We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Price and Hotel for the money and don't forget the cookies!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #36 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Price and Hotel for the money and don't forget the cookies!”
Reviewed September 17, 2009

My wife and our youngest daughter who is 20, stay at this hotel for 4 nights. I discovered the hotel from researching on Tripadvisor. I would not stay in any other hotel if I ever come back to Chicago. It is extremely convenient to the train (one block away), the lake, and the Art Institute of Chicago, along with so many other attractions. I'm a lifetime Advantage Gold card member, so I've traveled quite a bit and this hotel rates as one of my favorites. If you are arriving at OHare, take the train (about $5) and don't take a cab (about $45). The train stop for this hotel is only about one long block away from the hotel. One of many Garrett's Popcorn stores is near by. The club at the top of the hotel, called "The Roof" is mainly for singles. For our family, it was a nice place to look at but it was best left for the young singles. The staff is wonderfull and so gracious their guests. You will notice the birds chirping in the hallways during the day and the quiet sounds of crickets at night. These sounds are piped in through the speakers located in the hall. Don't worry, the sounds are not loud enough to be heard in your gorgeous room. I don't think any room has a bad view. Our's had a view of Lake Michigan.

The Magnificant Mile is a couple of blocks away. The Chicago Bean is only a few blocks away.

The hotel opened a couple of months before our stay. I don't believe you will be disappointed with your stay.

And one more thing, yes, this is a Doubletree so those fresh moist and warm chocolate cookies are waiting for you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volleyball4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    612
    200
    70
    53
See reviews for
394
776
124
711
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Hotel was very nice. Big rooms especially for Chicago. The staff was very curteous and professional. Bed was comfortable, great location. The Restaurant downstairs State and Lake had wonderful food for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northwestjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Family traveled for family event. We stayed for 6 days. Had a terrific time. The staff was the best. Especially concierge services Mike, Onni, James Housekeeping Martha I. & Khrystina. They were the most helpful of all. They tried to accommodate us with request that we made very readily. Everyone on staff was so very helpful and tried to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We shall return. Chicago was a fun time for all of us. Thanks for making our trip such a success.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcbaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I am an over 50 female business traveler and when I first walked in I was not sure I would like this place but that first impression vanished as soon as I got to my room. The room was spacious and had every amenity you could want including a dining table, fridge,nice desk, large TV, large bathroom, telephones ideal for conference calls. One of my biggest surprises was the best hotel room service meal I have had in a very, very long time. The hotel is steps from the Chicago Theater so you can enjoy a show if you have the time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

First visit to Chicago, flying solo. It'"s amazing the different experiences with the customer service. From the moment I was walked into the doors, everyone was on point with services. Checking my bags and polite check-in. Able to get into my room before 4pm with no hassle.. The restaurant on the first floor had great food and service. The hotel's location is a shopping woman's dream come true. Transportation convenient for touring. The roof top bar/lounge is nice but is congested on the w/e as many reviewers have already mentioned. I definitely would stay at the Wit again !! Oops my room was on the same side as the L- no problem sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerSC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Wow, what a beautiful hotel!!! The Wit Hotel in Chicago impressed me from the minute I stepped foot in the lobby. First of all, when you walk you are welcomed with smiles from the staff and a sweet aroma of coconut. It was mine and my husband's wedding anniversary and for kicks, we asked if it were possible for us to get an upgrade on our room; and without hesitation the front desk checked their books but unfortunately, there weren't any rooms available. While we were out the the staff surprised us with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries with a note congratulating us on our anniversary and a sorry for not being able to upgrade us. How sweet of them!!!

Every floor is decorated nicely with modern, luxurious, touches. Our room was very clean and I loved the decor from the bathroom sink to the coffee table. I could live there.

The 27th floor restaurant/lounge, Roof, was a great experience. Definitely a place to impress guests; and I cannot wait to go back.

The Wit made a memorable anniversary, Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2009

The new construction is great - nice to stay in an all new place. The decor is contemporary and fun. Location is fabulous - we could walk to everything we wanted to do. Service, on the other hand... they don't quite have it figured out. Waited 30 minutes to check in, which wasn't the end of the world, but the lobby was hot in afternoon sun. I asked the concierge if he could find out what time the will call office at Navy Pier opened. He said "I don't know, but you could call them." Ahhh... self service concierge concept! We ordered room service breakfast both mornings. Both mornings the order was incorrect, and on the 2nd day there was a dime size piece of hard plastic in the wrong yogurt. First night, after an evening walk, I stopped in the lobby bar and asked for a glass of Chardonnay. Was told no... that I had to order it from room service. Unusual for a Hilton... So I called room service. Was told to get a bottle of wine out of the service bar. Said I wanted a glass, not a bottle. Was told it would be the same price, and that would be a better way to go. So, tired and a littel irritated, I said okay. There was no Chardonnay in service bar... so settled for something else. An NO corkscrew. So I called room service again. They said they would send someone up right away with a corkscrew. So I asked if whomever they were sending could also bring a glass of Chardonnay?? Was told no. Overall, the place was beautiful, but staff needs training.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 187 in Chicago
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing