We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rates very significantly over time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #34 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, rates very significantly over time”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Got a good weekend rate in February. The rooms are typical downtown Chicago, a bit small and otherwise undistinguished, except you can count on the comfortable Hilton type beds. Considered booking there again in a few months but the rates are much, much higher, and not sure they are warranted with other good options nearby. The location is convenient, on State and near Michigan Avenue, just a block from the river.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italyvacationer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Italyvacationer2010,
We are glad that you enjoyed the comfortable Sweet Dreams bedding at theWit Hotel Chicago, a Conde Nast "Best in the World" property located at the epicenter of downtown Chicago. Our rates in the summer are comparable to other AAA four-diamond, boutique properties in the area, however we do apologize if they do not meet your expectations. We hope you will reconsider and visit theWit Hotel Chicago again in the future. Best regards, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,533
    632
    206
    71
    57
See reviews for
430
816
129
748
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed one night here for a business trip and thought it was a great experience. When you walk in the door you can tell it's going to be a trendy boutique hotel experience.

The rooms were spacious with excellent views! My room has a view of the river and skyline. The bathroom was modern and had a glass shower and large bathtub. I wish the bathroom had more light. In the morning it was a little dim putting on my makeup.

I should point out that this hotel is literally right night to the the L. That makes it convenient for travelers but not so great for noise. The trains are loud and in the morning they are very frequent. I was on the 22nd floor and could still hear them clearly. But on the flip side, the location is amazing. You're walking distance from the river, Lake Shore Drive, shopping, restaurants, etc.

Another thing to keep in mind is that if you drive to theWit, you must valet your vehicle. And parking a vehicle overnight cost $50! Ouch! I thought it was a little steep especially when you're already paying to stay at the hotel.

I went up and tried the rooftop bar. It was very trendy and the service was great. Just know that drink prices are pretty steep and it's aimed at a young crowd. The lighting is dim and the music is loud. But it was fun to spend some time checking out the view.

I will definitely consider staying at this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi cchikergirl,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review of theWit Hotel Chicago. We are glad that you enjoyed the design, stunning views and amenities of our hotel and guest rooms. Unfortunately, theWit does not own a parking garage and subcontracting these services means our guests are subject to the rates of downtown Chicago. We do provide some alternative parking garages located closeby on our website, which have lower rates. Thank you for understanding and we hope to see you back again soon at theWit Hotel Chicago. Kindly, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

From the time we entered to leaving we commented several times on how nice all the staff were to us. It is apparent that customer service/relations is very important. We were greeted by Tyler at the front desk and he could not have been a nicer more competent person.

We have stayed at numerous equally rated hotels in Chicago and would rate this one #1 out of the group. The view from the 22nd floor facing the Lake was great!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orphan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review theWit Hotel Chicago. We will be certain to pass your kind comments along to Tyler and hope to see you back again, soon. Kindly, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We took a trip out to Chicago for a bachelor party. For accommodating 15 people, I didnt want to pay an arm an a leg so i found theWit. I read some reviews about how it was a great place but didn't expect so much from it. The looks great. It has very modern appeal inside and out. The rooms were nice as well. It wasn't very far from anywhere we needed to go either. Definitely make sure to visit the rooftop bar, good food and a great atmosphere. The staff here is what really went above and beyond. We had a pretty riled up group but everyone there was very welcoming from the moment we go there to when we left. they help us out without hesitation with cabs, restaurant recommendations, and even took the liberty of printing out some airline tickets we needed. not to mention they have these cookies they give out which is always a huge plus. Any time i come back to Chicago, i will be staying at theWit. they have won my business and i would recommend this place to anyone! keep it up!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Jason,
Thank you for selecting theWit for such an exciting occasion. We are thrilled that you and your friends were able to enjoy ROOF on theWit, our globally-recognized lounge in addition to other restaurants and nightlife in downtown Chicago. Congratulations to the groom! We hope to see you back again soon at theWit Hotel Chicago. Best, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This was a business trip that was booked by my employer and I was very satisfied with the hotel. I would highly recomend this hotel for either business or personal use. Great location and great Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Dale,
Thank you for choosing theWit Hotel Chicago for your business trip. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and feel strongly enough to recommend theWit to other TripAdvisor readers. Our entire team at theWit hopes to see you again, soon, Dale. Kindly, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

i went for my birthday i had a great weekend there the workers had great service a little high for parking i had a great view of the city the hotel had a great roof top bar cant wait until my next next i look forward in doing it at the wit

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tiosha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The experience was pretty average overall. Everything was just…. okay. Had a kitchenette in the room and it wasn't the cleanest. It wasn't nasty, just needed a deep clean. The bathroom really needed updating. Front desk attendant was very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Craig,
Thank you for posting a review of theWit Hotel Chicago along with your positive feedback about the friendliness of our front desk staff. Next, we are disappointed we did not exceed your expectations in regards to the kitchenette and will pass along your feedback in order to maintain the usual AAA four-diamond standards in a consistenct manner across the property. Kind regards, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,043 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,687 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing