We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Group Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunda

Sunda
Reserve with OpenTable
Sunda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 9,466 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: LaSalle
Transit: #22 Bus, stop at Grand coming from the North. Stop at Hubbard if coming from the South. Walk a 1/2 block west. #36 Bus, stop at Illinois coming from either direction, then walk 1 1/2 block west. Red line train Grand Stop then walk one block north to Illinois
Sheffield, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Group Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Went with a large group and they did an excellent job of serving and keeping the meal lively. We tried the sake tini , different but good, also tried the brussels sprout salad , great, finished with excellent sushi

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gord0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    224
    79
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Prospect, IL
Level Contributor
160 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fusion Done Right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a fantastic dinner and we particularly like some of the appetizers including the Crispy Brussels Sprout Salad and the Sunda Steamed Buns. The steamed buns may look like a slider but their taste is out of this world. Among the main dishes, we would recommend the Longevity Garlic Crab noodle. It may look like a linguine Alfredo dish but it is so much better. The sauce is light and the flavor much more subtle and the crab meat plentiful.
As a FYI, Sunda serves its sake on the rock whereas premium sake is typically served chilled. The ice may mask too much of the sake flavor.
On the downside, the dining room is extremely noisy especially when full. So not the place for a romantic tete a tete!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FSYMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went with a group of 6 and ordered at least 10 things, none of which I could name and ALL of which were incredible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jkwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Live up to its reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The food is absolutely amazing - we had the oxtail dumpling to start - very good - but the crab hand roll was the first truly amazing piece - then the pad Thai noodles and the 7 flavors duck were just delicious - and the duck cooked just right... A new place on the favorite list in Chicago!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Coffeesip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I cannot recommend this restaurant enough. It was the best sushi I have ever had. The atmosphere is great and the staff is very helpful. Let them recommend dishes based on your tastes and follow their advice. There is something for every taste and they can guide you to dishes you will love. I suggest you eat in the lounge, as it is quieter than the dinning room. Do not miss this restaurant - it is part of the wonderful Chicago eating experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunda also viewed

 

Been to Sunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing