We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky trendy hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #39 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Funky trendy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My Wit experience was fantastic. The hotel is right in the middle of downtown Chicago, close to shopping, restaurants, bars and the river. The room was large and very comfortable with artsy, eclectic furnishings. The floor to ceiling windows in the bath are second to none. The best part - it felt nothing like a chain. If I didn't know it was a Doubletree, I would never have known. I will stay here now every time I travel to Chicago!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner, floor to ceiling views on two sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queson1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for all of these great winter reviews. We can wait to begin hosting guests for spring, summer and fall 2013. We look forward to new friends and repeat guests alike. Please be assured that 100% of Trip Advisor reviews are shared with all team members for congratulations and critique.

Regards,

Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,390
    604
    198
    70
    52
See reviews for
383
754
122
701
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the Spa King room for only one night, and I was very sad to leave once check out time came around. Our room was very spacious, floor to ceiling windows (we had a corner unit, which was awesome), and the best part...the tub. I don't usually take baths at hotels, but I could not resist this one. It was a true soaking tub, and had a great view of the city. The hotel is conveniently located to most everything you would want to do in downtown Chicago, and is right on the red line. The best part for me is that there is a Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts and City Target all within and easy 4 block walk from the hotel. I would recommend staying here to anyone; it was a truly great experience!

Room Tip: Corner units have great views. If you are a light sleeper, request a room away from the red line sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I’ve spent 100s of nights in downtown Chicago hotels, both for business and pleasure, but this was my first time at the Wit, for a two-night business trip. I’ll be back!

Positives
- Great location at the intersection of State and Lake, just south of the Chicago River and by the very useful State/Lake el stops (includes Red, Green, Pink, Brown, Orange, and Purple lines). The Orange Line serves Midway Airport. About two blocks from the Blue line el, which serves O’Hare. Easy walking distance to River North, Mag Mile, the Art Institute, and River North restaurants. It’s a relatively safe location as well - I walk around alone at night in this area all the time (I’m female).
- My room had a great view over the Chicago River and Marina City.
- The hotel is relatively new, and it shows - everything worked, nothing in my room was dinged up, the lobby was fresh and clean (they waft some kind of scent in there, though, so if you’re scent-sensitive, be warned). Lighting is excellent for reading in bed. My room was extremely clean (except for one little trash issue - see below).
- I heard little to no noise from other rooms, the hall (including the chirping birds), or the street (I consider myself fairly noise-sensitive).
- As with all Doubletrees, you get a warm cookie at check-in.
- The fitness center is open 24 hours (yay!) and is well-equipped, with numerous treadmills and ellipticals. I like to work out early (between 4 and 5.30 AM) - one morning I had the place entirely to myself, and the other morning it was almost entirely filled with men, and only men.
- Staff were friendly and helpful. I’d heard this hotel had a bit of a ‘tude, but I didn’t’ see any of that, if it exists.
- I liked having the option for additional HHonors points rather than an included breakfast.

Negatives/other factors
- The fitness center was too warm. Most vigorous exercisers prefer a cooler temperature than the 70-72 degrees F that the fitness center was kept at.
- Not much water pressure in my shower.
- I couldn’t get the heat down lower than 65 degrees F (I prefer a much cooler room than most people). Will be interesting to see how A/C works in summer.
- I was there for two nights, and my bathroom trash can wasn’t emptied when my room was serviced. I’d only thrown two small things in it, but still.
- This hotel is very pleased with itself. It wants to be trendy and it wants to be a scene and it wants to be cool - this shows up everywhere, in the written materials in your room, in the decor and chirping bird noise in the halls, in the dim pink light as you exit the elevator on the fitness center/spa floor. (Not in staff attitude, though.) One of my colleagues recommended this hotel to me, and he told me the “scene” aspects were considerably worse in summer. A second gay colleague of mine told me the hotel had a reputation amongst his gay friends as “a gay designer threw up in there”. If that kind of wannabe trendy thing bothers you, stay away.
- The entrance isn’t particularly large or obvious - it’s on the east side of State Street, just to the north of the overhead el tracks that run east-west down Lake Street.

I didn’t use the restaurant, roof bar, room service, or hotel Internet, so can’t comment on those. (I used my phone for Internet access - not wifi - and that was fast, with a strong connection.)

In summary, despite some of the things I listed above, I very much enjoyed my stay here, and I plan to use the Wit again. Would have given 4.5 circles if that was an option.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank velevele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

First off, I am a Hilton Honors Diamond member, but this was the first time I had been upgraded to a suite, which had a sitting room with a mini kitchen. The restaurant there, State and Lake has probably the best breakfast that I have ever had a hotel. It is not cheap, but the same price as any other hotel. The location is PERFECT. It is right at the L station so you can jump on to go anywhere in the city. Parking is pricey, but I usually just rent at the Avis on Clark St. PIck up in the morning, drop off at night, no parking fees.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraleigh9mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here for a night on Business. They say it is not a hotel, but an experience. I would agree that it is different, but I am not sure what the experience is. Spanish music jamming outside, house inside, and sounds of birds chirping in the hallways.

Not much of a lobby. Check in was smooth. Rooms are very nice, modern, and most have good views of the city. At turndown, they gave me a pair of toy clapping hands. Again, what is that?? I could have at least ate chocolate?

The location is very good. On State street right by a picturesque bridge, Michigan Ave, and tons of restaurants.

There is a restaurant on the 1st floor connected to the lobby which has good food but pricey. The star of the show at this hotel is the rooftop bar. It is gorgeous. At least what I saw of it. Half of it was closed to a private party, but it was amazing. Very modern, fireplace, all glass, great views....

The work out facility was better then average.

Basically, of your looking for a trendy place in a great location in Downtown Chicago this is for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

So very helpful from last minute reservation change without penalty to early check in and late check out they were first rate. The suite was large and comfortable. Concierge took packages for me for several days in advance of my stay. They greeted me by name every time they saw me. We lingered for hours over a business lunch with no resentment of trouble from the staff.I am normally at the Marriott across the street or the Four Seasons uptown. This service was better than Marriott and on par or better in some cases than the Four Seasons. I was shocked. They really have it together and the value for the price can't be beat. I will be back anytime I stay in Chicago. For business it was great!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The pros:
- the area where the hotel is located
- the hospitality of all the employees (outstanding)
- the rooms quite large end a very good bed
- Cleanliness
The cons:
- the Wifi connection : not only is charged 11 dollars per day but in the rooms is very bad (slow and frequent cuts) and it was not only in my room
- the pressure of the water in the shower
Overall it's a very good hotel in terms of value.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank manmad28004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you.

We do strive for excellence, and I am thrilled that the team members delivered on this.

Internet quality & speed issues experienced for a brief window in February by our provider have been corrected and we are pleased to offer the choice of three tiers of bandwith to all guests based upon individual needs.

We are appreciative of all business and feedback.

Sincerely,

Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing