We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a good steak”

Morton's The Steakhouse - Chicago - Wacker Place
Reserve with OpenTable
Morton's The Steakhouse - Chicago - Wacker Place is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #151 of 9,614 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Michigan Avenue
Transit: Nearest El stop: Brown/Purple/Green/Orange/Pink Lines - State/Lake or Randoph/Wabash Red Line - State/Lake Blue Line - Clark/Lake
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If you want a good steak”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is mainly a steak restaurant and if it is a steak you want, you won't be disapointed.

Outside Morton's looks like a stiff and expensive restaurant. It is not cheap, but it was not as formal as we were afraid, we actually felt very welcome and relaxed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 978Jule31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    137
    64
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Should have been better...”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had high expectations...
Steaks could have been better...
Service could have been better too…
Wine by the glass has very restricted choices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FilipeVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Finish to our weekend in Chicago”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Mortons was great choice to complete our long weekend in Chicago. Wonderful steak and seafood combo. Great service . Thank you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant_Maguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Power down and right back up”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

One of my go-to places after work, Morton's "power hour" never fails to recharge a tired soul. The menu hits all the right notes in my book. I never tire of the crab cake BLT's and the parmessan truffle fries - so much better than many overpriced and pretentious joints in the city. Bar bites and drinks are truly great deals for the budget-conscious. Staff is always lovely. The atmosphere is pretty laid back - and for being near one of the busiest crossroads of downtown Chicago, I'm always surprised it's not more packed. All the better for me and friends that there's usually a table for us to unwind, without reservations. During the summer, the streetside patio is so relaxing. What's more, it's not just happy hour, the party prices are good through midnight on most days!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aweepilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“As expected”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I must preface this review with the fact that I am indeed a food snob, especially when it comes to steaks. I have had the best steak ever in my hometown, Oklahoma City, at The Ranch, and no other steak can compare. I'm still hoping one day to be wrong... That said, Mortons is definitely a top notch steakhouse. The atmosphere is very pleasant, the bar is lively and the dining is romantic, friendly, business-like, whatever your needs are, they will be met. The staff is very friendly and prompt. The blue cheese wedge salad was ginormous and delicious! The bone-in ribeye and filet are good - but they won't blow you away. The sweet potatoes with cinnamon and pecan topping was AMAZING! You almost can eat it as a dessert and we wished we did because the chocolate lava cake was so-so. The cake tasted like a frozen dessert that they microwaved. All in all it's a very nice place, it just didn't knock my socks off like I'm always hoping for when I eat steak.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hpaysnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morton's The Steakhouse - Chicago - Wacker Place also viewed

 

Been to Morton's The Steakhouse - Chicago - Wacker Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing