We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #80 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
South Bend, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel once before - it's only one block from the opera, which I was attending. I stayed two nights. The rooms are a good size, walk-in shower was nice, everything appeared to be designed for handicapped accessibility. The bed was comfortable. The only drawbacks were the towels - pretty scratchy, and the vague smell of cheap cologne, as if someone had stayed there before and the smell remained. I only smelled it for a short time after each time entering the room, but it was not a pleasant smell. You can hear the "L" train in the distance if the television is off but it's not an overwhelming or really disruptive sound. The staffed breakfast area is very nice and there was a good selection of foods. I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the west side of the hotel - while all you'll get is a street view and a building a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    428
    105
    30
    27
See reviews for
307
216
87
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great rates with breakfast included. Within walking distance to Chicago attractions and shopping on the Magnificent Mile. Easy $3 commute from Midway and only 1/2 block from station. Breakfast included sausage, biscuits, gravy, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, cereals, fruits and an awesome do-it-yourself Belgian waffle station. Free-WIFI. Very picky teen daughter highly recommends. Great for families.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcdUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel due to all of the reviews that I found on TA. I was thinking Oh I'm so going to love this hotel. When we FINALLY arrived after driving around 20 minutes trying to find a parking lot we finally pulled in the hotel area and asked where parking was. The guy told me that we had to park in a parking deck next door.

So we drove around once again until we found the parking deck. We got to the gate for our ticket, unloaded, and went to the front desk. For two nights it was about $300 and some change. I asked the clerk about parking and she told us in a nutshell that she could charge it to our rooms which would be $90. I looked at my husband I shock because I was so annoyed at how much it was. $90 for two nights. I have NEVER had to pay for parking at a hotel so this is completely new. ..

We went upstairs to the 8th floor. 816 to be exact. It was your usual La Quinta. They have this weird long table by the window which is not necessary. The night stands are so small. You have to literally get on the floor to get to a outlet to charge your phone. Let me not get started on the bed. This is the worst bed I've ever slept on. It's hard as a rock. All the other La Quintas I've stayed at have extremely soft beds. . Not this one. From my room all night all I heard was that train every 10 minutes or so. It was very loud.

The Iron board didn't have any kind of cushioning in it. Just straight board.

I was really let down by this location. I do NOT recommend this location to anyone nor will I ever come back....

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Krys90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in La Quinta Inn for 7 days, the location is great... walking distance to Sears tower, and if the weather is good you can walk to any chicago attraction. Its close to shopping centers the State Street and even close to the famous magnificent mile... The room is great, comfortable king sized bed, very good shower. The only drawback to the hotel is the breakfast, not that many choices (scrambled eggs or waffles) and everything is in plastic (plates, forks, cups, etc) and you need to dispose them (self service :p)... but in general its a great hotel to stay in...

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Razmig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

+Great Free breakfast (i'm still craving those biscuits 3 weeks later)
+Room was very spacious and comfortable
+Bed was extremely comfortable

The only drawback is that you can hear noise in the hallways a little more than we would have liked, but this was a minimal concern.

The pool and hot tub were extremely small, but still this is better than not having it at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UltimateToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

After six different budget hotels in our tour of South Eastern states and ending in Chicago this was one of the best; modern, clean, spacious and, for the most part quiet. 'For the most part' because it's in the financial district; almost comatose after 7.00 pm and, I imagine, deserted at weekends. So, despite Starbucks on almost every corner, there are very few restaurants within a short walk (of those that were close, Rivers is probably best). The bit which isn't quiet is breakfast; as a UK visitor I was consistently amazed by the American need (at this price point at least) to have a TV on - several TVs on - in every public drinking and dining area, and La Qunita's breakfast lounge ensures the dependency is brashly satisfied.

But, that small gripe aside, La Quinta scores on every level; three lifts, accessible bathroom if requested, pool, parking, generous breakfast (although, as ever, with plastic cutlery and paper plates), good service and two inter-connecting facilities: a tea bar (excellent) and a fast food noodle bar.

One small tip: looking at rooms from the outside in daylight and the windows appear to be mirror glass. Don't be fooled; switch your lights on at dusk and all the desktop jockeys across the street can see you in your boxers - or less; draw the blinds!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fivecorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 190 in Chicago
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Address: 1 South Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606-4611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing