We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Billed as a Southern/New Orleans eatery,”
Review of Big Jones

Big Jones
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Jones is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #573 of 9,604 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Balmoral
Transit: Clark bus, Damen bus (on Ashland), Berwyn 'L' stop on Red Line
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Billed as a Southern/New Orleans eatery,”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

this restaurant doesn't live up to it's billing...but as a Southern/New Orleans style restaurant, there is much here to enjoy. The catfish entree and the duck breast were outstanding. The sweet potato hash is an absolute must. The chicken and dumplings however doesn't live up to Southern-born expectations...the dumplings being heavy a d doughy...not like grandma made. Also, the corn fritters miss...again pretty heavy and not what one expects for fritters....perhaps we should have ordered the fried chicken dinner...we really wanted that banana pudding, but, als, it only comes with the fried chicken dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onygo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    34
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My sisters and I meet in Chicago every year. This year we chose to eat at the Big Jones. It was a great experience. Our waiter Andrew was outstanding. He was so passionate about the food they served. He was thoughtful on his recommondations, I can't say enough great things about him. The food was also excellent. It was seasonal, so we were a bit disappointed when Jambalaya was not on the menu, however the special was trout, and it was fabulous, the Shrimp and Grits were great, along with the Baby Back ribs. The atomospere was very comfortable, and prices were reasonable for the quality of food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chickfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A price to pay for forgettable.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a lovely place. The servers are very nice, helpful and enthusiastic. The cocktails and bar are well done, including an infused bourbon selection and local brewery selections. The crab cake starter does not cheat, the croquettes are perfectly fried. A Curry Catfish entree is different and the fish tender and sauce pleasant. The pork loin with sweet potato has was very nice, perfectly cooked pork. The desserts were competent with a bread pudding with salty caramel sauce that was overwhelmed by sugar and internal heat from being microwaved and another dessert in which the mint ice cream was the star, and so good it was the best bite of the evening.

What makes this a very average place appears to be that the fine dining presentations do not really enhance the Southern Food flavor experience whatsoever, and the flavors, while pleasant and nice, are forgettable. In addition, the service out of the kitchen is slow. It is noticeably slow.

This coupled with a hefty price tag for the ingredients used and the relatively standard flavors created in an artistic way that does not really ehance the flavors bring the rating of th is restaurant down for me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lps773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Southern Food in Chicago - Yes!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My son told me Big Jones was very good but he undersold it - the food and the atmosphere was fantastic. We had brunch and I would heartily recommend it. Between the six of us, we tried almost everything on the menu and none of us were disappointed. In fact, there was so much food, and it tasted so good that we couldn't stop, that we had trouble getting up when we were done!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRSchlumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My Taste Buds Were Thoroughly Entertained”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Light, warm, delicious cornbread. The best corn fritters I've ever had. Impossibly wonderful flavor from…stewed chicken and dumplings? Yeah. Who knew? Salmon on a bed of farro (!!) with bacon-fried collard greens and fried chick peas: oh.em.gee.

Not too pricey, ample portions, unexpectedly scrumptious. Definitely worth the price paid (even including the $75 parking ticket I got by inadvertently parking in a prohibited zone). Big Jones is definitely on my mandatory eating list for my next trip to Chicago.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Papachote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Jones also viewed

 

Been to Big Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing