We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #75 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a hidden gem! Nice location just 2 blocks from Willis (Sears) Tower. Very affordable rates. Very clean lobby, rooms, and common areas. Free breakfast was a great start to our day! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had to stay here for business over the weekend, so this would definitely not be my choice while in Chicago, but I wasn't paying for it.

Location: Again, I stayed here over a weekend, so it was a ghost town. Forget finding an open restaurant. Most everything near the hotel closes at 6 on Friday and is closed Saturday and Sunday. I'm not sure how close it is to shopping because I was working all weekend.

Room: Very clean, but very spartan. It reminded me of a dorm. My room was also really small. I was looking at an alley, and the building next door was so close it made the room completely dark. No view whatsoever. Don't expect any lotions or anything. You get one shampoo and that's it. But again, at least it's clean.

Workout Room: Very small and needs to be upgraded with new equipment. Open 24 hours. Two treadmills, one elliptical and one bike. Only one treadmill worked, the elliptical felt unstable.

Breakfast: It was free, but you get what you pay for..it sucked.

Service: Everyone was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
White Plains, New York, USA
1
Reviewed June 6, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in the Loop and this was as good as the others as far as cleanliness, condition of room, and attentiveness of staff. The location was a little farther west than we're used to but it turned out well because we could easily walk to the vibrant restaurant area of the West Loop and then just as easily walk to Millenium Park. The breakfast area was large and the breakfast included hot food as well as cold. The only thing I didn't like was that there was a shower, but no bathtub. This probably wouldn't bother most people, but I like to have the option of taking a bath.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank shellfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Housekeeping was very late in the day. Coffee wasn't replenished every day. Good size suite. Uncomfortable living room couch. Comfortable sleeping conditions. Thermostats in living room and bedroom. Good work space.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlisTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Came to Chicago for a convention with a few colleagues.....we had booked 3 rooms and upon check in, discovered that one of our rooms had been given away to someone who was deemed a no-show, thus for the first night I was forced to sleep on the floor. The manager pormptly gave us a free night, but it really didn't seem to ease the pain in my back. The second night all of our rooms were available, thankfully, and I was in a room with a comfy double bed, a larger than expected room, overall. There was no noise from the adjacent street, at all The free breakfast was fantastic, with the most outgoing, positive lady working there, that I have ever seen.
Location was quite central and mostly a smal cab fare to wherever you wanted to go. It was a tough start to the trip but ended up being just fine by the end.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leapinglenny12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on business. Very inviting lobby, front desk staff were very friendly and genuinely helpful. The rooms were very clean and nicely appointed. Good internet connection in the rooms. Very nice breakfast area and good selection. Housekeeping staff and front desk were excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
The only negative is the person manning the breakfast station was not friendly. Otherwise this was a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank My_Fun_Road_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#90 of 192 in Chicago
584 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Address: 1 S Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $127 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing