We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas around the world”

Museum of Science and Industry
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Museum of Science and Industry Chicago
Ranked #6 of 638 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The largest science museum in the Western Hemisphere! Housed in the only remaining building from the 1893 World’s Fair, MSI is a Chicago must-see. You’ll experience 14 acres of hands-on exhibits and have the chance to stand before a 40-foot tornado; climb aboard a World War II German submarine; take a run in a human-sized hamster wheel; descend into an Illinois coal mine; tour a fully functioning eco-friendly home; board a 727 hanging from the ceiling; transmit your pulse to a 13-foot, 3-D beating heart; and much more! MSI is not a place where you walk around quietly and observe. No way! You get involved in the fun—and learn—by doing. Just a few miles from downtown with convenient underground parking.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Chicago,Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Christmas around the world”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The annual Christmas tree exhibit is one of the favorite attractions in December. It is a veritable forest of interesting and beautiful decorations. There is just so much to do and see at this wonderful museum. Old favorites and new exhibits combine to make it always exciting and fresh. Don't miss it!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank set2go52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,516
    1,562
    462
    115
    45
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fascinating Museum”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I was only able to spend a few hours at this museum but could literally spend an entire day there. There is so much to do and see. The subject matter is really interesting and there is a lot to learn. If you like museums this is a must visit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Laxw09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was so interesting, we went twice.”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The Dr. Seuss exhibit was outstanding and gave a much fuller view of the broad spectrum of his work. A real highlight!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank mgl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,262 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 614 helpful votes
“Christmas Around the World -- Superb”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We went to the museum in December 2011 specifically for the Christmas Around the World exhibit. We really enjoyed it -- it was beautiful, with all of the decorated trees surrounding the rotunda. It was also educational; each tree had a small description of the country's Christmas traditions. We went on a Friday afternoon, and although busy, it wasn't obnoxiously so; there was ample space to move around and plenty of time to read each plaque and soak in each tree. We didn't have time to explore the rest of the museum, but from the glimpses of other exhibits that we saw, they appeared to be highly interactive and in great condition (in fact, we'll return on another visit to Chicago to explore the museum in more detail).

One tip: knowing we were only going to view one exhibit, we arrived about 2.5 hours before the museum closed for the day. We were granted half-price admission. If you're only going to see one thing, this is a great way to make this a cheaper experience!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good display of Industry as well as Science”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

This is a great family museum. Though our children are adults we still maintain memberships to take our friends' children. Few science museums have such a presentation of agriculture and industry as well as basic science.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank EliIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science and Industry also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Science and Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing