We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd birds but fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #34 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Odd birds but fabulous hotel”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Really the only thing that marred my stay was something the management probably thinks is the coolest thing. To whit (no pun intended), recordings of birds tweeting and chirping in the hallways. It was kind of cute but not at 2 a.m. or 3 a.m. or 4 a.m....well, you get the picture. Too loud. And the now-should-be-obsolete practice of charging for wifi in the rooms.

But the place is lovely, the locations is stellar and oh my view from the 25th floor of Millennium Park, the lake, and all the crazy cool Chicago architecture was fab. Warm cookie on check-in. 2 blocks from the blue line direct to O'Hare. Such welcoming staff and great hip but not too cool decor. Breakfast in their restaurant was amazing too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    633
    206
    71
    57
See reviews for
431
816
129
748
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Wit for 4 nights last week, celebrating my wife's birthday. From the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out we had a great experience. This hotel has it all, great staff, great location and the rooms are wonderful. It seemed that everyone on the staff remembered our names, remembered which day was my wifes birthday and always went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. It just a couple of blocks to Michigan Ave shopping, or a couple of blocks from Mellenium Park-park your car and leave it, you won't need it. The rooms are spacious and bright and had all the bells and whistles you could ask for. I know that if we head back to Chicago, we'll be heading to the Wit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 21, 2015
Dear Dan L,

Thank you for sharing your experience at theWit Hotel! We hope to see you back soon. Have a marvelous afternoon!

At your Service,

theWit Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We reserved a corner King Spa Room at the Wit and stayed one night/10/16/12 for my birthday. It rained pretty much the whole time but we enjoyed every minute! The hotel was very busy however the front desk staff was very accommodating and helpful. We used the valet service which was pretty easy --I recommend valet since parking is scarce in the area. We were in a corner room 1002 with great window views of the city as well as Chicago Theater signage.

After checking in, we did some sightseeing in the area and upon our return, there was a bottle of champagne with a warm card wishing me a happy birthday--what a great surprise and a nice, special touch!

Before heading out for the evening, we walked up to the rooftop and it was busy and seemed pretty popular. We would have stayed and had a drink if we had more time.

We didn't notice any noise other than when outside of the hotel --there was some construction a block away but this is typical for a big city like Chicago. The train wasn't running while we were there so we didn't notice any noise.

Loved the deep soaking Kohler tub and city views from the bathroom. Bed was comfy and cozy. Accommodations were clean and modern.

Even with the rain, we checked out Second City's 100th Review (I highly recommend this), ate deep dish pizza at Genos, had a few beers at Timothy O Tooles Pub, enjoyed Sunday brunch at the hotel restaurant (State and Lake) which was great and ended our visit with a run in Millennium Park (in the rain) to burn some birthday calories. Total blast!

Wish we could have stayed a few more days. We'll visit The Wit again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trattoria_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 21, 2015
Dear Trattoria_1,

Thank you for sharing your experience at theWit Hotel! We hope to see you back soon. Have a marvelous afternoon!

At your Service,

theWit Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, MI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We booked for a get away weekend with our girls. We arrived and were quickly checked in early and our advance request for attached rooms was honored. We found the rooms very roomy. Someone in an earlier review complained about room size. Maybe they hadn't stayed in Chicago before because these rooms are nice and roomy. Staff all the way around very helpful. Great location. Easy walk to theaters or Mi Ave (on a decent weather day). Plenty of nice places to dine in the immediate area. We'll be back.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lcoldwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
The rave reviews from this past week and weekend are appreciaated. We discussed each of them at all-team sessions this morning. We are thrilled to host so many for business, leisure and group activity in the center of one of the greatest cities in the world. The kudos for State and Lake Chicago Tavern are especially gratifying as our culinary and service teams had just finished rolling out a brand new exciting menu for each meal period prior to these reviews. We are glad that the menus have been so well received.

We look forward to hosting new and repeat visit(s) throughout this fall, winter, and next spring and summer.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Rooms clean and good size. Staff very nice and cannot beat location. Wifi not always good. Restaurant on first floor is fantastic. Great breakfast one of the best hotel breakfast. Egg white omelet is fantastic. Had junior suite which is large and well priced. Bathroom had separate tub. Stayed at Conrad previous year and this was much better

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ifmpeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We requested and received an upgrade and were not disappointed! Above the famous Loop and North Canal, with views to Millennium Park, this luxurious hotel was all that we hoped it would be. We had a meal at the restaurant on the ground floor which our fussy foody 13 y.o. declared was the 'best ever' restaurant she'd ever been to.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Live music in the lobby every night, great style throughout... What more could you ask for?? The service was also phenomenal, and they gave you the most delicious cookies when entering. Sat in the lobby for at least half an hour listening to an artist on night who was extremely talented. Loved the look, vibe, and feel to this place. Also, great location within walking distance of the entire city! Will return!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,053 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 190 in Chicago
4,705 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing