We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
156
74
13
8
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
74
13
8
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convention center mccormick place m club platinum elite member beautiful hotel green line volleyball tournament south loop trade show concierge lounge usb ports conference hotel restaurant downstairs room service rooms are spacious attending a conference lake view
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 266 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2018

A group of us (friends) from all parts of the world were coming together for C2E2 this weekend and found ourselves intrigued by the Marriott Marquis. Usually, we all stay at the other hotel in the area and while satisfied there - who passes up the opportunity to check out the new place? Plus we've grown a little tired of the crowded areas and overall loudness of that hotel.

ARE WE GLAD WE DID!

Everything was easy -from check in to check out. We got the room we requested (high floor, double queen with a lake view) with a spectacular view. Every staff member we encountered was friendly, helpful and didn't hesitate to ask if there was anything else we needed - even the house keeper, who every day greeted us and asked how our day was going.

We ordered room service one night and found the prices comparable to restaurants in the area...in some cases even cheaper when you factored in taxes and delivery charges.

We also took advantage of the Fitness Center and were marveled by the amount of machines available for use as well as the extra touches of towels, earphones and water.

Parking was easy - with in and out privileges and it's an easy walk to and from the convention center and that other hotel if you so choose to visit others there.

I don't think we could have asked for anything better. And I do believe we plan on returning next year as well.

Thanks again Marriott!

Room tip: We enjoyed our stay on one of the high floors - lake view is beautiful up there and the sunsets are something to witness!
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mels80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junairah D, Executive Administrative Assistant at Marriott Marquis Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hello mels80

Thank you for a great review! We appreciate the opportunity to serve as your host while in Chicago. Our team is thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at our location. We will always do our best in creating a memorable experience! We look forward to brilliantly hosting you during your future visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

I am here at the right now, at 845 pm. First, you need to know you are in the middle of nowhere and you better bring your own food. The wait at the restaurant downstairs right now is 2 hours despite being empty. Best part is that they looked at me like that was normal. Ok, so try the one restaurant around the corner. Nope, 2 hour wait. Ok, plan c, room service. Sorry, sir, that will be a wait of 1 hour and 45 minutes. Again, said as if that was perfectly normal. But wait for this part, if I want to come and pick it up, that will be 40 minutes. Pick up room service?? Um, this is a 400 dollar a night hotel. If the food takes 40 minutes to prepare, what happens to it in the intervening hour?

They stopped by the lounge to get a beer. I had to find the bar tenders in the back office to get a beer.

Are they on some kind of practice run for an actual hotel? Is this actually where the washed out Marriott trainees go? Stay somewhere else until this staff figures out how to run a hotel like this.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank CannistraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler H, Manager at Marriott Marquis Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

CannistraD - as providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority, we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. Thank you for your valued feedback, we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

The Marriott Marquis Chicago is new, modern, and clean. Decorated in drab grays. Our room had fantastic views of the city, comfortable bed, clean room with refrigerator and safe, Large flat screen tv, and rain shower head with hand held in the large walk-in shower. Standard Marriott toiletries, which I did not use. Restaurant was good but pricey, no vending machines for a soda but Pepsi was available at their Pantry for $3.25 for 12 oz. Very pricey. Staff was great, very friendly, but service was lacking. Taxi and Uber easily available out front to go downtown. Convention Center is across the street.

Room tip: City views from higher floors are breath-taking!
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tea4mepls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junairah D, Executive Administrative Assistant at Marriott Marquis Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Hello tea4mepls

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay at the Marriott Marquis Chicago. We are happy to hear we met your expectations with guest room accommodations. I will make it priority to follow up with Hotel Leadership regarding your concerns, we take your feedback very seriously. Thank you for choosing us for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

The Marriott Marquis is a new hotel in Chicago. It's a quick walk from the train if you want to get around via public transportation otherwise cabs are readily accessible as is uber and lyft. The hotel is very beautiful and the rooms are comfortable, clean, stylish, and quiet. We ate at the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the food and excellent service. The M Club is a great place to work if you don't want to work in your room.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurab243_243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junairah D, Executive Administrative Assistant at Marriott Marquis Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Hello laurab243_243

Thank you for choosing Marriott Marquis Chicago, we appreciate the positive review. Our Team is happy to hear you enjoyed your experience during your stay! We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2018

I was very excited to stay at this new stylish hotel convenient to the Convention Center but is just a complete fail.

The hotel just has been a complete inconvenience from rude greeting from valets regarding dropping off luggage prior to parking, understaffed check-in with no special Elite Check-In line resulting in a 20 minute check-in. The access to the elite lounge has been hampered by the fact that we are now on the 3rd set of keys, and still won't access the lounge and now is not working the elevator security. As for the lounge, it is large and has a very cool expresso maker, complimentary snacks but the quality breakfast was below expectations compared to other Marriotts.

Went to move my car from the lot and can't because the garage does not recognize me as a hotel guest. This requires moving your back and hoping no one is behind you, parking and finding your ticket to pay or walk a block back to the hotel and get new room keys again, ugh.

Normally, I would never complain, as for how difficult is it to get a set of room keys remade. However, between the rude greeting, poor housekeeping which has provided me with a stained or dirty towel, not replacing the toilet paper or tissues....just a fail all the way around.

Fortunately, I am paying Residence Inn rate but at that lower tiered property, my key works and the breakfast is of higher quality.

Room tip: Odd Floors face the lake
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank BillyMacPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Hotel Director of Sales and Marketing at Marriott Marquis Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Hello BillyMacPSU,

Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. We take comments like yours very seriously, so we are looking into where we went wrong and making changes to our processes to better serve our guests. Thank you again for choosing us for your stay. We would welcome an opportunity to accommodate you once more and earn your highest marks.

Cindy Ruchman
Hotel Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews