We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous updates, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #82 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Whitestown, Indiana, USA
1 review
“Gorgeous updates, friendly staff”
Reviewed November 11, 2010

My husband and 1 year old son stayed at La Quinta for the Chicago Marathon. Although busy, the staff was very friendly. Additionally we were given late check-out so we could shower/rest after the race. The breakfast was adequate, typical continental. The rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable. We had room for my sons pack n play, but it was tight. They transferred a microwave and fridge into our double bed room to accommodate my request for the needs of my child. The LCD TV was flat screen; they even had HBO, multiple channels! My only gripe is the parking. We got the ticket validated at the hotel but it doesn't end up saving you any money; just the typical garage rates. But overall, they surpassed my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melshere23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    421
    104
    30
    26
See reviews for
301
210
87
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
732grl
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Traveled to Chicago for baseball, Cubs vs Giants. After an exhaustive search chose the La Quinta for both location and cost. We were not disappointed. Clean modern rooms, breakfast buffet and business center all exceeded our expectations for mid-level chain hotel. Public transportation is readily assessable and the hotel is within walking distance to most sights within the downtown loop. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 732grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I went to a class at Training Connection. They recommended a different hotel but my colleague and I decided to stay at the LaQuinta since it was new. It was perfect. It was close. We were prepare to do a lot of walking but it was not necessary. The staff at the hotel was wonderful. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was fantastic. We I go back I will stay here again. The rate was reasonable for Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlissSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Wow! To get this great a location at this price, with this kind of service! Very impressed with the helpful staff and the convenience. Spacious room, great view of downtown. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Stayed at LaQuinta Downtown while visiting family. There was a convention in town that weekend and the rates for hotels in The Loop were averaging over 350/night. I booked for 239/night and was not expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised. I had a very spacious , king room with a microwave and mini refrigerator as well as coffee maker in room . Large desk area with free wifi, nice flat screen TV. Nice bathroom with large shower. Basic decoration but clean.
Breakfast included was heavy on carbs but adequate with waffles, cereal, toast , muffins, coffee, juice ,milk and yogurt. Argo Tea was just a door way away in the lobby and a deli was also attached to the lobby. I recommend Argo Tea. Try the spiced chai.
The Willis Tower was about a block away. The hotel was a block away from the river and well located with several resturants in close proximity, including the Billy Goat Tavern.
This was a comfortable hotel with helpful staff .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri Eggeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We were looking for a hotel near Union Station and discovered this new La Quinta just 5 or 6 blocks away (2 blocks from Sears Tower). You could walk it but with luggage, it is only a $5 taxi ride. The hotel and rooms are very contemporary with a full wall of desk and free internet for business travellers. Each room also has a microwave, small frig and coffee maker. The rooms all have flat screen TV's. We did notice that the HVAC was a little loud. We had a non smoking room and never smelled any smoke. The free breakfast was great with scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon as well as cereals, an assortment of pastries and bagels and fruit. There was also a waffle station and cold juices as well as teas and coffee.
We got a great AARP rate for under $200. One puzzling thing was when I tried to book another night on line, the site said that the hotel was full, but when I checked after we had checked in the first night, the front desk said that there were rooms available. So I would recommend calling the hotel directly if the internet site says 'No vacancy.'

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaslin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas,tx
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend vacation. Rooms were clean. The front desk staff for the most part were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in an excellent location. Close to many area attractions such as the Willis Tower.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbqplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#9 of 189 in Chicago
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Address: 1 South Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606-4611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing