We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and overall stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #34 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carpentersville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location and overall stay!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a free night from Hotels.com so got to stay here for little to nothing. Very nice hotel great location. Lobby was smaller than thought. Valet was 50 a night for parking, right down the street you can self park for far cheaper. The skydeck was amazing with great views didnt get to stay long as we had our baby with us but we did eat at State and Lake which was very good. Room was great no complaints. The bed was ok didnt sleep that great as the room was cold but we kept getting to hot and lots of sirens as well throughout the night which is not representative of the hotel itself which was amazing and great staff who got us a crib and gave us baby products as well as a nice gesture

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pperryii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    626
    206
    71
    56
See reviews for
423
801
128
735
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Was here for a board retreat and the property was in the heart of the loop on State and Lake which made it great for an easy walk to shopping, theaters, etc. The meeting rooms and the service were top rate. The catering in the meeting rooms was also superb...we had continental breakfasts and afternoon snacks, all of which were well done and well presented.
The rooms were well appointed although the king room had a chaise which wasn't as nice as two side chairs for sitting and talking.
Checkin and checkout were a breeze, the staff attentive, friendly and helpful. Warm cookies at Check In are never a bad idea...but it was a bit wierd to be charged for wifi at a luxury hotel when you get it free at the Holiday Inn Express....

Room Tip: upper floors (at least 8 or above) the noise of the elevated train running next to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel was outstanding from the minute of check in to check out - we stayed 3 days, the staff was so very friendly, the lady that checked us in, Danielle, I think, was awesome. The room was wonderful, clean and the location is perfect! This hotel is definitely managed very well as you can see it throughout the staff! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank General Manger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NASHVILLE TENNESSEE
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at theWIT. Arrived about 1pm and Andrea promptly checked me into a great room. She was very courteous and made me feel at home! The room was large with a very comfortable bed, linens and a large sofa that was great to stretch out on.

Carla at the conceirge desk was also very sweet and helpful if i had any questions. Also thanks to Jonah at the bell desk.

highly recommend theWIT

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Wit has an intriguing history and name, yes it's short for "Witty," so is it funny? If you have a warped sense of humor, Andy Warhol-ish, perhaps. The staff are polite, cool, if a tad self-absorbed, but responsive if engaged. Location is great; rooms are adequate; restaurant is mixed with interesting menu that fell short in my two breakfasts and one dinner, but I love the drinks! Give it a go, you won't be disappointed and the price is reasonable in contrast to other hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators. My Profile with Amex Travel specifies that clearly, but I still got a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Healthy94920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We aim to live up to theWit potential in each and every area. Thank you for feedback and perspectives that WILL help us to excel.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband planned a surprise getaway for our anniversary, and he picked theWit in Chicago. it was a great choice! The decor was swanky and cool, and the location was great. It was walking distance to almost everything we wanted to see, and there's an El stop right on the corner so we could get anywhere else. The restaurant and bar downstairs was cozy, with good food and drink options. We did not check out the Roof, but it was hopping every night. Somehow my husband scored a deal and got the Groupon price, without buying the Groupon, so why not ask for a discount? The only downside was the two night party in the room next door that was loud and obnoxious. Hopefully they won't be there when you go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrieah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 21, 2015
Dear carrieah,

Thank you for sharing your experience at theWit Hotel! We hope to see you back soon. Have a marvelous afternoon!

At your Service,

theWit Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am a frequent traveler and a Diamond HHonors member. After reading all the great reviews for this hotel I decided to stay here for my 3 day business trip to Chicago. I am here, right now, night number 1.

So far, I am not that impressed and a little annoyed. I will see how the rest of the week goes and may change the rating if things improve. It is late and I am tired and I might just be a little punchy so keep that in mind as you read this.

My first impressions:

1. Very pleasant staff. But that is their job right? My rating this first night would be a 2 if it wasn't for the staff.
2. I am a Diamond HHonors member. I travel for my job...a lot. I make it a point to stay at Hilton Hotels. I hope this doesn't sound snobbish and I know it probably will to those who DON'T travel alot but for those that travel alot I know you will understand. Where is the upgrade? You have much better rooms than this. It isn't a busy weekend, how about a little love?
3. The HHonors code for the internet did not work. I know, travel snob. But when I get in late and still have 4 hours of work to do, which requires the internet and it doesn't work? It just doesn't sit well when I have to call the front desk, they send someone up to the room just to tell me they can't get it to work either and then spend 15 minutes on the phone with their third-party tech support. Who by the way couldn't get it to work so just manually gave me access. This happens, I know, but it shouldn't. Simplest thing in the world, internet access.

4. I am hungry. I have work to do. It would be nice to get some room service. I call and no answer. Have tried twice. Let me try again right now. Ringing...Ringing...Ringing..."The wireless customer you are trying is not available, please try again later" Hello? Hello? So I am going to call the front desk and see what they have to say. Hold on a second. Called the "Questions/Answers" line, which is just an operator. I explained to her that I was starving and the In-Room Dining person (is there really only one?) is AWOL. She said hold on a second I will try to get ahold of them for you. Waiting...stomach growling...waiting. "Sir? I am going to have to have them give you a call right back in your room." Sigh. Looks like I work on an empty stomach tonight. Or I could break into that once hot, now cold cookie I got when I checked in. But I would rather spend the 310 calories, 22g of sugars and 18g fat on something a little more filling and nutritious. We will see how long I can hold out.

The Hotel's hold music has an announcer where she says "One Sexy Hotel, it is because of the experience....blah, blah, blah." You can have a fancy movie screening room. A fancy bar on the roof. A fancy Spa. Fancy sound playing in the hallway. But if you can't get the basics right, the other fluff isn't worth a dime.

Oh, and still no phone call from In-Room dining. It's been 15 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CedarJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are pleased that we were able to reach out while still visiting with us, and that we were able to meet personally and to make amends for initial misses. First impressions count, and ours are typically better than this. We have reviewed with our team for perspective and continuous improvement.

Thank you.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,017 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,594 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing