We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Wit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #34 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
“Love The Wit”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

From the minute we stepped out of the cab we were greeted by friendly staff. From check in to check out it was flawless, friendly and we loved it. The concierge Nick was great and handled all of our tours.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Rick F, Thank you for your wonderful review of theWit Hotel Chicago. We will certainly be sharing your kind words with our entire staff as they will be proud of the great service they provided. Nick will be thrilled to hear your great review. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon to theWit! Kind Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,480
    621
    204
    71
    55
See reviews for
414
794
127
726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I loved the location of this hotel. We were walking distance to almost all our destinations. We walked to the Bean at Millennium Park, the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, and our dinner restaurants. It was great! The Rooftop bar was a lot of fun too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Jennifer K, theWit would like to thank you for your kind review our hotel and for recommending theWit to other reviewers. Our convenient location makes us the perfect choice for any Chicago weekend getaway. We are also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed Roof on theWit which always provides an exciting electric feel to the Hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon to theWit! Best Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawyer Michigan
Level Contributor
305 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Perfect location to great restaurants, theater, Millennium Park, Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium, Field and other museums. Marina Tower's Hub 51, Roof top bar at the Wit is a happening place late night. State street shopping as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear John C, Thank you for taking a moment to provide your fantastic review of theWit Hotel Chicago. We agree that our great location makes us the perfect destination when visiting Chicago’s great cultural attractions. We hope to welcome you back soon to theWit. Warm Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The rooftop is tiny and overcrowded. The staff was more like club security than hospitality persons. Next time I'll stay somewhere we're either left alone or welcomed. Cookies were delicious. Rooms were average.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank igotgoldfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear igotgoldfishes, Thank you for taking a moment to review theWit Hotel Chicago. We are sincerely disappointed to hear your review and experience. As a Conde Nast “Best Hotel in the Word” we can assure you that your experience is not typical of theWit . Please feel free to contact us directly so that we may ensure your complete satisfaction with theWit. Sincerely, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in the Panoramic Suite, it was perfect for a girls weekend. Beds were very comfortable and the kitchen allowed us to bring some of our own food and drink. We had room service one night which we enjoyed at the dining room table. The views of the city are fantastic! You can walk anywhere from this hotel, or utilize the el stop right out front.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank katyjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear KatyJamie, Thank you for sharing your wonderful Wit experience with us and other reviewers. We are thrilled that we could make this Bachelorette weekend as memorable and special as possible. Our convenient location makes us the perfect getaway destination when celebrating in Chicago. We hope to welcome you back soon to theWit! Warm Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Truly awesome. Chicago on a a whole was one of the best vacation experiences I've had and The Wit had a great deal to do with that.
Sidenote: the bar staff at the Rooftop messed up my pizza order and handled it like fricking champions then they gave me it for free!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Travis W, theWit would like to thank you for sharing your experience at theWit. We are delighted to hear we were able to provide the perfect location for your Chicago vacation. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to compensate for the missed pizza order as we never want any guest to leave without fully experiencing our great Wit service. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next trip to Chicago! Warm Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Wit: Hip Spot to Stay on State & Line in Chicago...Looking for a chique and upscale hotel with class and comfort. Well, you've found it. Breakfast menu and fresh OJ is a hit! Rooftop restaurant/bar/club is a must see.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear David N, We are thrilled to read your great review of theWit Hotel and we thank you for recommending theWit to other readers. ROOF was recently named by Travel & Leisure Magazine as one of the “top 3 Rooftop bars in the world “ and agree it is a must see. We hope to welcome you back soon to theWit!
Warm Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
992 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing