We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Fair Price, Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #82 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis Metro
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location, Fair Price, Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

I spent one night here, while in Chicago for a business trip. I believe the hotel just recently opened, so everything seemed pretty new.

The check in was quick and easy, and Leo the doorman was very friendly. My room was clean and comfortable, especially the bed. I loved the FREE wireless internet service (nowadays, far too many hotels gouge for that) and the FREE breakfast was more than sufficient. I had dinner with an old high school buddy, so I can’t speak to the restaurants, but Starbucks and Dunkin’ Donuts were in close proximity.

The best thing about the hotel? My room rate was $116/night, which is pretty hard to find in downtown Chicago! The hotel was an easy train ride from Midway (at $5.50 round trip, why take a cab?) and the walk from the El, depending upon which station you exit, was just a block or two.

The only flaw was my failure to ask for an “inside” room. Chicago is an all night town and the street noise was a little irritating for this fairly light sleeper. Overall, a good stay and I would not hesitate to return to this La Quinta.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank doormold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    404
    101
    30
    25
See reviews for
286
206
85
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

I checked in this hotel late on 11:00 PM the usual check-in time is 3:00PM.When I checked in I have told the front desk that I will be checking out late which they made a note.I was told specifically that they charge for a night.Now when I see my credit card bills it seems they have charged for 2 nights.Now they are giving excuses that the late check-out cannot be so late (10:00 PM) at night.My question is they could have informed me earlier that I need to pay for an additional night.Infact I could have stayed an additional night.This is a trick to eat money as
they have the credit card number to do anything.Never ever stay here.Be very cautious to stay in these type of hotels.Its better to give a penny to a beggar rather that to the money making attitude these hotels have. I have read different reviews that La Quinta is famous to snach money from the common people this way.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

We ended up staying at La Quinta in downtown Chicago over Memorial Day weekend after our originally booked room via Hotels.com Hampton Inn wasn't available, due to some snafu of communication between Hotels.com's servers and those of the Hamton Inn.

Though everything in this hotel was brand new, and the front desk staff were very kind and friendly, we were very disappointed by the value we felt we received during our stay given the price to quality of experience ratio.

The walls of our hotel room were exceptionally thin, as we could clearly hear the casual conversations of the family staying next door to us. The room was extremely dry, such that each morning of our two night stay we awoke dehydrated with our eyes red and our faces puffy. Not an exciting experience nor sight! ...lol. We requested foam pillows (in lieu of the feather pillows provided) due to allergies, but none were available during our stay. The bathroom was very spacious, however the design of the shower stall (no tub) baffled us. Due to the positioning of the glass entry door in relation to the on/off/hot/cold knob within the long rectangular shower stall, one had to fully step into the shower in order to turn it on, thus getting immediately soaked with cold water. I jumped out the first time, only to realize that I couldn't reach far enough in to adjust the water from warm to cold, without again having to step completely into the stall. The problem could have been remedied were the door installed on the opposite/shower head side of the stall. It's a shame no one thought of that.
Breakfast was a little frustrating on our first morning. They've set up a very cool make your own waffle station, however positioned it at the entrance to the breakfast room. There was a constant thick crowd of guests crowded around the station waiting for their waffles, which made it very difficult to actually get into the breakfast room. The assortment of bagles, cereals, yogurts, fruits, etc. were completely satisfactory, however the staff on the morning of our stay were extremely slow in replenishing things when they ran out. I was able to access the cereal, but had to wait 15 minutes for more milk to be brought out, and then realized that the spoons were all gone too. We tried to dine in the breakfast room on the next morning of our stay (Memorial Day Monday) and were told by the front desk staff that on weekends and holidays the breakfast room stayed open until 10am, but to our dismay, they closed the room up at 9am that morning like a normal Monday (we showed up at 9:30am to an empty space). We accepted our fate of no breakfast, but still wanted a cup of coffee. We were suprised to learn that the hotel didn't keep out a coffee pot/tea station like most other hotels we'd be accustomed to staying within.
All-in-all, a mildly frustrating, uncomfortable stay at La Quinta. Not worth the rates ($430 for a two-night stay) that we were charged, given what they offered.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

The pricing coupled with the newness and the location, make this a comfortable value.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepinItSimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Prague, Minnesota
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

I enjoyed my one night stay. I was in Chicago on business and this new La Quinta gave me what I needed for a comfortable stay away from home. The hotel is very clean and the staff was attentive and friendly. I liked the wireless internet in the room which worked great and was included in the rate. I paid $113 which is excellent for a modern, good-sized room with breakfast in a very good location in downtown Chicago. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again if in town on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tree_and_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

This hotel is definitely the least expensive in the area but paying less doesn't mean you are getting less. The rooms are super clean and have a nice art deco look. The breakfast was more than your average continental breakfast. Eveyrthing was always fresh and they never ran out of food, so there's no need to rush and get there early. The staff was friendly with us and my puppy whom I can never leave behind. The fitness center was small, but perfect for a workout. The pool, was small but also perfect for a quick dip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

We stayed for two nights at this brand new hotel. Amazing beds, almost sound proof rooms. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Can't beat these rates!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dufflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Kimpton Gray Hotel
The Kimpton Gray Hotel
#9 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Allegro
Kimpton Hotel Allegro
#87 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Address: 1 South Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606-4611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing