We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new Chicago fave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #35 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We loved everything about the Wit! From the friendly and helpful staff to the LARGE junior king suite. The room was very clean, lots of closet and drawer space, great room layout, floor-to-ceiling window with awesome views! The location is perfect, on State Street in the Loop/theater district, close to Mag Mile, Millineum Park, Art Institute, and Grant Park (we were in town for Lollapalooza). Did I mention the adorable kitchen? Clean small fridge kept our drinks cold, microwave, sink, dishes, and plenty of counter space. Comfy chaise lounge near window to relax and enjoy that view. Dining area, lots of lighting. Huge bathroom with glass shower, large tub, big sink area. Our only complaint: we had to check out of this gem!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0cam0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,547)
There are newer reviews for theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,959 - 1,965 of 2,547 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Nice room, bath tub when you use the shower you were ankle deep. Beds were very comfortable. No refrigerator in room but you can call and if they have one available no charge. Food was good, room service was quick.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wish2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The location is perfect; the hotel is extremely convenient to the train one block away. If travelling from O’Hare international taking the train is very easy convenient and cheap. Everything from stores, attractions, restaurants are close by. “The Roof” has a great atmosphere. We had such a great time, also went to Cubs games and had a blast. Staff is great and cleanliness and service are top.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraganceJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

From the minute we set foot in the lobby until our sad farewell The Wit completely exceeded all expectations and then some. The Front Desk staff was nothing short of exemplary handling our room requests with speed, precision and a manner one would expect from a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons. As a matter of fact if I had not looked at the hotel name on my room key I would have never remembered it was a Doubletree not a 5 star luxury property. The room was spacious, immaculate and very well appointed with dreamy beds complete with 250 thread count sheets. Our picture window from the 14th floor overlooked Grant Park and downtown Chicago with dramatic views. Please do yourself a favor and stay here if for just one night you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuppyConquerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I can't enough about the hotel and the people. The location was perfect, we walked everywhere we wanted to go. There is a Walgreen's right next door for snacks or last minute items and they even have a yogurt bar. We had brekfast right around the block at Einstein Bagel.

The people were very pleasant and helpful. We were in town to celebrate our anniversary. We asked the concierge to recommend a restaurant that was a little different. We didn't want another Chicago steakhouse. He picked a great restaurant and when we got there the manager brought us hors d'oeuvres courtesy of the concierge. Nice touch. I'm just sorry I don't remember his name but I think it was Justin.

The room was big and spacious with a great view of Chicago river. We actually spent an evening in the room eating Chinese takeout and watching the Olympics opening ceremony. With 2 TVs, a dining room table and living area it made for a great evening.

The parking is a rip off but it is Chicago so we just paid it. Not that big of a deal.

Looking for a great hotel in Chicago? Try theWit. You won't go wrong.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor to avoid the noise of the EL.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBlanch4080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Lolla was amazing and the Wit made it even better.
Great location for the festival, very clean & beautiful room with a fabulous view, very safe area (I was with my 3 college daughters), close to fun shopping and wonderful restaurants (in all price ranges). The hotel is expensive, but it is well worth it for the safety and location factor. It's the parking in Chicago that kills you, so proximity to whatever you're doing is clutch.
We will stay there again next year.
I think it would be a really fun hotel for a girls weekend--we saw several bachelorette parties going up to the rooftop bar.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked a king room but were upgraded to a suite. Huge space very modern and clean, from our windows we could look over downtown Chicago to the west, east and south. Our room was on the 23rd floor so there was no noise from the L train below.TheWit is right on State near all the shops and 2 blocks from the Magnificent Mile. Everything was in walking distance of the hotel. We checked out the rooftop bar. It was a let down. The cocktails were great. Our waitress was super friendly but the crowd was a boring bunch of businessmen in suits. We caught a cab to Kingston Mines instead.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less L train noise
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Namellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 191 in Chicago
1,094 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#24 of 191 in Chicago
4,777 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $143 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing