We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly Very Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #34 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mostly Very Excellent”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Full Time Business Traveler: theWit is a superb hotel on many fronts. However, depending on the type of traveler you are, there are considerations to make before choosing this mostly superb hotel.
The hotel is 27 floors and is an attractive building with a stylish design around the first floor. It is a very stylish lobby, good elevator service (it requires a key to stop in a floor with rooms).
All staff was highly professional and friendly. Every cab gets hailed for you, every door opened, reservations for dinner made for you, recommendations for things to do, extras brought to you right away when you want them, even the revolving door will frequently be given a push for you. ((Side note, there is the most impressive Walgreens only a 2 minute walk away. One does not think high end when they think Walgreens but this is VERY high end. Groceries, impressive win selection, deli with high quality offerings, this place will giver your store needs completely.))

The room is very high tech, nice decor (a bit darkish), excellent outlet availability, great work area, window opens, nice views, top notch environmental controls, excellent A/V, very comfortable bed, superb toiletry offerings, fairly solid internet (upgraded speed choice), plenty of light (large windows with lots of sunlight when needed), light mood background sounds in the hallways
Again, just so much to like about this hotel. They really run a first class hotel.

However, for the toned down traveler be aware that a VERY trendy and popular night club is on the top floor. During the week you get music out front and 20 somethings with women in their 'best' clubwear. It wasn't a big issue for me, it's often part of downtown big city living. But on Friday that level went much higher. You may hear faint bass from the music from the night club if you are within 2 floors of the 27th. The hotel goes out of their way (understandably so) to also accommodate night club guests. A bit of a cold reaction from a large night club 'host' out front of the hotel gave me an odd feeling but not a big deal. Out front late-ish Friday night was lots and lots of club goers, music going, interesting people watch if nothing else.
If what i describe is your scene or you don't mind these kind of goings on, theWit is a fantastic choice! If you want something more toned down than what I describe (especially Friday and Saturday night), you might want to cross the river and choose Embassy or Homewood Suites or Marriott among others.
As long as that doesn't bother you, I highly recommend theWit.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank All-Fifty-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,456
    616
    202
    70
    54
See reviews for
402
786
125
721
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Wit is well kept, well run, and has some great facilities - especially on the rooftop. Great place to stay on business, or to conduct business meetings. Also, since I was leaving right at rush hour, I walked the two blocks to the Blue Line station. I was at the airport and through security before my colleagues who took a taxi had even arrived - and they left 30 minutes before me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank William Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I spent a Saturday at theWit. The staff is very courteous, and very helpful. Our room was nice (very clean). I will say that the acoustics are horrible--we were on the 20th floor, and I was awakened no less than five times by police cars/firetrucks blazing by. I could understand that on one of the lower floors, but on an upper floor, not so much. The view from our room was good (overlooked Chicago River).We did not think a lot of the rooftop bar--supposedly one of the top three in the world. The bar at the Hancock Building has a much better view, and much better ambiance. Overall, I would recommend it, but for the price, I definitely prefer the Palmer House.

Room Tip: Ask for something facing Lake Michigan/Chicago River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troschne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. Please note that for those sensitive to sound/not sound sleepers, we can offer rooms with variable exposures tyo the city. Additionally, with the double-paned windows of differing dimensions, we have taken steps to be the most-sound proof environement within city hotels. As a last additional option, we do offer complimentary WIT ear-plugs. Our goal is to make each guest stay the most comfortable and enjoyable experience possible.

Regards,

theWit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
408 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a blast at our recent stay at TheWit. Such a cool, fun hotel and you couldn't ask for a better location. Just a couple of blocks from Millennium Park and Michigan Avenue. We especially loved the staff at State & Lake - just a great group of folks.

Our room was very comfortable with great views. Bathroom was roomy with cool fixtures.

We also enjoyed watching the people outside who were taking "the plunge" - wow!

Next time we're in Chicago, you can find us here :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandBAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

From the minute we walked in the door, Suze Oostendorp had everything in order prior to check in and we couldn't have been happier. Upon check in we were given warm cookies from Sam, he was hilarious and welcoming. We were given a room on the 26th floor that had a great view. The room was spacious and provided the perfect amenities for us. We took a look at the items in the minibar and we thought the LOVE KIT pricing was a little high.
The only negative was that housekeeping left decorations in our room from a previous party. If the streamers would've been complete and the tape left on the door, we would've welcomed the decorations with open arms. The champagne given as a service recovery was delicious and appreciated.
Thanks again to Suze for an awesome stay. She is an awesome example of what hospitality is all about. We will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinings, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Second time staying at the WIT in Chicago. Good location right next to an L station. Easy walk to south end of Michigan Avenue for shopping and dining... Pub in lobby is good. ROOF, the rooftop bar scene was very slow on a Friday evening which was totally different than from last time we were there two years prior. Poor inattentive service as well. Rooms are OK, plenty of room and nice views from higher floors. Fitness facility spartan. Will stay at different Hilton property next time (Palmer House, Conrad or Waldorf...)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Apologies for the perspective that this visit was last spectacular than the last. We will share and follow-up with the team. Thank you for your feedback.

-theWit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here last fall with a group of friends, so am a little late with this review. We loved the hotel, it was modern and nice. The room was very clean, as was the bathroom, which was very important to us. The staff was always friendly and we loved being walking distance to several popular attractions. The rooftop was one of the best parts with its fantastic views of the city.

The only downside was, although we had a partial view of the water, our room directly faced another hotel, meaning we couldn't leave the curtains open much. This can be fixed if you request a room facing another side.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the hotel across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing