We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value slightly off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #75 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here the weekend after Thanksgiving when many hotels near Michigan Avenue were booked up or charging a premium. $110 rate on Hotwire (plus fees and taxes). The parking next door is convenient and at market rates ($45). (Unfortunately, there are no in-and-out privileges.) Easy walk or cheap cab fare to State Street/Michigan Avenue shopping to the east or Greek Town to the west. Hotel must have been fairly recently renovated. Helpful staff, good breakfast, reliable and free wi-fi. A negative is that there are only two small elevators. Be aware of this if you're trying to make a quick check-out in the morning. Across the street from a Starbucks with extended hours (some in the Loop close early) and adjacent to a Noodes & Co. (but you're in Chicago -- don't eat there!). Hotel does not have adjoining rooms but it was not problem getting rooms next door to each other. Some noise in the evening, even having rooms with a view of a rear courtyard/parking lot -- but this may be because we were located near the stairs. We were able to check in at 10 a.m., which was great (although the hotel also has a luggage storage room). Would return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela_renae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,133)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were traveling to my daughter's for Thanksgiving and Chicago is a great half-way stop, especially with 2 ten-year old grandkids and 3 dogs! We enjoyed everything about this stay from the proximity of location to all we wanted to see while there, The Willis Tower, the Chicago Tree Lighting ceremony to Giordano's pizza! The dogs had a place to do their thing, the kids had a pool to enjoy also, always a biggie when kids are with us! Loved it, breakfast was excellent, will stay again for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Aurora, Illinois, USA
1
Reviewed December 3, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel is conveniently locate din the loop, only a couple of blocks away from the Sears tower and 3-4 blocks away from Michigan avenue. Our room were very clean and quiet. The size was OK for a city hotel. It had two double beds (not queen size). The swimming pool is smaller than what appears in the pictures, but good size/depth for kids. The price included wireless, which worked very well, and buffet breakfast, which was pretty good. In addition to the standard items (bagels, made your own waffle, etc) they offered some items in hot buffet.
There a number of public parking facilities in the area but they cost >$40 for the 24 hrs. The parking across the street is free, but there are times during the morning and afternoon that you are not allowed to park (tow trucks). It is free all day in the weekends, but it becomes quickly crowded. Overall, it is a very good choice for tourism, but if you have a car you need to add the parking cost to the room price. But probably this is true for all Chicago hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family_travel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

La Quinta was not only centrally located to all of the Chicago sites, but beautiful, clean...the rooms were wonderful (we had a great view) and breakfast was perfect both mornings! We won't stay anywhere else when we go to Chicago!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank dawnb607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel is well located and a great deal for a downtown Chicago hotel. We stayed five nights. The rooms are large and the furnishings very modern and stylish. Many La Quintas I have stayed in have been nice furniture with worn carpets and beat up doors and walls - not here, All was clean, fresh and new. The breakfast was exceptional for a La Quinta with eggs, bacon, oatmeal and other items in addition to the standard waffles. We had something different each morning. We found the staff helpful and friendly. This would be a five star rating if it had not been for the chewing gum left by a previous guest on the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaquero viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I chose this hotel for a two night weekend stay. I was willing to try La Quinta again because I had been satisfied with the La Quinta motel outside Bristol VA/TN. I had liked the quality of the free breakfast and the outfitting of the motel room. This location in downtown Chicago was perfect for a visit with a local friend (who also booked her own room). An easy location and you can pull right up to the door, but there are no bellhops to help you unload. I only had 2 bags, but had I had more, assistance would have been nice. Check in was easy. The room was perfect for a single traveler, everything clearly up to date, spic and span, nice bed, room darkening decorative shade, excellent bathroom. Even though this room was right opposite the elevator, I heard nothing - very quiet. Easy to adjust room temperature, too. And a great rate with free breakfast, Kurig coffee maker in the room. I highly recommend this La Quinta. My friend, a Chicagoan, was also very pleased and will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#88 of 191 in Chicago
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Address: 1 South Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606-4611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $137 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing