We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #79 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked this room through the "name your own price" on Priceline because we wanted to stay downtown for under $250. I think we paid about $130 a night for this room for two weekend nights. When we are in hotels, we are basically there to sleep so we don't need all of the fancy amenities. This hotel was perfect from that standpoint.

As others mentioned, they do have a breakfast, which we did not use. We also did not use the pool or fitness so I can't comment on those.

We had a king bed on the 9th floor and we thoroughly enjoyed our room. It was spacious and had a great working area. We were in the hotel the same nights as the others who complained about the parties and noise, but thankfully the parties were not on the 9th floor.

We walked all over the place from this hotel, including up the street to the Bank of America theater for a show. Parking was $40 per day so if you can avoid it, I would suggest other means. But we do like to have our car for one of the day trips around the city.

Would stay here again for the right price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Franklin St. Madison St is a busy thoroughfare....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    435
    106
    30
    27
See reviews for
315
221
87
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,342 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A 10-15 minute walk from the parks, theater, and metro. Our room was not very big - was surprised at the single double bed (not queen) - but nice firmness and pillows. But the bathroom was nice size. Nice towels. Staff was very good/helpful. Breakfast suffered from too many people trying to all eat at same time - but it was acceptable food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Took my family to Chicago for the first time and stayed here. It is very close to the "L", which we took the Orange Line from the airport. We were also only a few blocks from the Red Line on State St, which we took out to Wrigley for a Cubs game. The property was only a couple of blocks from the Willis Tower at the corner of Franklin and Madison. It was a little longer walk than I anticipated to get to the Magnificent Mile, but it was still manageable. We even walked from the LQ all the way to Navy Pier one evening. We had an outstanding room! We had a corner room King on the 9th floor with excellent views. The room was quiet, clean and perfect for my families needs. The kids used the fold out couch. It did take several requests to finally get enough blankets, pillows, sheets, etc for the kids on the couch. Breakfast was great. Of course, self serve waffles were available, but they also had a different hot meal each day, served by the staff that was very good. The breakfast area is on the 2nd floor and is larger than most LQ breakfast areas. The staff was always very nice, although I think we caught the baggage guy on a bad day when we checked out. The receptionist apologized for his lack friendliness. He was very nice and accommodating when we checked in, so I think he was just having one of those days. Overall, it was a very good stay and definitely a place that we would stay again.

Room Tip: Corner Suite has excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hula_girl_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was thoroughly disappointed in this hotel. We stayed here for two nights in June, 2013. Granted the weekend in Chicago was busy with the Just For Laughs comedy festival, game 2 of the Stanley Cup Finals, a huge motorcycle rally and an electronic dance festival, but at no point were we informed that La Quinta was the party hotel.

Our room was large and nicely decorated, the staff were welcoming when we checked in, the location is great (in the northwest quadrant of the Loop) and everything seemed perfect - until midnight. At least two or three of the other rooms on our floor were the meeting base for a large group of people in Chicago to party. Yelling, screaming, running up and down the hallways. There is absolutely no soundproofing throughout the hotels. We could clearly hear every words that was said in both the room across the hall (my husband actually checked twice to see if our door was even closed), and the room beside ours, as the voices carried - very clearly - through the vent.

At 12:30pm on the first day, we called front desk to ask if there was anything that could be done. We were spoken to rudely, told that security had done all they could, and got shoulder shrugs with attitudes that we had annoyed their staff. The party finally left, but of course their return at 4 and 5am was equally as loud, with no action taken by hotel staff.

The second night was even worse. My husband called around midnight and was spoken to even more rudely than the night before. He was told "they've paid their money too", "what do you want us to do about it", "it's Saturday night in Chicago". He even kissed his teeth over the phone a few times.

Needless to say, the staff made it very clear that this is a party hotel, where you pay to have 15 people in your room hollering and yelling until whatever time they want in the morning - not a hotel where you sleep during the night so you can take in the city sights.

Believe me, I can party with the rest of them, I'm not some old codger who can't stand the young-uns these days. But I have courtesy for those around me, and I would expect the staff at a $300/night hotel to have that same courtesy.

The hotel is lovely. Boutique style, walking distance to everything in the Loop including Millennium Park, the Mag Mile and the SkyDeck. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was so-so with do-it-yourself meals, a hot counter but no eggs, and always impossible to find a seat no matter what time if the morning you go down. But the night staff ruined the entire experience for us with their rudeness.

Room Tip: If you're in the city to experience the city, ask at check-in to be roomed away from any large y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanderella97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I visit Chicago several times a year and have stayed at various hotels. l booked this hotel stay through Priceline for 3 nights. I really enjoyed the spacious room, comfortable beds and cleanliness of the hotel. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast very good and pleasant setting. I enjoyed the swimming pool several times while there. The only downsize was the hot tub is small and only for 2 people at a time. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just had 4 days in Chicago and chose thisplace based on tripadvisor reviews.
The location was ideal for us, it's on the edge of the loop so close to the L, 2 blocks from the Willis Tower, short walk to the Bank of America Theatre, slightly longer walk to the Millenium Park. We didn't go to shop so didn't mind being a bit further from the 'magnificant mile'.
The staff were welcoming and pleasant, able to help with local knowledge as well as checking us in efficiently.
Both communal areas and the room were clean. The room was nice, comfortable bed, good shower.
Breakfast was included and was perfectly adequate but nothing special.
Just one downside: the rooms we were given was opposite an office block which had workers in from about 6 am until late evening. (They certainly work long hours in Chicago). They were very close. This meant they could see into the room unless we closed the blind, cutting out all of the daylight. When we raised this with reception they seemed surprised that we found this a problem but did agree to move us to another room the next day. We eventually decided to stay put as we were out for most of the day anyway.

Room Tip: Check who can see in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donbeshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is located in the Loop as Chicago calls the area. It's mainly a financial district I believe based on the sheer number of banks located there. Anyways, the check-in was efficient and the staff were all very courteous and helpful. We walked all the way from the Blue line, it was a bit of a hike with bags in tow but not a deal breaker unless you are hauling more than you can carry.

The general area is pleasant and clean. The main lobby has a seating area that is very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The breakfast staff were an absolute delight! They were very cheerful and it was just a great way to start off the day.

The room was very clean and neat. The room that I had did not come with a mini-fridge or a microwave but my friend's room had both. We paid the same rate for the same room. No idea why but wasn't a big deal for me on this particular trip (business). Wifi is available but the speed is extremely slow. Needs to improve on their Wifi speed and connection.

There are plenty of delis and Starbucks around. Argo Tea is actually connected to the lobby. Potbelly is across the street.

If you arrive and stay during the weekend, almost none of the delis and shops are open. Be prepared to walk farther for food during the weekends or just walk over to the Red line and catch the train to Grand. It's only about less than 5/10 mins ride.

Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gamedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 190 in Chicago
574 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Address: 1 South Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606-4611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing