We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to hang your hat for the night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #75 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place to hang your hat for the night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very nice for the price in the downtown area. Towels are fluffy. Rooms are clean and large enough for an overnight stay. Bathroom was clean and everything worked! Great location for my meeting in Sears Tower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    389
    93
    29
    21
See reviews for
280
197
81
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable, great value, and such nice staff. Clean and affordable. Directly one block from train to anywhere. Good transportation. No need for car. Great breakfast and indoor pool. Great rooms too.

Staff is great and everything is clean and new and bright.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swabikedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Went here for a quick trip over the Remembrance Day weekend. Used priceline to purchase since we weren't too picky as we were staying for only 3 nights. The location is great - it was just me and my boyfriend, so we walked everywhere, even to the Field Museum (45 mins along the water) and up and down Mag mile. it's right next to the Loop and there are always a ton of buses in Chicago, so it wouldn't be a bad location for families. However, the hotel can be a bit noisy at night (thinner walls, near the train) which didn't bother us - we live next to the train in an apt in downtown Toronto so we are used to the trade off between great location and noise pollution!

The breakfast buffet was good - had fruit/yogurt and cereal if you wanted to be good, and waffles/ biscuits, sausage and sausage gravy if you wanted to be bad, with things in between.

The staff were all helpful. At breakfast they served us with a smile and were joking with the guests, and the front desk called right away to make sure we got to our room okay, and then helped with dinner choices and jazz bars decisions.

Overall great location, a bit noisy, the rooms were small but not overly cramped, but the staff were helpful and nice. I'd come back here if the price was right.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MI
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just spent 3 nights at the Quinta Inn and Suites on Franklin Street, in near downtown Chi-town. We chose it because of its very convenient location to the Chicago Lyric Opera House which we attend yearly. The staff of the hotel is exceptionally friendly, especially Arianna who greeted breakfasters with big smiles and a cheerful banter. The room itself was very clean and if you don't want it serviced, you don't have to have it done. You can request just how much you want, from changing the linens to what ever. We've stayed at cheaper per night hotels, but they were farther from the Lyric and this was a big factor in choosing the Quinta, as well as it's close proximity to State Street, the theatre district and one of our favorite restaurants, The Berghoff.

Room Tip: A court room is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xicolopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I arrived at LaQuinta a half hour before check-in and thought I would need to wait to check in and pay more time for the garage I had estashed the car in. But no, the man (manager?) standing in the bright, clean, modern lobby ushered me to the counter where I was quickly and happily checked in and directed to my room. The room was bright and spacious, toiletries were decent but spare.

All was fine until later that night when actual sleeping came into the picture. The double beds in my room were cheap and gave way too much in the middle when I tried both of them. Also, there's some sort of air circulation system that runs a very audible fan 24/7, making it sound like the heating/cooling unit is running. But compared to the H/C unit, it's a treat. When the heater comes on, it makes a repetitive electronic noise until it warms up (and you wake up). Good thing I was tired from walking each day or I wouldn't have slept much at all.

The breakfast room was large, bright and airy. There was a number of different types of food, but for some reason they can't bring themselves to serve eggs on the weekend (though there were biscuits, gravy, waffles). And the usual free breakfast annoyance was present - disposable everything - in addition to a tight 9 a.m. cut-off.

The area was very convenient to the Opera House and Sears/Willis Tower and there is an El stop one block away. However, if you want a sit-down restaurant beyond Chipotle, you'll need to start walking a number of blocks east or take advantage of the El stop.

This was a price/desperation booking for a weekend where hotels were mobbed, so I'm happy that I didn't get something really bad. However, I wouldn't pick this property again if I didn't have to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the La Quinta Inn for a couples weekend and the hotel did not disappoint. The room was much larger than I had anticipated and was very clean! The breakfast spread was not your typical continental breakfast. There was both hot and cold cereal, eggs, bacon, toast sausage etc. The business center was great for my boyfriend, who had to fax something into work while on vacation. And most important, the hotel was set in a prime location. A short walk to the Skydeck and Millennium park and a 5 min. taxi drive to anywhere else! My only complaint is that the gentleman who worked the nighttime duty was not very pleasant. We arrived late on a Thursday evening and he was not very kind while we checked in. I assumed maybe he was tired, but his attitude continued every evening. However, he was surprisingly more pleasant during the early mornings when other staff members were around. Other than that, it was a wonderful trip and I would stay at this hotel again in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kobrie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A great, professional staff who CARE about best quality for the value. A recently renovated hotel with excellent sound insulation. Breakfast bar was bright, clean and well presented. It's a bit far from Shedd and Lakefront, but the staff makes up for that shortcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank ScubaDvrNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#27 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Address: 1 South Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606-4611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing