We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #36 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
208 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago and enjoyed it for the most part. The location is very convenient. Right next the train stop at State and Lake, so especially convenient when going to and from Midway. Also convenient to a lot of shopping and restaurants. The hotel itself is pretty nice. Really cool rooftop bar and nice enough rooms. My only issues were that our TV didn't work on two occasions. No big deal, they promptly sent a service tech and the problem was fixed. A little odd that it happened twice though. We also found a couple of bottled waters behind the cushion on the chair. Again, not a big deal, but it makes you wonder how thoroughly the room was cleaned. They do have some weird jungle sounds (birds chirping or something) playing in the hallways when you go to your room. All together a good stay. I would probably recommend this hotel, but doubt I would stay here again. Not because we didn't enjoy our stay, but I would just assume try something different next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAZBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear RAZBW,
Thank you for taking the time to assess theWit Hotel Chicago. We take your feedback very seriously and are addressing your comments and issues with our entire team at theWit. Your review was a reminder that we must continue to exceed expectations each and every day and deliver on our AAA four-diamond brand promise to provide more experience than hotel. While we are disappointed that your experience fell short, we invite you to return to theWit Hotel Chicago and allow us to prove to you why theWit was awarded a "Best in the World Hotel" by Conde Nast Traveler (2013). Thank you, again, for your candor. Kind regards, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,436
    613
    200
    70
    54
See reviews for
398
779
124
713
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here for a January 2014 honeymoon (brrr!) and had a great time. The Wit is fantastic. The rooms are clean and modern, the view is spectacular, and all of the staff we met were friendly and helpful. Lots of nice little touches to make you feel welcome and put you in a good mood. We'd definitely stay again. Location is great; within walking distance to many great attractions, and a quick cab ride to others. We liked being close to the park and the river.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for selecting theWit Hotel Chicago for your Honeymoon. We appreciate your kind words and truly hope you had a very romantic and memorable trip to Chicago. It is an honor to be selected for such an occasion and we hope to see you return for your anniversary. Kindly, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hip, fun, just a great time. Comfortably-appointed rooms, in the heart of downtown Chicago. We were in the city for a wedding, and the central location was easy to find and convenient to our activities. Funky art and music throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveaholiday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Loveaholiday2014,
Thank you for choosing to stay at theWit Hotel Chicago while you were in town for a wedding. We are glad you appreciated the art, music, decor and fantastic location and hope to see you again, soon. Kind regards, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curwensville, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The lounge on the roof top is pretty cool, not my kind of place, but was worth checking out. The room was nice and the view was cool. Have to pay for internet and no complimentary coffee etc but that seems to be the same at all of the places I have stayed in downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Iris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Wit is always a great place to stay in Chicago. It is a can't do wrong decision. The Wit is also within walking distance of a lot of great things in Chicago. The rooftop bar has some great views of the city. The restaurants nearby are some of the best in the country. If you are looking for something to experience Chicago - you really cannot go wrong with staying at the Wit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Matthew Lawrenc... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Matthew,
Thank you for taking the time to review theWit Hotel Chicago. We are glad that you had the chance to experience State and Lake Chicago Tavern and ROOF on theWit as well as some of the other fun places downtown. We hope to see you back, soon. Best, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Florida
Level Contributor
173 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

So, I went to the property determined to ignore the negatives and focusing on the positives. As it turns out, I had a lot of positives to latch onto :-)

Finding the hotel was easy, as the Google GPS was right on target for turns and proximity. The drop off area on State street at the intersection of Lake is very small, and at check in and during daily drop off's each evening, my car was in a line behind taxi's. Once tho the valet saw you, it was service, service, service.

In fact, that was the theme here, service was pretty darn high, from check in, the Concierge, the Bellman, and so forth.

I saw that they had the "Wit" theme subtly deployed throughout the property, but it wasn't overt. The decor was awesome and pleasing to be welcomed to every day. I did feel right at home.

At check in, I had requested an upgrade to a walk in shower, which the front desk agent wasnt able to accommodate that evening, but said they could the following night. Now Her name was Debra, and she worked also in the Spa. Sadly, the next night the agent on duty dragged me thru the litany of questions, even to the point of "How were you getting this upgrade again?" to which I pointed her at Debra and had her call the Spa, whereupon everything was settled. You can have Debra give lessons, as THAT was customer service, and SHE recognized what a Diamond level treatment was about :-)

The queen room I was initially in was nice; nice decor, just not that walk in shower or king bed I was looking for. The next night was a different experience, with an awesome shower and nice wide bed. Each room's view seemed to be awesome as well, looking over State Street with a view of the river to the right.

The elevators were very quick, every call was honored in less than a minute, and the transit time was quick as well. Isn't that a nice feeling in a 27 level property?

The restaurant for breakfast each morning was great, but be aware for Diamonds this is one of those properties that doesn't have a buffet, and limits exactly what you order to Continental..Coffee OR Tea OR Juice, Oatmeal OR Toast, Bagel OR Cereal...you get the picture..As I am not a heavy eater in the AM this was just fine but it did feel restricting say if I wanted an egg over easy one of those days (Small growl at that, the Wit). The service in that restaurant was stellar, with refills unasked for and genuine kindness from all of the servers. Note to audience, that the tables near the door that were served by a lady moved slooooow but the rest of the tables rocked. As she also served the bar, I could see the conflict BUT not with 2 people at the bar, eh?

The location was superbly near every convenience, from a Humongous Macy's to a 4 story Walgreens (Seriously? Yep, it was) and numerous restaurants and pubs. Going out in the -25 wind chill each night was an experience in watching unhappy pedestrians, of which I was one, so was very happy with the Mccormicks and Schmicks around the corner.

Checkout was just as easy as check in, and the car service STILL exemplary. Note that as long as you gave the staff about 10 minutes warning, your car was waiting

Summary = I WILL be repeating a visit to this property in a few weeks, gladly. It would be nice if they were a bit more lenient on the breakfast for Diamonds, and if one front desk person is stellar, the service is seamless when another steps in. THAT is the sort of property I look for, and you can bet those are the qualities I will be seeking in this next visit.

Room Tip: King Junior room for space to stretch, anything else if on a budget or they cannot upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitedNewPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of theWit Hotel Chicago. Your feedback is extremely important to our team and we are currently addressing both the negative and positive comments of your stay. We also plan to pass along your kind words to Debra, as well as the front desk, concierges, bell staff and valet parking. It means a lot for them to be recognized for stellar service and we are thrilled to pass along your kind words. We thank you in advance for planning to visit theWit Hotel Chicago again in a few weeks and hope to exceed your expectations. Thank you, again....theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Excellent location. nice rooms with fridge and microwave, utensils included.
I was recieved by a lovely young lady, Ciera, at the Front Desk and i have to say that i have never been so well recieved as a customer. she was very professional and extremely helpful when it came to answering questions about the hotel or places to visit. Hope any of you who stay at this hotel have the chance to be greeted by Ciera.
Food was very good and the 27th floor bar is worth the visit.
All in all, I would highly recommend this place

Room Tip: go for the 26th floor, nice view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Phil,
Thank you for sharing your kind and generous words about Ciera and theWit Hotel Chicago. We will pass along your kind praises to Ciera and feel certain she will be thrilled. Guests like you make theWit a special place. Regards, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing