We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Chic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #38 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woodridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Chic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

OMG This hotel is amazing! Stayed there for a girls night out. We were welcomed by Danielle at the front desk who's customer service skills are amazing! Very bubbly personality which goes perfect with this modern day chic hotel. The rooms are decent size for being in a downtown property. You usually get a room that is the size of a closet but these rooms were big enough! Roof was a great place to meet with friends and to enjoy a drink. Our server Danielle was extremely nice as well. Had dinner at the restaurant and our server did an amazing job! Probably the best server I've had in a very long time! The hotel is near pretty much everything! Next time I stay here, I'm going to make time and try the spa! Overall, this is a hotel thats perfect for girls night out, a relaxing romantic getaway, business or trip with the family!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the street. Because you will hear the firetrucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    606
    199
    70
    53
See reviews for
384
758
123
701
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We opted for an extra night because the beds are out of this world!
The staff, the food, everything was great!
Only the internet was ridiculous. They need to upgrade and make it free.
Other than that, everything else was just what we wanted for our New Year in Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RH_DH_Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Recently stayed here when in town for a concert at the Chicago Theatre. The theatre was literally across the street and simply couldn't have been more convienant! The hotel was immaculate, including the room and bathroom, which is always my first concern! Great location to access the city and the customer service simply outstanding!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cinfeldhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a great weekend stay at this hotel. The room was large, clean and everything worked properly. Staff were universally friendly and helpful. Roof bar is something to see. Hotel is very convenient to everything in downtown Chicago. Very walkable location.
Hotel is also convenient to get to. We took the EL from the airport and it drops you off very near the hotel.
Would definitely stay here again on another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherOntarioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Not much can be said that hasn't already. This was my fourth or fifth time staying here and it was wonderful again!

Stayed on a weekend. My request for a specific room was easily granted. Everything was well maintained and clean. If you're looking for a more low-key alternative to Roof, the State/Lake bar was quieter and had an acoustic guitarist playing.

Once again, great Chicago hotel experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckyBadger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me and four more friends stayed at the hotel on mid December... The rooms were very clean with a great view, great location, great rooftop bar, beautiful pepole everywhere and not expansive at all...great location and I just can go on and on and on....above all was the friendly staff that made us feel at home..special thanks to Daniele at the reception desk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eran_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our arrival was met instantly with someone to get our bags and take the keys to our car. The valet is $50 per night on top of the room cost, but has unlimited in and out service. We preferred walking. The hotel is in such a great area. We walked only about 15 minutes to Navy Pier. There is also a walgreens a block over with a great liquor section that is open quite late. ROOF is awesome. It is the best bar/club in town hands down. Friday night will get rowdy and loud. The suite was worth the $60 extra over the other rooms. The food in the hotel is very expensive, but worth it if you're vacationing. If not, the hotel is very centrally located to EVERYTHING and even is practically touching the EL train.

Room Tip: Spring for the suite! It is very worth the extra money for a short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are thrilled that you were so thrilled. Thank you for all feedback. Our Junior Suite is one of several different suite and room types available to meet everyone's needs. We eagerly await both new and repeat visits throughout 2013.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing