We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Nearby Hotels
$570
$522
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$725
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$607
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Hotel Allegro(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$576
$521
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$1,049
$975
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$330
$309
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$330
$288
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$484
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$492
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveler rating
156
235
183
64
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
235
183
64
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar louieclose to the airportblue linehotel shuttlethe shuttle drivertrain stationo'hare airportfree shuttlenext morningoutdoor poolan early flightbreakfast buffethotel restaurantbooked this hotelcoffee makerthe loopdowntown
Filter
Updating list...
552 - 557 of 695 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2011

The room is kind of small but clean and cozy, and the housekeeping service did a good job, also very friendly. The hallway looked really outdated.

I had a problem while I was staying there, those fire alarms in my rooms and hallway (I think it's the whole floor) kept making noise constantly. They did fix it on the day I was leaving, but it lasted two days and was pretty annoying.

The hotel is very close to blue line, HOWEVER, you need to walk across a sketchy parking lot, there's a safety issue if you are a girl and come back from the station to hotel late. Also, the whole traffic around hotel is very pedestrian-unfriendly, and literally nothing around. If you don't have a car, it's inconvenient to get to anywhere else. It's a hotel more for business people not for traveling.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccmIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhall773, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2011

We would like to thank this reviewer for taking time to provide us with such valuable information regarding their stay. We're glad to know they were pleased with our housekeeping department. We were experiencing problems with our alarm system and we hope the reviewer will accept our apologies for the inconvenience. One of the amenities we provide, along with complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle, is transportation to and from the Blue Line Cumberland stop. We will continue to work with the staff regarding proper communication of this service that we provide. Again, we would like to thank the reviewer for helping us improve our service and we hope they will allow us the privilege to serve them again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Outside of the general stench that is Illinois it wasn't a bad stay. It was close enough to my conference. The price was higher than it should have been for the room. The room was nice, bed was good, and everything was clean.

The hotel restaurant was undergoing renovation so the dinning room was moved to a small conference room. Kinda sad really.

Room Tip: Ask for 11'th floor rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilbertson-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

The hotel was under construction during my stay, so that was somewhat irritating but acceptable...it's a good sign that the owner is putting money into the hotel. The rooms are nice and clean, and you couldn't ask for a better location if you're traveling from ORD. The front desk staff is wonderful, both the morning and night shift were very professional and courteous. The breakfast crew are pleasant and food is great. HOWEVER, as a business traveler, I enjoy going to the bar and meeting new people, and I know thats a huge source of revenue on the f&b side at the hotel. The two bartenders at this hotel are the absolute worst I have ever encountered at any hotel, anywhere, domestically and internationally. Seriously. They have NO customer service skills and arent friendly at all. The male bartender was clearly on drugs all night and overcharged me at least $45 on drinks. The female bartender isnt any better. I waited forever for her to take my order, and they were out of everything...I am a priority club platinum member and I will be calling ihg customer relations because of the way I was treated here. Hopefully when they open the new bar and restaurant in the lobby they will get rid of them. Honestly, the hotel is great, but rose and Billy are the absolute worst hotel employees I have ever encountered. There are tons of people out there looking for jobs, these two are doing more harm than good to your establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkyledavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhall773, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2011

Thank you to this reviewer for being a Platinum member and staying with us at Holiday Inn Chicago - O'Hare. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by our construction, but Bar Louie, our brand new 24-hour restaurant, is now open. The necessary staff changes have been made and there is a brand new and energetic team in place. We hope the reviewer will come back and give us another try soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

The hotel was ok. the service was ok as well. but not a three star, maybe only a 2 star service.
the bathtub was not very good. The pillows were hard, and the heater in the room was awful. It made so much noise that we had a hard time sleeping well. At some point we decided it was better to be cold than having that non-stop sound in the room.
the room had a small fridge and microwave which was good. the TV was small and while we were there there was a huge construction in the lobby. so it was very noisy!
but if you need a ride to the airport, they have shuttles to the airport every 30 min or so...
one good thing: they expanded our check out to 1pm from 11am.
room had wireless internet, but you had to pay to use the computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vida_ramin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhall773, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2011

We would like to thank this reviewer for providing feedback regarding their recent stay with us. We apologize for their guestroom experience which fell well below our standard of service. We are in the process of identifying and replacing our older HVAC units with newer ones. The construction is now complete and our new 24-hour Bar Louie restaurant is open. We definitely hope this reviewer will come back and allow us the opportunity to provide the service they expect and deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I had a few problems with non- working equipment during the stay, which the staff resolved quickly. One item to note was a luke warm shower in the morning. The hotel is close to a grocery store, and the CTA Cumberland blue line stop so it is a good location for visitors into the city.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank contactjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhall773, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2011

We would like to thank this reviewer for taking time to give us feedback regarding their stay. We definitely hope they will come back in the future and check out our new 24-hour restaurant, Bar Louie Chicago-O'Hare!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews