We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #87 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Wood River, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

My sister and I recently stayed at the hotel while visiting Chicago to see American Ballet Theatre perform at the Civic Opera House. It's been a while since we've been to Chicago and searching for a hotel in a good location and close to everything that we wanted to see and do during our short time in the city was a bit difficult at first. We finally decided to book this hotel due its proximity to the Opera House and also to Union Station. After staying at the hotel we highly recommend it for anyone traveling to Chicago, for business or pleasure. The hotel rooms look exactly like what is featured on La Quinta's website - they have been renovated and are very modern. The bathroom has hardwood flooring and a walk in shower (no tub) encased in glass. The room was a good size, not at all cramped. The beds were full size, no double queens available, but were clean and comfortable. The flat screen TV was nice but channels were limited, no HBO. The room we were in was on the Franklin street side and at night I did not notice any extreme street/city noise problems. The staff were friendly and on our check out day they let us store our bag in their luggage room while we went off shopping to Michigan Ave. The breakfast is pretty standard, not outstanding. It has the usual continental items - fruit, yogurt, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, muffins, breads & bagels, scrambled eggs, sausage & bacon and waffles. We did have to go up one floor to get ice and the business center is located on the lower level which was a little disconcerting. As far as restaurants around the hotel, it is connected to Argo Tea, there's a Starbucks across the street, there's also a restaurant called Pot Belly's across the street. There's also a cafe that's connected to the hotel but I can't remember the name of it. There's a Jimmy John's Deli and a Dunkin' Donuts around the corner. Unfortunately a lot of these places were closed after our event, which ended around 10 pm. We took a cab to Water Tower Place on Michigan Ave and the fare was around $10 not including a tip. We felt comfortable walking to the Civic Opera House and also to Union Station to catch our train home. The area is well populated during the day with business people and tourists alike. The one recommendation I can make is to improve the doors to the rooms. They looked like they were steel doors but they didn't feel as secure as I would have liked. As a person who is also employed in the hospitality industry (I work in hotel sales), I came into the hotel with a critical eye and I was pleasantly surprised by the experience.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DownstateChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    410
    103
    30
    26
See reviews for
294
207
85
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

This hotel was awesome....it was located right downtown...hence the name chicago downtown....it was right next to the parking garage which was 72.00 to park for the two days and just a block away from the Willis (sears) tower...there was 4 of us all together and we split the cost of the room, the only bad thing about it was the double bed rooms were really only double beds so it was a close sleep...on other reviews i seen they had glass stand up showers, we were placed in a handicap room so we had a bathtub and shower..the bathroom was huge which was great they had hardwood floor in the entry way and the bathroom...flat screen tv, a computer desk with a very comfortable chair....huge window over looking the city...the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful giving us directions and recommendations on where to go eat and travel throughout the city....which we bought a 1 day pass to travel on the bus or the train for 5.75...what a great deal...we didnt go to the pool but we did look in on it and it is a very small hot tub and pool..the morning breakfast was really good but it was kind of a poor set up there were long lines for everything and there wasnt very many places to sit down...they also had pop machines on the first second and fifth floors, the last day i was ill and wanted a sprite my husband had to go to each one just to find one...finally the last one he went to he found sprite which took his money, the front desk did give him his money back and he was able to get me a sprite...the one thing about the city we didnt like was everything seemed to close early, a lot of places closed at 5 to 8pm....which im sure is because it is probably a business city and they do a lot of monday-friday 9-5 sort of thing...other then that it was a great weekend...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsboro, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

Our four night stay was wonderful. Clean room. Friendly staff. Great location with a short walk to Sears Tower. Short cab ride to all museums on Lake Shore. Free Breakfast. We would stay here again.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dadiemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

We stayed at La Qunita Inn in downtown Chicago this January. The hotel was newly remodeled and we found the room very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large, clean and the shower was great. The free breakfast was outstanding. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is about 5 blocks from Union Station and a short walk form the lakeshore. We walked to the Art Institute of Chicago in 30 degree weather with no problem. As we came in by train, the locaton was perfect, a $6 cab ride away. No resturant in the hotel (except for breakfast) , but several in vacinity. Only down side is minor noise from the EL train, ask for the quiet side of the hotel if this is a problem . I fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RangerDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

It's located at the heart of Chicago downtown, and very close to Sears Tower. It's very well connected to all the other parts of Chicago. People at the hotel were very helpful. The hotel is clean and very well maintained. I liked the decor of our room too. The bathrooms are quite big. They serve nice breakfast every morning, which is included in the daily room charge, which is definitely a plus point. We were very satisfied with our selection. We would like to stay there again.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MandoviC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

This is a new hotel and it looks and feels that way. It is very clean and has a nice modern theme. I was in Chicago for work so I chose a place close to where I needed to be so La Quinta's Inn location was nearly perfect. The downside of the La Quinta Inn location is that there are no restaurants open later in the evening within a short distance of the hotel. When I checked in at 10 PM the first night, I asked for a place to eat nearby. They suggested a 7-11. Seriously! The only continental breakfast was just fine - nothing fancy, but nothing horrible either. The rooms were pretty quiet however I could always hear the neighboring room open and close the blinds. Very odd!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gl0bal_Biz_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

Not our first choice, but all our other choices were booked, I guess there was a convention or something going on. We were very pleasently suprised, the rooms were spacious, and clean. The shower door had a severe leak, and the bathroom floor was quite wet after a shower. other ameneties we used, and were please with included: a business center, and the fitness room (very nice machines, but few) Check out was proir to our train reservation, but the bellman stored our luggage while we took in some Chicago sites. The front desk staff was quite helpful with many suggestions to fill up our day of site seeing, as well as a great dinner suggestion. Dinner was at Lloyds Steakhouse; just a block away. Overall a exceptional stay!! Thanks!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pa55p0rttrave1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Allegro
Kimpton Hotel Allegro
#86 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Address: 1 South Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606-4611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing