We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of Science and Industry
  
Ways to Experience Museum of Science and Industry
Chicago CityPASS
249 Reviews
from $108.00
More Info
from $81.00
More Info
from $31.95
More Info
from $49.95
More Info
Reviews (10,079)
Filter reviews
9,899 results
Traveler rating
7,143
1,939
596
152
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
7,143
1,939
596
152
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coal mine u boat all ages german submarine submarine tour fairy castle human body tesla coil baby chicks weather exhibit flight simulator brick by brick interactive exhibits hands on activities kids and adults great for kids great exhibits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 9,899 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2019

First thing you need to know is, allow yourself about 4-5hrs to do this place justice. There are different packages depending on what you want to do and see. You can buy a lesser package and then add on at sections if you want? The two add on's we did were the coal mine experience and the U-boat. I would highly recommend. Be aware there is time slots for these.
You go up the tower, then descend the mine shaft and work your way through the coal face. don't worry as your guide keeps you right and fills you in on all the info you need.
The U-boat experience, you enter at the front of the boat with your guide making your way through and out the back having been told what it was like to live and work on the boat for three months at a time.
The rest of the museum is then up to you as to how you want to go? ENJOY!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank ian1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

We only had 3 hours to spend at the museum, and I wish it was more! There is enough to see there to fill 3 days. The exhibits are very hands on with a lot for children to do. We especially enjoyed the submarine are. There is a tour offered, but you have to buy tickets for the tour in advance. We did not know that. It would be nice if you could buy tickets at the attraction. We did get to see Tornado Alley in the giant dome theater. It was great, although it made me a bit queasy at times. We loved looking at all of the old cars and model boats. We saw a little of the human body exhibit. There was so much to see and we loved every section. I definitely recommend spending a whole day!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Megan5880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

The museum was really fantastic, with topics of interest to just about anyone. The materials were presented simply enough that kids could grasp the general ideas, but not so simply that adults were bored. I wish we'd had more time, there's more to experience than a single day can cover. Look very closely at the small details on the train tracks (Chicago to Seattle), because there's some clever humor hidden throughout.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank MissusNoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

We spent half a day here. Toured the submarine exhibit and the coal mine. Well worth the extra charges. The guides for each were fantastically informative and open to questions. The rest of the museum has an abundance of rooms and displays and exhibits. So many things to see. Will go again to see the rest. Kids will love it here!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank mbullett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

Took two kids under 13 - they enjoyed a few things but found some of it boring. I think much of that had to do with how it was set up... and the fact that a few of the displays were rather outdated. I would recommend the "Science Storms" section as well as the "Transportation Gallery" and "Extreme Ice". The "Space Center" area was ok as was "The Art of the Bicycle". Overall, not enough to even make it worth half a day. Overall a good visit, just not something we will need to do again soon.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank bdimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews