We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here twice, always nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #37 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I've had the pleasure of staying at the new Wit twice since its opening in May of 2009. Overall, the hotel is a welcome addtion to Chicago's Loop, both in terms of additional hotel rooms as well as the fantastic Roof and great restaurants.

I live in Chicago so I have a pretty good sense of what works in this fabulous city. The Wit is perfectly located for people in town on business, who want to be close to Millenium Park and the Art Institute or people wanting to be in the heart of the theater district. Shopping on North Michigan Avenue is an easy walk, as is both the Sears...I mean Willis...Tower and the Hancock Building/Water Tower (ahem, American Girl). One can also get to Navy Pier on foot or by a very short cab ride.

Rooms are on the modern side. Many will have a bright neon stripe running diagonally across the windows, which can be blocked using the drapes. Beds are very comfortable and the TV is quite nice. Amenities are good. My only complaint on the room is the oversized, shallow sink which creates a challenge for someone trying to wash their face. Definitely an example of form over function.

The rooftop bar "Roof" is not to be missed. It has quickly become one of the most desired spots on the nightlife scene as evidenced from the long lines down Lake Street on several nights per week. There is a large outdoor space with good views of downtown Chicago as well as enclosed space to protect against the elements. You can also have a small group occupy a private area which extends out from the building--not for the faint of heart. There are fire pits in the outside area to warm the bodies in non-summer months. Drinks are not cheap, but the wine list is nicely diversified and the cucumber mojitos are quite yummy.

Both restaurants are excellent. I had breakfast only twice at State and Lake--both times the food was great. This venue also does a pretty good later bar and grill business. The second floor creative Italian restaurant Cibo Matto, takes a very unique view of Italian cuisine and is a great pre or post theater choice.

My only other complaint is the lack of on site self parking. Valet is available, however it is less expensive (at least by a little) to park in one of the many self park garages located within 1-2 blocks of the hotel. The hotel is also easily accessible from both O'Hare and Midway via the El. The Blue Line from O'Hare stops about 4 blocks from the property; the Orange Line from Midway stops almost on top of the hotel.

Make sure upon check in you get a VIP pass for Roof if you are there on the weekend. The place is so popular that they have restricted access quite considerably--if its very crowded, a room key may not suffice. Last note, if you are Hilton Gold/Diamond, make sure you get free breakfast coupons for State and Lake. I noticed that they weren't automatically given out.

Overall, one of the most dynamic, vibrant hotels to hit Chicago in quite a while!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoAlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,499 - 2,505 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2009

I was impressed - I came in through priceline to spend two night in town for a wedding, and I was very surprised with the service, the rooms, the styling and everything. The gourmet cookie was a very nice touch, I loved the contemporary feel of the place, and to top it off, they seem to have one of the hottest night spots in the city up on their roofdeck. It's great being able to jump right past the line with the htoel pass and feel like a rockstar!

All this, and being able to sleep very comfortably in a quiet room right below the party. Hands down, my favorite spot to stay in chicago from now on....

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank hvnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Stayed at The Wit for a downtown getaway night. Great location for theaters, Millennium Park, and other attractions. Speedy check-in, courteous desk staff. Very nice room, extremely comfortable king-size bed. Bathroom was shower-only (no tub), shower height was adjustable. The air conditioner was a little noisy at times, and there's a charge for Internet access. Would definitely stay again, though.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnoyingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Stayed at theWit for three nights while chilling out in Chicago. Couldn't have been happier with our choice. The hotel has a trendy, contemporary feel to it, yet it is still comfortable and cozy.

The rooms are large and well appointed. Super comfy beds with lots of pillows. Spacious bathroom with a nice big shower and spa tub. Sitting room has plenty of space, lots of seating and big screen tv. (Just in case there happens to be a baseball game that has to be seen).

For those who like to spread out, there are lots of drawers and closets for you stuff. Even a kitchenette if you want to bring back leftovers from dinner.

Location is terrific. Right next to the El, across from the bus stop, within walking distance to most of the sites.

Lastly, the people working there were terrific. From the check-in people at the desk to the bell staff and even the doorman, everyone was friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the Wit and will stay there again when we return to Chicago.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herkbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Can't say enough good things about theWit. Rooms were large and spacious. Rooms have great views. Hotel staff is super friendly and helpful which is surprising for such a cool, upscale hotel. Food is excellent. The decor is chic. Rooftop bar is amazing - the atmosphere, the drinks, the food - you will love it. If you love boutique hotels, you must check out theWit. This place is stylin'. Oh, and its close to just about everything in Chicago. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
Thank ws12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

My wife and our youngest daughter who is 20, stay at this hotel for 4 nights. I discovered the hotel from researching on Tripadvisor. I would not stay in any other hotel if I ever come back to Chicago. It is extremely convenient to the train (one block away), the lake, and the Art Institute of Chicago, along with so many other attractions. I'm a lifetime Advantage Gold card member, so I've traveled quite a bit and this hotel rates as one of my favorites. If you are arriving at OHare, take the train (about $5) and don't take a cab (about $45). The train stop for this hotel is only about one long block away from the hotel. One of many Garrett's Popcorn stores is near by. The club at the top of the hotel, called "The Roof" is mainly for singles. For our family, it was a nice place to look at but it was best left for the young singles. The staff is wonderfull and so gracious their guests. You will notice the birds chirping in the hallways during the day and the quiet sounds of crickets at night. These sounds are piped in through the speakers located in the hall. Don't worry, the sounds are not loud enough to be heard in your gorgeous room. I don't think any room has a bad view. Our's had a view of Lake Michigan.

The Magnificant Mile is a couple of blocks away. The Chicago Bean is only a few blocks away.

The hotel opened a couple of months before our stay. I don't believe you will be disappointed with your stay.

And one more thing, yes, this is a Doubletree so those fresh moist and warm chocolate cookies are waiting for you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Volleyball4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Hotel was very nice. Big rooms especially for Chicago. The staff was very curteous and professional. Bed was comfortable, great location. The Restaurant downstairs State and Lake had wonderful food for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northwestjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,144 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $114 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing