We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MSI better than ever”

Museum of Science and Industry
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Museum of Science and Industry Chicago
Ranked #6 of 642 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The largest science museum in the Western Hemisphere! Housed in the only remaining building from the 1893 World’s Fair, MSI is a Chicago must-see. You’ll experience 14 acres of hands-on exhibits and have the chance to stand before a 40-foot tornado; climb aboard a World War II German submarine; take a run in a human-sized hamster wheel; descend into an Illinois coal mine; tour a fully functioning eco-friendly home; board a 727 hanging from the ceiling; transmit your pulse to a 13-foot, 3-D beating heart; and much more! MSI is not a place where you walk around quietly and observe. No way! You get involved in the fun—and learn—by doing. Just a few miles from downtown with convenient underground parking.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“MSI better than ever”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

MSI never fails to impress. From the staples like the giant model train set, to the new exhibits like Science Storms, this museum delivers a consistently fascinating education experience for all ages.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,603
    1,580
    472
    121
    47
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved this Museum”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

this museum was great. We loved the U-boat exhibit and tour was well worth it. We visited this museum on the city pass, which was a great investmest. We took a cab from brunch there and rode the bus back to our hotel.

The only downside is this museum is further removed from the rest of them being located in Hyde PArk. Well worth the trip though.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank megsailor05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great museum for the kids”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Museum of Science and Industry is certainly a great place to take the kids (particularly if it is cold out). With plenty of attractions and hands on things to do I would certainly go back. It is also easily accessible on public transport.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing exhibits, great value, can be overwhelming”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were totally wowed by this place. So much is included with basic admission (days worth of exploring!), it is very affordable, and cheesy gift kiosks are not thrust upon you at every corner (Shedd Aquarium, are you listening?) But it can be overstimulating and overwhelming, especially at busy times. The wide-openness of the major exhibits makes it too loud to think and causes quick fatigue. Luckily there are also plenty of exhibits where you can pause and contemplate in relative peace.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kev_heber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Museum of Science and Industy”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Out of all the museums I have visited I find that the Museum of Science and Industry is my favorite. I love taking people who visit me from other states to this museum. It is both educational and fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TommieG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science and Industry also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Science and Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing