for the pickup location from Ohare airport. A short walk and about 15 minutes later a Holiday Inn shuttle arrived. The hotel is about a 10 min ride from the airport. Check-in went smoothly and the staff allowed us to check-in early. The room was nice, updated, flat-screen tv, refridgerator, and microwave. There is a restaurant/bar on site that you can order room service. It was okay...I had the cheeseburger sliders and fries.

The next day, the front desk staff (female) was not as pleasant as the first day (male). Sorry not sure of their names. We called to the front desk because our tv was not picking up the movie station. We were told someone would come; however no one ever showed up until we called a second time about an hour later. Also when trying to get the shuttle to pick us up the front desk (female) advised us that they would not be able to pick us up given it was only a mile from the hotel. Well the shuttle service on the website states they pick up and drop off in a three mile radius and this was not a problem on our first day.

There is a CTA transit station (L train) located about a mile or less from the hotel. Although it is close the busy intersection makes it interesting to cross. We often asked the shuttle service to take us over. However, trying to get them to pick us up was often a lost cause. So consider if you are willing to walk at night.

We could hear the airplanes passing by. However this wasn't a problem for us because we rarely stayed in our room. FYI: there is a casino in Des Plaines, IL called Rivers Casino for those of you who like to gamble. It was a quick and easy trip. Just take the L train to Rosemont (which is the next exit from the hotel) and wait for the shuttle from the casino. It comes about every 15 minutes. It is free and it will take you back.

Overall, this is a decent hotel, with comfortable beds, nice decor, good amenities, and a great location. We did not go to the pool but we checked it out. Needless to say the pool did not have any water in it. Improve on customer service and this would be a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukefnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I recently went to Chicago for some computer training and this Hotel was used and recommended by the training vendor. I found it to be great and had no issues. It was close to OHaire airport and the shuttle picked us up. There seemed to be a little confusion as there are several Holiday Inn shuttles. The training room was comfortable and we had a buffet dinner and lunch there and the food was wonderful Couldn't have asked for anything better. It was so nice to have everything provided on site and the banquet staff was extremely helpful. They had a bar and restaurant at this facility and again we had breakfast there one morning and drinks there one night and I found it to be satisfactory. The rooms were cozy, the air conditioning worked great, but my roommate froze and there was little to cover up with. A very light comfort was on the bed.
We wanted to use the pool, but it was being renovated and apparently has been under construction for a while. It would have nice if they advised us of this factor at the time of reservation. We were told it was within walking distance of alot of things, but I didn't see much within walking distance. We were close to the metro and decided that take that downtown. Which proved to be a 20-30 minute ride. The front desk, was very NOT helpful with directions or recommendations. I was disappointed with that and they didn't seem to know some basic info about whether we were to receive food vouchers with our group. I overall had a great experience and would not hesitate to return to this facility. Again I found it to be a great meeting place, and slept as well while there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelli l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Background is important: I'm 61, been in Milwaukee all week and wanted to go home. I left Milwaukee Thursday around 5:00 PM. Traffic was a mess - normally 1 1/2 hour drive, but yesterday it was a mess. 3 hours later arrive at what I thought to be my hotel (Holiday Inn and Suites). The attendant, Kevin I believe was his name, tried to find my reservation, but couldn't. After reviewing my copy of the reservation, he identifies I'm at the wrong place - I needed to be one block over. He immediately read my face - tired - hungry - limping from a foot injury, and knowing the courtesy van just left, told me to please stay at the counter. He was going to do something. What happened was that he called where I was to stay, explained the situation, and both agreed to cancel my reservation there and he put me up in a great room for a reduced cost. He did that without one word from me - I never even got a chance to complain. I had a wonderful night's sleep in clean and attractive suite for a great price. You can bet with service like that, it needs to be recognized. Hat's off to a great hotel and staff. I'll definitely stay at HI!

urns out I arrived at the Holiday Inn! I'd been on the road for 3 hours from Milwaukee, as traffic was a mess. I was tire

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sterling, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a nice hotel, very updated and good location to the airport but it was a weird night with all the noises. It's close to the airport and all so it was a restless night. I wasn't too thrilled that they put a hold on my credit card when my company had paid for the room, as they did not do this to all my coworkers.

Room Tip: Corner suite was very spacious, bathrooms are a nice size and you get a fridge and a microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#110 of 189 in Chicago
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Address: 5615 N Cumberland Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631-2915 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Barcelo - O'Hare Arpt)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Chicago O'Hare International Airport hotel. The Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel (ORD), just minutes from downtown Chicago, offers you quality lodgings near the airport, making us your top choice for comfort and convenience in Chicago. Come and dine 24-hours in our new Bar Louie restaurant and bar. Bring your family to our Chicago O'Hare hotel, located just off I-90 with close proximity to all that Chicago has to offer. Nearby attractions include the Rosemont Theatre, Allstate Arena, Wrigley Field, Millennium Park, Sears Tower and shopping on the Magnificent Mile. Corporate travelers seeking prime Chicago O'Hare accommodations will not be disappointed in this hotel. O'Hare International Airport is just two miles away, and we are close to numerous businesses such as Career Builders, US Cellular, OCE, T-Mobile, the Big Ten Headquarters and the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center. The Blue Line of the subway is within walking distance of our Chicago Airport hotel. In addition, we offer a business center with a fax machine, copier, printer, computer and free high-speed Internet access. While staying at our Chicago O'Hare hotel, you can enjoy amenities including a heated, outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, an ATM machine and Bar Louie, our new 24-hour restaurant and bar, where kids eat breakfast for free. While traveling, you can bring your furry friends to our pet friendly hotel near O'Hare Airport. Book your Chicago hotel reservations now to enjoy our great rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing