We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd times a charm - NICE Diamond upgrade!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #38 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stay in the wit every year for the C2E2 comic convention. Our 1st stay we were HHonors gold and got a nice upgraded room, very quite and very cozy - amazing bathrooms.

The 2nd stay we were still HHonors gold - no upgrade. Didn't complain as we had a very busy week ahead with the convention

3rd stay - jackpot! HHonors Diamond status, upgraded to a HUGE suite with the most amazing view of Chicago to date!

The breakfasts are AWESOME, not your average fair, which is nice. The rooftop bar with a blast as well. Hip, Cool and fun hotel and a great location right on State & Lake near the L.

PS - if you are early birds (which we are), bring earplugs just in case. You will hear the rooftop party crowd coming home between midnight and 3am. And you will hear the "L", but it's not that bad

Room Tip: They are all good & same noise level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertBreedlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,622 - 1,628 of 2,631 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have stayed at theWit several times since it opened back in 2009. It is a sleek, fashionable hotel with upscale amenities and service in a great location. Our 5-day stay in late December 2013 found a number of issues indicating that this hotel has comprimised its highest rating. While the front desk staff was friendly and inviting, we were disappointed to find the bathtub had not been cleaned well from the previous guest; robes were missing; and the bathmat was not replaced after cleaning the next day. Also, the coffee service was not replenished daily, as expected. We had to call the from desk to rectify these issues and they were handled promptly. We also noticed that there were unpleasant stains on both sofa seat cushions and food stains on chair cushion in the dining area. Picky? No, we expect more from a hotel that purports to be first-class. Perhaps it's time to find another go-to hotel for our visits to Chicago.

Room Tip: Choose 24th floor or lower to avoid reverberation from the rooftop bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STPtraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hi STPtraveler01,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of theWit Hotel Chicago. We sincerely apologize for any lackluster cleaning as this is certainly unusual, with our housekeeping team having won numerous awards from Doubletree by Hilton. Your review is a firm reminder that we must continue to check and make sure our efforts are consistent and at the highest standards. Similarly, our furnishings and window treatments are steam cleaned frequently. We can assure you that we will double-check each and every guest room as a result of your review. Again, our apologies that we did not exceed all of your expectations during this particular stay. Kind regards, theWit Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Been anxiously awaiting this stay at "The Wit"....... No disappointments here. From the great and friendly staff, to the Roof top bar / nightclub / to the on-site State and Lake Tavern - this may be my favorite Chicago hotel. Simply put...... this place is cool! This place is close to almost everything. Public transportation at your door ! Zero complaints..........

If possible, avoid having a car here. Not only is hotel parking outrageous, so is public parking nearby.

Room Tip: good question...... ask for a complimentary upgrade. Avoid the lower floors as the noise from the E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kubzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I really can't think of one bad thing to say about theWit. We arrived really early in the day, and they let us into our room after just getting off a red eye from the west coast that means a lot. They cookies were amazing as always. We loved that we could take the train straight from O'hare to the hotel and it's right down the block from Macys and Millennium park. It really is located in the heart of it all. Every staff member we came in contact with was kind and helpful! The rooftop bar was awesome! If you are going to Chi-Town this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hi Elizabeth,
Thank you for your kind review of theWit Hotel Chicago. We are so glad you appreciated the convenient location, services and ameneties and hope to see you back again, soon. Most sincerely, theWit Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here this past weekend. Amazing modern, clean quiet hotel! Will def stay again, def worth the $$ (got a great deal online). Chicago theatre is right next door and its walking distance to macys, christkindlmarket and all the bars/food on hubbard!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweeter826919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at TheWit in Chicago to celebrate my wife's birthday. Our stay could not have been more wonderful. The room was beautiful, our concierge Sybille helped with everything from ordering flowers before arrival to arranging a table at theRoof for drinks. Overall the quality and service of both the staff and hotel could not have been better!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Just stayed one night at the Wit on the Christmas eve. I booked the room online ahead of time and y boyfriend said it was definitely worth the price, which was not expensive for a four star hotel at all ($85 excluding taxes). And we really enjoyed the service and the breakfast. The location was just perfect and the view was so good. The only thing we were not satisfy with is that we wanted to have a cup of hot water at night but we found out that we would be charged if we moved the cups, coffee maker, and any other things.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiakwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,932 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#18 of 192 in Chicago
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $128 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing