We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Quinta Downtown, Chicago - clean, quiet, safe - a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #70 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We recently stayed @ the La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown, Chicago, Illinois. The hotel is located about 4 short blocks from the Washington/Wells subway station. The hotel is centrally located in a safe area. A 15 minute walk to all the sightseeing areas on Micihgan Ave/ grant park area. The rooms are spacious, clean, and have LCD flat screen TV's, and a comfortable bed. Breakfast is included every morning. The staff is very professional and friendly. I would stay here again, an defiantly would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pope2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,084 - 1,090 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed for two nights at the new La Quinta Inn in downtown Chicago and could not be happier with the hotel and the staff. The location is minutes from everything downtown and the staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. Our room was large, clean and well laid out. Out mattress was very comfortable and the free breakfast was complete with eggs, bacon, sausage and fresh waffles...wonderful!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowbird1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We were here for business and asked for a quiet room at check- in and that is what we were given. The hotel is fairly new and the decor pleasant. A big plus is that an Argo Tea is attached to the hotel. The pool is minute. We were given an inside room which was very quiet and we got a good night's sleep. The downside was that there is no view except into the other rooms across the way. Of course, they also have a good view into your room so for privacy's sake it is necessary to keep the shade down making it very dark indeed inside the room. The included breakfast provided enough choices that almost everyone can find something. On the negative side, the wood bathroom floor was sticky which for me is a big yuck factor. I hoped it was due to using a swifter or some such thing to clean it. The sign on the bed had the Spanish side up and the English side facing down. Obviously here mangement does not care. No one asked me at checkout how my stay was. When I called the manager later in the day I got no response and when I took the La Quinta survey I also heard nothing. For the exact dollar amount (parking included) you can stay at an historic hotel (which I can't judge because I have not stayed there) much closer to Millenium Park, the Art Institute, State St, etc. Next time I will try it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chr_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a 3 day weekend with my 3.5 year old and 8 month old kids. The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. The staff was courteous and helpful, especially the staff in the breakfast room, who were very cheerful and entertained the kids. This hotel is about a 1-2 block walk from public transportation (both trains and busses) and it is also walking distance to Michigan Ave (we were able to walk to the John Hancock building then to Navy Pier without a problem, but then again we like to walk.) The pool is very small, but adequate for kids to play in. Parking is in a lot next door and is pretty convenient but there are no in-and-out privileges so you're better off to just park the car and leave it there if you can. The breakfast was great, with waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, muffins, toast, etc. I would highly recommend this hotel, and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thaus76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My daughter and I were visiting Chicago for a few get-a-way days. We decided on this hotel because of the value compared to other downtown hotels. It was very quiet, clean and up to date. We stayed in a double full room and had ample room to move around. The furnishings were modern and stylish. The desk was adequate to keep our laptop on and had plenty of room to work. The bathroom was large. The closet had ample room and the bureau with the TV on it had 3 drawers and a cabinet with 2 shelves. The TV was great and had many channels to choose from. There was a 4 cup coffee pot, but no microwave or refrigerator. There was no "hotel" noise that interrupted our sleep, but since our room was located on the street side, there was city noise early in the morning on weekdays. Oddly, vending and ice machines were on every other floor, so we had vending (beverages only) on our floor, but had to go up or down 1 floor for ice. There was one snack, one beverage, and one icecream vending machine on the first floor. (Not sure if there were other snack machines elsewhere.) The business center was on the lower level and had 2 computers and a printer which came in handy to print tour information. The pool and hot tub were very small, but adequatedly served our purposes. Now to the only negative...which could be very frustrating: since we were in the business district, there were no restaurants open after about 6 p.m. in the immediate area and no hotel restaurant or room service. This was very frustrating on Saturday night, our first night in town. We had not had food on our flight and by the time we arrived at the hotel, weary and hungry, we didn't want to venture out by cab or public transportation. Thankfully, there is one Italian restaurant that is open 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. and delivers. So for $35 (including tip) we were able to have an overpriced meal of pizza and salad (no bevarages) delivered. The next night we had to do the same thing. Our third night we managed to have dinner before returning to the hotel. On the postive side, the breakfast was very good. On Sunday, there was the usual LaQuinta make your own waffles as well as cereal, toast, bagels, fresh fruit pieces, juice and coffee. On the weekdays they added fresh fruit salad, bacon, sausage patties and scrambled eggs. Lastly, shopping and sights to see are within several blocks walking distance to the hotel, as are bus and subway stops. We took advantage of the hop-on/hop-off tour bus our first full day which was a few blocks walk away and really enjoyed it. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel, but next time we will probably research hotels nearer restaurants open in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watkinsontx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Hotel was very crowded, people dogs everywhere elevators were painfully slow, and the free breakfast was more like a soup kitchen, big lineups no were to sit, and I went back 3 times with no luck. so I just gave up after awhile and went out for food.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank odemarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The hotel is newer and the staff friendly but for the price there are better places in the loop and magnificent mile area. If you do stay, avoid the complimentary breakfast, it is very disappointing for a number of reasons- although eggs/bacon/sausage are included, they are of very poor quality. Also, for a hotel considering itself 'green' minded, you are provided with paper plates and utensils. Lastly, breakfast is only served until 9. There are far superior and cheap breakfast options within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauls_0875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#122 of 192 in Chicago
711 reviews
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Address: 1 S Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $107 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing