We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW museum”

Museum of Science and Industry
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Museum of Science and Industry Chicago
Ranked #6 of 638 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The largest science museum in the Western Hemisphere! Housed in the only remaining building from the 1893 World’s Fair, MSI is a Chicago must-see. You’ll experience 14 acres of hands-on exhibits and have the chance to stand before a 40-foot tornado; climb aboard a World War II German submarine; take a run in a human-sized hamster wheel; descend into an Illinois coal mine; tour a fully functioning eco-friendly home; board a 727 hanging from the ceiling; transmit your pulse to a 13-foot, 3-D beating heart; and much more! MSI is not a place where you walk around quietly and observe. No way! You get involved in the fun—and learn—by doing. Just a few miles from downtown with convenient underground parking.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WOW museum”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This museum is truly fantastic. I remember coming to this museum when I was a child. I thoroughly enjoyed it then AND now. Great exhibits....hands on.....excellent for adults and children ! You will have a lasting memory of this museum!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank queenofspaids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,516
    1,562
    462
    115
    45
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jundiai, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“above my expectations, must go!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

for everyone who enjoys going to museums they have good options, but for everyone that doesn't like museums, it will amuse you. weird stuff from twister machines to a german submarine (real). they have options to the hole family. must go!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MauroAblas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place to learn”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was the most interesting place I think I have ever been to. The highlight was the coal mine tour that gives you a feel of what a real mine is like. But every exhibit really explains the science better than anything that was done in school. If you're interested about the history and science of our nation's industrial history and you'd like to be entertained in the process, this is the museum to visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We travelled to Chicago with our 11 and 14 year old and the museum was the best of anything I have seen in Washington DC or New York. Be sure to see the coal mine exhibit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank StaceyAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Anatomy lesson and a sub”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went to see " Animals Inside and Out". It was worth seeing but not as spectacular as the human anatomy display. There were people available to ask questions about the displays and how they were done which was nice.
Haven't been to the museum for years. The U505 exhibit had been redone since I saw it last and they have done a great job. A lot more info about the Battle of the Atlantic and more displays about the sub and the people involved with her capture.
Museum was clean and didn't seem crowded and the interactive displays worked which was not always the case in the past. There seem to be a lot of activities aim toward children
The museum is always worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science and Industry also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Science and Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing