We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #34 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Simpsonville, SC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very cool hotel!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have made a regular trip to Chicago for the last four years to do the Chicago Triathlon. It is a great city and I love doing the race. Until this year I had stayed at the Hilton Chicago but after the experience I had last year(my review is on TripAdvisor) I decided to make a change. After looking through TripAdvisor I decided on The Wit by Doubletree. The name is just an opener for the cool factor of this hotel. From the music playing when you enter the hotel lobby to the ultra cool rooftop bar this hotel has it all. I loved the nature sounds in the hallways too ... it changes depending on the time of day ... like crickets at night and rooster sounds in the morning. The room was very modern too. The decor was was very sleek and the bathroom was great. They didn't let the bed comfort suffer for the sake of looking good either. I have seen a lot of furniture that looks very nice but it not comfortable. I will be returning next year for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninja92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    632
    206
    71
    57
See reviews for
430
816
129
748
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Recently stayed at the Wit and it was wonderful. Great service, great rooms and great location. Wonderful rooms with a great view in the corner suites, stayed on the 19th floor awesome view !! Near everyhing, the shopping, restaurants and bars. The Roof bar was a blast. Thanks for the great service, i will be back !! One thing, how about free internet??

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for feedback and positive words regarding experiences at theWit. We do share ALL feedback with the team on a consistent basis. In fact, most team members eagerly await reviews, guest comment cards and individual emails/letters/notes.

We are appreciative.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Wit is a very nice Hotel. Rooms are nice but small. The staff has a major problem with service. I travel every month and have stayed at many types of Hotels and I have never been insulted like I have been at the Wit. The Wit is a nice Hotel under a horrible Vegas Style Bar. Do not even think about going to the Roof Bar. Do not waste your time in the elevator. My wife and I went up twice during our stay and both times were treated with massive disrespect. If you have not reserved a table with bottle service they do not care to serve you. Both times the bar was half full, yet every open table had a reserved sign on it. The waitress said we could sit at one but would have to leave 10 minutes prior to the reserved party showing up. So let's get this straight......you will kick out a couple that is currently buying super expensive watered down drinks ......for someone that may not show up. Insane way to act. Second night after having a wonderful dinner at another hotel , we returned to our room. We went up for a night cap and were told once we went up to the Roof that we now had to go back down to lobby and get a wrist band then we could enter the Bar at our own Hotel. The lobby had a line for wrist bands where we were told to wait . Sorry there are a lot of other Bars in Chicago. If you want a Roof Top bar please go to the Dana or the Mid for a respectful time. I will never go back to the Wit and will make a effort to tell everyone not to go there. Please do go there if you like to be treated with disrespect and rudeness. Management needs to wake up and realize that no matter how nice the doorman is all is lost by a horrible roof bar.

Room Tip: A good room would be at another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank doc015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We are appreciative of all critiques and feedback. Our ROOF (in addition to guest room @theWit, State and Lake Chicago Tavern, Spa@theWit, Events@theWit and SCREEN) experience is certainly typically better received than as described. Apologies for any perspective that our team is less than thrilled to welcome and host all guests. While some weekend nights, in particular, may see a larger number of day guests and both lobby and elevator activity, the team has worked hard to ensure that the arrival experience is better than described. Unaware of the specific incidents reported here, please do feel to reach out to me through our contacts on theWit web site to share and discuss concerns.

Thank you.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very comfortable bed and pillow. Convenient to the "L" and downtown theaters, restaurants and shops. The only thing I can suggest is that they since they require a room key to access the floors, please add a card reader on the left side of the elevators.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blangsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel has the ultimate location! It is downtown, surrounded by shops, eateries and the river. The Chicago Theatre is right next door. The subway is steps away. You can easily walk to many places or take the bus. The only parking is valet and it costs $50 for unlimited in & out. There are also a few self-parking garages around the vicinity, but the prices are steep in downtown Chicago. It's a very touristy area full of people. Although you have some strange individuals hanging about here and there, it's quite safe. Police presence is apparent throughout the day and night.

Stores you might be interested; Target, Macy's, Nordstrom Rack, H & M, Zara and TJMaxx are within short walking distances. You can find the high end luxury shops about a mile away on Michigan Avenue. It's walkable.

Customer Service from the reception desk, to the concierge booth and the restaurant was excellent! They were friendly, professional and pleasant. It's a nice, modern hotel.

The room (upgraded) was spacious and clean (with minor stains, marks & dirt). The views of the city were incredible. The bathroom had big glass windows, a tub and separate shower. The modern fixtures were a plus. Something rare....an actual bathmat! Their slippers were better than the ones the Hilton regularly provides. Amenities were efficient. The bed was very comfortable! Included in the room was a safe, mini fridge and a 37 inch or so flat screen. Wireless and internet access is available. If you are a heavy sleeper or exhausted, you may be able to sleep through the noise from the subway below. Even on the 10th floor, you can still hear the coming & going of the subway into midnight. Perhaps if you had a room facing the opposite direction of the subway, it might be better. This is the only drawback for this property.

This hotel has it all. The rooftop lounge is great for drinks, music and socializing. The views are magnificent. The food at the State & Lake restaurant within the establishment is marvelous! Breakfast is cooked to order and is delicious and plentiful. The staff is wonderful. You can actually eat every meal of the day here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinaglobetreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went here one business for a week. Perfect location - couldn't be easier to get from the airport to the hotel via the "L" (subway).

Excellent section of town with shops, bars, restaurants, millenium park, and quite a few office buildings all within walking distance. Again near the L station for those attractions further away (Wrigley Field).

Decor was excellent. Truly warrants the TripAdvisor distinction of "trendiest hotel." From the pleasant staff waiting in common areas ( and I mean shockingly nice and helpful - some of the most attentive and proactively helpful staff I've seen), to the time of day specific "nature" sounds in the halls, to the 5 or 6 celebrity voice wake up call options, to the decor in each of the rooms -everything screamed that this is an upscale, trendy, tech friendly (for extra cost ) hotel.

If you get a chance - ask for a corner room on a higher floor - having two sides of your room floor to ceiling windows open to the chicago skyline is unreal.

Ate at two of the restuarants/bars in the hotel and was very, very impressed with the decor and food at those as well - but that is for other reviews.

Fitness center has new equipment and enough to service a hotel of this size - even the decor in there a step above most places.

Bottom Line: It is expensive - those without expense accounts will endure a hurting wallet but will absolutely enjoy thier stay and thanks to the great location, most likely enjoy thier trip to chicago as well.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are available at no extra charge. Would suggest asking if one is available (obviously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreedomFan147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I totally echo the last couple of positive/recent posts - the hotel is all that and then some. We were greeted in our corner suite room with champage and strawberries and a personal note congratulating us on anniversary. I must have mentioned it months ago when we booked it - very impressive. We had great service all around but in particular - Eric the bellman was super personable (even though he's a Mets fan!) Harris (?) at the conceirge desk was friendly and took his time to ensure all questions were answered and Sean Patrick at the front desk knew we had a long commute on arrival day and handed us two warm cookies at check-in - perfect! Location was amazing - two blocks any direction gets you everything you need (Jazz clubs, River rides, bus tours, Millennium Park, restaurants galore and yes the handy Walgreens. And the various "CTA train lines" are right outside the hotel. Loved the music, the vibe and yes the Roof top is all that. The hotel is crisp, clean, service with a smile- they are doing everything right and I'll spread the word for sure and be back next year.

Room Tip: room 1601, corner room, king bed, junior suite with a great view or State and Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amsandbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thanks for the great Summer review of theWit highlighting location, style and staff. We will certainly share your kind words. We will certainly share and celebrate with the team. We will also eagerly await your repeat visits.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,045 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,689 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing