We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #38 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My daughter and I recently traveled to Chicago for a dance audition at The Joffrey Ballet. We picked this hotel because of the proximity to the ballet studio and could not have been more pleased. The trip on the L from Midway was a breeze and the train let us off within sight of the hotel at the State/Lake stop. We requested an early check-in and were easily accommodated. The room had a lovely view and was very nicely decorated. After a long dance class my daughter loved soaking in the spa tub! We had lunch at the hotel restaurant twice because the first meal was so outstanding. Every staff person we encountered was so friendly and happy to share shopping tips or directions. One thing we really appreciated was how quiet the room was. We did not hear any other guests and had a great night sleep on the wonderfully comfortable bed. We really enjoyed the proximity to shopping and sights. Everything was within walking distance. The staff was happy to store out bags for us while we went on a shopping expedition before flying out. The gentlemen that stored the bags was looking for us when we returned just to make sure we hadn't gotten lost and were able to see all the things we wanted to see. We so hope to make a return trip to Chicago and would love to stay at theWit again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake. So beautiful!!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dabs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. The team is thrilled to be able to host special experiences of all kinds. We will await repeat visit(s) and experiences as well.

Regards,

Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    606
    199
    70
    53
See reviews for
384
758
123
701
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in a Junior Spa Suite for two nights in August of 2011. The room was great and the view was fantastic. The bed was soft and delightful and the spa was amazing. If you are sensitive to noise, i would recommend not getting a room on the top floor. The music from the rooftop bar could easily be heard while in bed. But overall, this was a fantastic stay.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MShouger, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Great winter feedback from leisure travelers from close and not so close by. We continue to post all reviews around the property to share with all team members. We do hope to see all past guests back soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox River Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
333 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

theWit is at State & Lake, so still within the Loop but at the North end. It was convenient to all of the Loop attractions that were on our agenda during this visit. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and even included a couch, which was a nice amenity I had not expected. I was pleasantly surprised at how little street noise we heard (always a concern in a downtown hotel). The closet was large for a hotel closet (great!), and there was a nice-sized bath tub in the room. There was an in-room coffee maker but I found in inconvenient to use because it is stored in cupboard so one has to get it out, and find a place to put it and plug it in to use it. The warm cookie upon check-in is a nice treat. Overall, good visit and I will definitely consider returning here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I live in the burbs and decided to have a weekend getaway in the city, and theWit is where we decided to stay. The rooms are great, the views of the ciy are great and the service is perfect. I have traveled a lot over the years for business and have stayed at many hotels. This one was by far one of the best rooms I have stayed at.

They also have valet parking and they are quick to deliver your vehicle when you want - very nice!

The location is also perfect. There are many local restuarants and bars to walk too, and close to Soldier Field if you are going to the game or tailgating (as we did!).

Highly recommend using this hotel.

Kelly Smith

Room Tip: We were located with a view of the famous Bean...good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I travel for work monthly. From the moment of check-in I was pleasantly surprised and impressed by the high level of service. The front desk agent was very friendly and repeatedly called me by my name. The room was spotless and bar on the Rooftop was hoppin. I'll definitely go back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you.

We are thrilled that you experienced theWit and ROOF on theWit in such a positive way. We will share your kind words, and we will eagerly await your repeat visits.

Regards,

Mark Shouger
General Manager
theWit Hotel
Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I really did my research trying to find a nice place for me and my children to stay when traveling to Chicago for a gymnastics meet. When I came across the Wit, it had great reviews and the pictures looked awesome! However, I was very disappointed. The rooms were okay, but nothing special. I had a decent view of the city. It is also located in a great area, and everything is within walking distance. However, the night we arrived, my daughter’s bedspread was dingy and had blood on it. She did not use the bedspread after she found it, but decided to wait until the next day to call for a new one, because everyone else was already asleep. The next day when we asked for a bedspread they brought us a "clean" one. However, it was dingy and had blood on it too. It was disgusting and after that I just thought the hotel was dirty. After we received the second dirty comforter, I called and asked to speak with a manager. I was told he was giving a VIP a tour of the property and he would call me once finished. He never called, so obviously he didn’t care. I will never stay there again and would not recommend it. There are hotels that are less expensive and much nicer in great areas in Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMcGhee2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are equally disappointed in the events described here, and I am personally disappointed as this was not brought to my attention by our team. This is certainly atypical of the environment in which we operate- all the way around. We have identified the timing of this report and team members involved so that we may assess what may have transpired, and ensure that like incidents cannot recur. I will be reaching out personally, at this time, as well.

Regards,

Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a free night from Hotels.com so got to stay here for little to nothing. Very nice hotel great location. Lobby was smaller than thought. Valet was 50 a night for parking, right down the street you can self park for far cheaper. The skydeck was amazing with great views didnt get to stay long as we had our baby with us but we did eat at State and Lake which was very good. Room was great no complaints. The bed was ok didnt sleep that great as the room was cold but we kept getting to hot and lots of sirens as well throughout the night which is not representative of the hotel itself which was amazing and great staff who got us a crib and gave us baby products as well as a nice gesture

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pperryii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and Travelocity so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing