We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cool place”

Museum of Contemporary Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Chicago Explorer Pass
Ranked #65 of 638 things to do in Chicago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boldly interweaving exhibitions, performances, collections, and educational programs, the MCA is an innovative and compelling center of contemporary art where the public can directly experience the work and ideas of living artists, and understand the historical, social, and cultural context of the art of our time.
Geneva, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
330 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“very cool place”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

this is a great place to go to see moderninity at its finest. it really is a cool place to visit. my family and friends have gone here and really enjoyed it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Troy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    180
    113
    62
    38
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
204 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“If you are into contemporary art, then go. If not, then avoid.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I went with my teenage daughter who is into contemporary art, and she liked the museum. I am into more traditional art, and just didn’t think it was good art or a good museum. The best part was the third floor, which to me was the closest thing to actual art they had. The worst part was the first two floors, which someone out there considers art…just not me. Each piece has a meaning, and my daughter and I enjoyed trying to interpret what the artist was trying to say. Many pieces have a phone number to call, to hear a description from the artist of what he or she was trying to say with the piece. Many pieces didn’t have any explanation at all, and we couldn’t figure out the artist message. If Wolfgang Puck actually ever ate at Puck’s Café, he’d close it down. The food standard was less than par, and the trainer of a trainee we overheard was not at all happy with her job and not afraid to let that be known to all who would listen. And if she was the trainer, I can only imagine the motivation level of the trainee. Also, you’re in Chicago, which has the best deep-dish pizza in the world…don’t waste your time/money ordering a Puck’s pizza. There is a Giordano’s about 2 blocks down the street…go there for a great lunch or dinner. The gift shop was excellent, and probably worth checking out without going into the museum proper. The web site for the Contemporary Museum of Art has an “Exhibitions” button, which had more info on what the artist was trying to say, than they had displayed in the museum. I would do this virtual “Exhibitions” tour before deciding to go to the museum. Bring camera (no flash photos allowed), free coat room.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank C130driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great museum to visit”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a wonderful place. Check which exhibits will be there before you go. This is a great place to visit if you only have a couple of hours; it is not so big that it is overwhelming or would take a whole day to explore. The layout of the museum is open and bright. The exhibits were great and I had so much fun taking it all in. I look forward to going back. Free coat check and no crowds. There is a nice looking cafe and garden as well (to explore in warmer weather).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
989 reviews
274 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Free admission for kids 12 and under. Free coat check. Amazing exhibits. Awesome gift shop. Friendly and hospitable museum staff. This place is a true gem and in my books of world museums it is on top of the list. Much better than our local Toronto's AGO. Bravo to Chicago for maintaining an outstanding contempory art museum for us to enjoy. Highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank FirstClass001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For present contemporary artists its a homerun”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

It privides exhibits of many living artists. I think the Chicago Art Institute does zero for Chicago or present day artists. Years ago they did have annual artist exhibits but blew the task off about 60 years ago.
Only been here about a dozen times.

Helpful?
Thank rdonath708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum of Contemporary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing