We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thirsty Improv” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Theater Chicago

Apollo Theater Chicago
Ranked #101 of 631 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lockport, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Thirsty Improv”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Worst show of any type Ive ever attended. Totally stupid, amateurish & not funny at all. Can't imagine this venue lasting long at all. With the reputation of the Apollo, was totally disappointed. Save your money, dont go even if someone gives you the tickets!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    38
    8
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Go See "Million Dollar Quartet"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hadn't been to Apollo Theater in a long time. While I love its quaint and intimate setting, and the ability to purchase drinks AND take them into the theatre, I'm not so thrilled with the many stairs and back-of-house access to ladies room which is down a tiny spiral staircase! Most seating is excellent for viewing productions. Last row, off right did make some cast members hard to hear if they were speaking in another direction. Million Dollar Quartet was fantastic! Hadn't read the back-story so not sure what to expect. It was fun, interesting, well acted and sung. A great way to spend a holiday weekend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Firsthope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Rockin' Million Dollar Quartet at the Apollo Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

MDQ THE SHOW: The MDQ show is one of the best musical performances my wife and I have ever seen. It's on the same level as Beatles-Rain. The performers were were all reasonable impersonators of Elvis, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins and Jerry Lee Lewis in looks, dress, voice and on-stage mannerisms. Close your eyes and you would think the real stars were there. It's amazing that they all could sing, act AND play their instruments masterfully. Carl Perkins (Shaun Witley) was especially good on the electric guitar. Christopher Damiano's (Johnny Cash) Walk the Line is awesome. Jerry Lee (Lance Lipinsky) was incredible on the piano including Jerry Lee's famous antics playing the piano standing up and using his feet at times. I was mesmerized by his piano talent and his dead-on impersonation of Jerry Lee's performances. Elvis sings Peace in the Valley (with the others singing harmony) in a way that gives you chills. The show ends with Whole Lotta Shakin Goin On and a more exhilirating musical experience you will not find anywhere. The show includes an informative story line about Sam Phillp's discovery, promotion and recording of these four rock superstars before they went on to major record labels. But the music just rocks! Whitney Jones as Elvis's girlfriend Dyanne does a couple female numbers (including the classic "Fever") just as well as the guys. The bass player is mostly just a background instrumentalist, but he does an upright string bass solo at one point that is jaw-dropping. The show lasts 1 hour and 45 minutes with no intermission, but it moves quickly and you never think about wanting an intermission. Better use the restroom before the show though. We tried to book tickets on a Sunday for the 5:30 pm performance and found it to be sold out. So, we went on Wednesday evening 9-05-12. That evening, it was about half full. The Johnny Cash and Dyanne actors came out to the lobby after the show to chat and sign autographs. Very personable people. Even if you are not a 50s rock fan, the show is very entertaining. The show is essentially family-friendly, though there is some light profanity sprinkled throughout the show.

THEATER: The Apollo Theater is small but you are very close to the perfomers. The seating is stadium style; the stage is ground level. Sound is fabulous. One review I read said it was freezing in the theater, so I took a jacket. But I didn't need it. Temperature was fine for the whole show. Restrooms are small but clean. Doors to the theater open 30 minutes before show time. No video recording or photos allowed.

PARKING: There is a small parking lot on the north side of the theater. Most of the parking is under train tracks. One review I read complained about grease falling on their car. However, we got there early and used nearby parallel street parking. Lincoln Park uses a pay box. You insert a credit card and enter the time you want (3 hours max.) and it charges your card and dispenses a sticker that you place on the inside of your windshield next to the sidewalk. There is no charge for parking after 900 pm. Since we got there early to pick up tickets (6:30pm for a 7:30 pm show), we found parking spaces open. However, it the theater were full, I'm not sure if there is enough parking near the theater.

RESTAURANTS NEAR THE THEATER: There are quite a few restaurants within 2-3 blocks south of the theater. Buffalo Wild Wings is one. We had a scruptious hamburger and BLT at Dillinger's Bar & Grill about one block south of the theater.

SUMMARY: I highly recommend this show. I hope to see it again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SpringfieldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went here to see the Million Dollar Quartet & there wasn't a bad seat in the house! 440 seats & everyone can see the entire show with no obstructions. Comfortable temperature & seats were comfy as well. The show was amazing as well!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

We went to see million dollar quartet the place is small, but it's a good size for its location the facilities and the equipment are a little bit old but very well taken care of, over all a good place

Helpful?
Thank gferraez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apollo Theater Chicago also viewed

 

Been to Apollo Theater Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing