We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel… Stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #35 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel was great from the staff to the rooms. The parking was a little expensive, but that's downtown Chicago for you.

We stayed in the Spa Suite, which was a points upgrade to the room, and I would highly recommend it. The bathroom, kitchen, living room and bedroom were all super-nice, comfortable and relaxing. Especially enjoyed the large soaking tub and perfectly comfy king bed.

We went to the restaurant on the lobby floor and got some desserts. The waitress was really helpful and her recommendations were outstanding; ice cream sandwich and some sort of apple cinnamon pie-thing. Plus some little birthday cones with a candle since it was my birthday. Delicious.

Can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Spa Suite if you have the Hilton Points available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Hi Adam,
We are glad you enjoyed your trip to Chicago and thank you for staying at theWit Hotel. We will pass along your kind words to Toni Roberts, our incredibly talented pastry chef. Thank you for reviewing theWit Hotel. We hope to see you soon. Best, theWit Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,555 - 1,561 of 2,578 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

I always stay at the Witt for business. The location is great with great views. It is a mobern Hotel with old fasioned service. The reason I am writing now is the courtsey they provided when my daughter went there with friends before her wedding. They went out of their way for her and I appreciate the personal service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Hi Brian,
Thank you for staying at theWit Hotel when you are in Chicago for business and. congratulations to you and your daughter on her wedding. We feel honored to have been part of her special day and happy she was able to bring her friends in to celebrate. We hope to see both of you back at theWit Hotel Chicago very soon. Best, theWit Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed for 10 days over 2 stays in October 2013 for the Chicago Marathon. Arrived into Chicago O’Hare in the early afternoon and caught a private hire car which cost about $60. Trains are obviously much cheaper but after travelling for 30 hours we weren’t interested in the fuss of the trains with luggage.

From the moment we arrived, the staff were all incredibly friendly and welcoming. The check in was fast and smooth and I absolutely loved the warm cookie. We were given a corner room on the 18th Floor. And it was awesome. The wrap around windows gave a brilliant view and we had no trouble with train noise. Or even street noise for that matter. The bed was big and comfortable. It was on the firm side which was just perfect for me. The bathroom was also huge with a separate bath and shower. Like others have mentioned – the sink in the bathroom is rather impractical, sure it looks good, but the length and shallowness became very annoying. My only other complaint about the room was that the food items in the mini bar were almost all expired. The desk staff were fine about refunding the items but it’s that kind of detail that should be looked at more closely.

The cleaning staff were also great, always saying hello in the halls and somehow managed not once to get us while we were in the room. On the one occasion that we arrived back at the hotel as the room was being made up, the staff member was incredibly friendly and profusely thanked us for the tip.

We ate at the restaurant, Sate/Lake a few times. I loved that the breakfast was ala-carte – so much more civilised than a buffet. The food was great and generally quite speedy. The service was a bit hit and miss sometimes though. All the wait staff were friendly but there were some frustrations with late/wrong coffee orders a couple of times. Could have been lost in translation I suppose.

Went up to Roof a few times as well which was great fun. Trendy atmosphere and of course, a great view as well. It wasn’t too busy the times we visited so we got table service no problem. I didn’t experience any of the drama some people have mentioned with getting up there, or having difficulty getting to our room on Friday/Saturday. Even if you don’t stay at theWit, it’s totally worth a visit to Roof.

The location is perfect if you’re looking to be in the theatre district, close to everything. There are a few train stations nearby as well. We caught taxis to the places too far to walk as they were incredibly cheap (compared to Aus/NZ) and easy to wave down. There’s a Walgreen’s on the next block which is perfect for snacks, booze and supplies.

The door and bell staff were also always super friendly and chatty. We checked out for a few days to go to Buffalo NY, and one of the guys told us he was from there and gave us some tips for the best places to get Wings – which were great! The hotel held our bags for us while we were gone too, which was perfect.

We had booked a Suite for the last part of our stay and when we got back to theWit, the only room available was directly under Roof on the 26th floor. We could have waited for another room but took this one. We shouldn’t have. The thumping of the music was easily heard in the room. If you’re a light sleeper you’ll hate it. It’s probably fine on weekdays, but avoid on the weekend.

Overall, I loved almost everything about the hotel. I’d definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seamus_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in January during a cold snowy few days.
Hotel was clean, nicely decorated and the staff were welcoming!

Price was very good - likely due to the time of the year but I was happy to get a decent deal.

Restaurant was nice as well - food very good.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank luv2trvl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a Paramount Suite on 12/28 and we were absolutely floored by the room. It was commented "This is the sexiest room we have ever stayed in..." :)

The room gave us a panorama view of the lake (and the Bean) and the city like we have never seen. The room itself was very modern and fun, loved the artwork :)

Also, we arrived a little early and got a very friendly reception from the front desk. They took our bags and we took a quick walk around the block, giving them enough time to finish up the room. We were offered some extra cookies for the few minute wait.

We stay in Chicago a few times a year as a little getaway from the suburbs and it will be very hard for anyone to convince me that there is a better place to stay.

Room Tip: As far as the noise from the club upstairs, in the room we were in (2601) you could indeed hear it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnamna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hi Mnamna,
Thank you for taking the time to review theWit Hotel Chicago. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the panaoramic views from The Paramount Suite and will pass your kind comments about the friendly service along to our staff. We are working to add even more soundproofing to the existing materials on the 26th floor in order to further protect against sound bleed from ROOF, one of the "top 3 rooftop lounges in the world." (Travel + Leisure) It is a comment we have received from several guests and, I assure you, are indeed addressing it. Thank you again for your review and we sincerely hope to see you return to theWit in the near future. Best regards, theWit Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just love it. I recommend anyone and everyone to go there. I took my sister there for her birthday and her friend came with us. Everyone from the clerks to the gentlemen working valet parking were great. I loved the fact I was able to snag as many warm cookies from them as I wanted. I will definitely stay there again when I come back to Chicago.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Valon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

No issue with the hotel in general and staff was great, but room was cold, and heater couldn't keep up. Granted we were having cold weather, right around zero degrees and snow, but couldn't get room above 65 degrees, good to sleep in, but tough during the day, especially post shower. All that being said, we had a great room at a great price and hotel is well located.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Stephan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hi Stephan,
Thank you for taking the time to review theWit Hotel Chicago. We sincerely apologize for the struggles you experienced with your room temperature. In the future, please advise and we will send someone to assist you, immediately. Your comfort is of utmost concern and we sincerely apologize if we let you down. Kind regards, theWit Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 192 in Chicago
1,114 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,835 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $129 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing