We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$282
$206
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$345
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$263
$231
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$240
$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$210
$189
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$145
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$428
$376
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,726)
Filter reviews
2,726 results
Traveler rating
1,699
671
216
79
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,699
671
216
79
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate and lakerooftop barwit hotelbirds chirpingnature soundschicago theaterwarm cookiesspa roomthe riverthe loopcorner roomhotel guestsfloor to ceiling windowsmillennium parkthe beanupon checkblue line
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,034 - 2,039 of 2,726 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Beautiful Hotel, Awesome view, courteous staff. Room was very very large, and well furnished. The tub was just what you need after a long day. Close to many place to shop and have a great meal.Room service a bit on the pricey side. Nice Spa service offered as well. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms offered less traffic noise. Especially for the "L" traffic. There is no Swimming pool at this Hotel that was a little disappointing
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paramedicprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

i liked the room very much, especially the bathroom with the glass wall from the floor to the ceiling . It was very romantic to stay in the bathtub in the night and watch Chicago downtown. The bathtub is big, pretty comfortable for 2.
The room was clean and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They brought us additional fridge very quickly and the receptionist gave a call shortly after to confirm that everything is good. Hightly recommend!!

Room Tip: ask for room with glass wall in the bathroom
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lutsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've stayed in many of the hotels in downtown Chicago for business, but this was a first to theWit. Overall a very good stay. It is located in the theater district - so a close walk to see A Christmas Carol at the Goodman. Location is great - tons of shopping and restaurants. Like other city hotels it is best to take advantage of valet parking and save yourself the headache. Helpful and friendly staff. And as another review mentioned - rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds were perfect! We were not upgraded though I am an Honors Member.
We did take a ride to the top to see the bar and the view. Since we had our 12 year old with us, we just peeked. The view is beautiful.
The only issue I found dealt with the key cards in the elevator. Because the elevator is used by the public to get to the bar guests need to insert a key card to access their floor. I am totally in favor of the extra safety, but it's not easy to quickly insert the key (the right way) and floor number before you've either missed your floor or gone in the wrong direction. This happened several times and got to be a bit annoying.
Overall this is a good find and would recommend to others.
*** The halls have the sound of birds chirping during the day and crickets in the evening and night - loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisctravelingfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just finished our first stay - an overnight during holiday shopping season. The basics - very clean, modern, and comfortable. The front desk allowed us to check in before noon, which was a pleasant surprise. The staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful. We sensed a genuine effort to make the stay comfortable and pleasant. Very noticible in a town known more for its hard edge and blue-collar style.

The rooms were modern without being weird. The king bed was soft but not too much. An upscale room that was very inviting and surprisingly warm (in feel - the A/C works just fine). Hilton is doing a lot to change the feel so that you get all of the comforts of their higher-end properties without them flashing their names all over it. You can tell and it makes a difference.

We ended our stay with Sunday brunch in the hotel's second floor restaurant. $20 vouchers were included for both of us. I'll quickly add that this buffet was simple and very, very well done. I commented to a white-smocked chef that it was among the very best I've experienced in all of my US travels. Many fresh, organic selections that -even for a buffet- were excellently prepared and flavorful. But, I'll also add a caution: coffee and juices are extra. If you have both, plan on spending about $14 per guest on top of the vouchers, which includes an 18% service fee.

Overall, a great affordable hotel with an upscale feel. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank LetsEat360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for the detailed reviews which are shared with all team members. We are thrilled to host so many business, group and leisure travels year-round experiences and especially through the holiday season.

We eagerly await new and repeat visit(s).

-Mark Shouger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for RSNA 2012. Bus to McCormick was 1 short block away at Reinassance. Didn't get to the rooftop bar, maybe next time. State/Lake restaurant on ground floor used once, was good upscale pub atmosphere. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews