We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean, Friendly, Quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Ranked #76 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
“Clean, Friendly, Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

A great, professional staff who CARE about best quality for the value. A recently renovated hotel with excellent sound insulation. Breakfast bar was bright, clean and well presented. It's a bit far from Shedd and Lakefront, but the staff makes up for that shortcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank ScubaDvrNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    402
    97
    30
    23
See reviews for
283
204
84
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was recommended to stay at the La Quinta from a friend whom had stayed there. I arranged three rooms for over a week each through the Manager Gary Pratt. Who turned out to be a nasty little jumped upstart. I was informed all our rooms would be upgraded. None of which were done. Two of the three rooms were very noisy with the vent making a loud droning sound continually. I complained and was eventually moved to a larger room. This room was even noislier. Both my colleagues mentioned this upon their visit to my room. The last night, I had to put on Noise cancelling headphones in order to get a couple of hours sleep. When I informed the front desk that I wanted to receive some compensation, "Mr Pratt" as he now called himself aggressively approached me informing me I got a good deal and I should be happy. He is a nasty little man that should not be in the hospitality industry! He reminded me of Basil Fawlty of Fawlty Towers
Whilst the staff were OK, none of them seem happy to be working there.
Breakfast was so lame and the staff unfriendly, we only went there twice, the second time to confirm it was so bad.
Do not stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty001255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Johns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here while attending a conference at Hotel Allegro. Food outlets close by - Arby's, McDonalds; Walgreens pharmacy, Starbucks all walking distance. Hotel front office staff were friendly and helpful - information, hailing a cab, directions

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nucleuskore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

In a 3 day stay with two operas and two shows, the La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown is perfectly situated. The rooms are large, clean and the staff is friendly. I had heard they served an excellent free breakfast, but I was not able to partake in this. I would easily recommend this as a perfect place to stay in the theater district.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iowaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The La Quinta in downtown Chicago is a great property for the most part. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the free breakfast was plentiful. The glass shower stall in the room was a touch of luxury in a moderately priced hotel.

What really affected my opinion of this property in a negative way was the fact that they block Verizon cell phone service. When asked about the cell phone service not working, the front desk employee immediately asked if we had Verizon and said it didn't work there. Interestingly enough, we received full service as soon as we stepped outside the front door of the place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMeyerMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was my second stay at this location, it helped to be familiar with the area this time so check in was a breeze. The hotel staff is so very kind and helpful. They assisted me with anything I needed, and went above and beyond offering to call taxis for me, offering a bottle of water to me while I waited in the lobby for a friend to arrive, and helped me print out tickets for a broadway show I was attending. The room was very clean and the beds are very comfortable lots of pillows. The breakfast has a nice spread and is very convenient, overall just a great stay at the La Quinta.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We found this hotel on Hotwire and to be honest I was disappointed in getting a La Quinta because those are usually hit or miss... but this one was great! We were only there for a night, but I was pleasantly surprised to see the size of the room was huge for a downtown hotel. A few weeks prior we had stayed at the Blackstone for $100 more and it was about the same size. The location is clearly meant for business travelers, but it was quiet and only a few blocks from the lake. Perfect for the weekend! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Very clean and there are keurig machines in every room! My only complaint (for my fiancee) was the Ironing board was very wrinkly and hard to get a good press on. Other than that, it was great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anngie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#31 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Address: 1 South Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606-4611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing