We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but otherwise so-so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #70 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just had 4 days in Chicago and chose thisplace based on tripadvisor reviews.
The location was ideal for us, it's on the edge of the loop so close to the L, 2 blocks from the Willis Tower, short walk to the Bank of America Theatre, slightly longer walk to the Millenium Park. We didn't go to shop so didn't mind being a bit further from the 'magnificant mile'.
The staff were welcoming and pleasant, able to help with local knowledge as well as checking us in efficiently.
Both communal areas and the room were clean. The room was nice, comfortable bed, good shower.
Breakfast was included and was perfectly adequate but nothing special.
Just one downside: the rooms we were given was opposite an office block which had workers in from about 6 am until late evening. (They certainly work long hours in Chicago). They were very close. This meant they could see into the room unless we closed the blind, cutting out all of the daylight. When we raised this with reception they seemed surprised that we found this a problem but did agree to move us to another room the next day. We eventually decided to stay put as we were out for most of the day anyway.

Room Tip: Check who can see in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donbeshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is located in the Loop as Chicago calls the area. It's mainly a financial district I believe based on the sheer number of banks located there. Anyways, the check-in was efficient and the staff were all very courteous and helpful. We walked all the way from the Blue line, it was a bit of a hike with bags in tow but not a deal breaker unless you are hauling more than you can carry.

The general area is pleasant and clean. The main lobby has a seating area that is very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The breakfast staff were an absolute delight! They were very cheerful and it was just a great way to start off the day.

The room was very clean and neat. The room that I had did not come with a mini-fridge or a microwave but my friend's room had both. We paid the same rate for the same room. No idea why but wasn't a big deal for me on this particular trip (business). Wifi is available but the speed is extremely slow. Needs to improve on their Wifi speed and connection.

There are plenty of delis and Starbucks around. Argo Tea is actually connected to the lobby. Potbelly is across the street.

If you arrive and stay during the weekend, almost none of the delis and shops are open. Be prepared to walk farther for food during the weekends or just walk over to the Red line and catch the train to Grand. It's only about less than 5/10 mins ride.

Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Jessie F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had a 3 day trip to the Windy City and La Quinta turned out perfect - footsteps to my destination, friendly staff, comfy room and all the facilities I needed, while being in the heart of downtown within walking distance to everything Chicago has to offer.
Staff were helpful, made recommendations for late night dining as well as highly entertaining banter at the free breakfast. Wifi worked great, room was perfect for 1 with a HUGE workspace. fridge/microwave in room were small but came in handy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pae_cyberdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a hidden gem! Nice location just 2 blocks from Willis (Sears) Tower. Very affordable rates. Very clean lobby, rooms, and common areas. Free breakfast was a great start to our day! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had to stay here for business over the weekend, so this would definitely not be my choice while in Chicago, but I wasn't paying for it.

Location: Again, I stayed here over a weekend, so it was a ghost town. Forget finding an open restaurant. Most everything near the hotel closes at 6 on Friday and is closed Saturday and Sunday. I'm not sure how close it is to shopping because I was working all weekend.

Room: Very clean, but very spartan. It reminded me of a dorm. My room was also really small. I was looking at an alley, and the building next door was so close it made the room completely dark. No view whatsoever. Don't expect any lotions or anything. You get one shampoo and that's it. But again, at least it's clean.

Workout Room: Very small and needs to be upgraded with new equipment. Open 24 hours. Two treadmills, one elliptical and one bike. Only one treadmill worked, the elliptical felt unstable.

Breakfast: It was free, but you get what you pay for..it sucked.

Service: Everyone was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
White Plains, New York, USA
1
Reviewed June 6, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#121 of 192 in Chicago
711 reviews
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Address: 1 S Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $107 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing