We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Museum of Contemporary Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Chicago Explorer Pass
Ranked #66 of 647 things to do in Chicago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boldly interweaving exhibitions, performances, collections, and educational programs, the MCA is an innovative and compelling center of contemporary art where the public can directly experience the work and ideas of living artists, and understand the historical, social, and cultural context of the art of our time.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Lovely building but disappointing 'art'. There was a good Alexander Calder exhibit but I still spent just 10 minutes in this place. Some things just made me laugh.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    189
    115
    63
    39
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Stimulating and provocative ”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

The MCA, as it is known, hosts a range of new and already well established artists' work. It is housed in a beautifully designed building (but it is Chicago!). There is plenty here for everyone, but come with an open mind because there is also plenty to challenge you conceptually and aesthetically! A great afternoon!

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First timer”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was my first time visiting the MCA. I honestly could've done without the Isa Genzken exhibit. I can appreciate modern art, but this was just bizarre and took up a huge portion of the museum. I just didn't feel anything when I was looking at her pieces.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Lake, Ga
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The gift shop is the best part”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The gift shop drew us in. Usually we like modern contemporary art but didn't really connect with the exhibits on display here. It was not expensive an provided some quiet and cool relief from busy Mich Ave are but would not go back. At the end my teen said "is that all ?". It was kind of small but did provoke some family discussions on Frieda Kahlo and using found objects in art.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank markay163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a pleasant two hour visit. Each work includes an explanation that is essential to read that explains the message behind it. All make a social or political statement. It is next to Water Tower shopping and just off Michigan Avenue.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum of Contemporary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing