We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #34 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“chicago”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

If you are on your way to chi town I sure hope it's in the summer The WIt is in the middle of everything right near the ''L'' and a short walk to all the Chicago has to offer and that is bunches of Goodtimes

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithR115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Continued thanks for reviews highlighting the location of theWit and the positive service & product.

There is always something fresh at theWit, and this spring and summer you will find Chef's enhancements to the menu at State and Lake Chicago Tavern and a WHOLE NEW ROOF that includes a retractable cover on the famous ROOF patio and likely the largest LED screen outside of a sports venue in the midwest.

We eagerly await repeat visits!

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    621
    204
    71
    55
See reviews for
412
794
127
725
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Though the Wit thinks of itself as a hip 4 star hotel, my experience is that it may have the hip but not the true 4 star experience it touts. My simple expectation in a hotel is that the service should be seamless. If you offer housekeeping, conceriege and food services then do it! I would expect housekeeping to have the rooms cleaned before 3:30 in the afternoon. Twice during my stay I arrived back to my room to relax at 3:30 and the room was not cleaned. After the first time I called and asked if that was standard. They assured me it was not and yet it happened again. So I had to call yet again and I had to leave the room after it was empty all day. Not convienent. One evening we called down and requested a tour to be booked through the concierge for the next day. We were told the vouchers would be waiting for us first thing in the morning. When we stopped at the desk to pick them up and no one knew anything about our request, it had not been done. Finally, if you offer a room service menu it should be available. I called from the spa to place a room service order to be delivered to my room at the end of my treatment since it would be late by then I was told that the menu was no longer available since they were changing it "tomorrow" . Each incident individually could have been acceptable but overall I have found that nothing at this hotel is easy and it all added up to a frustrating stay. Another thing I thought was odd for a "4 star" hotel is the lack of bathrobes in the rooms. The spa ladies were wonderful and friendly and were the highlight of my visit.

Room Tip: The rooms are very noisy right next to the el, if you are a light sleeper this is not the hotel for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
This certainly should always be "ask and you will receive," and our goal at theWit is to anticipate guest needs so guests don't even have to ask.

Individual inconsistencies are reviewed internally so that potential corrective actions are taken and so the we truly provide more experience than hotel- positively- each and every time.

We are appreciative of all perspectives and feedback of those whom have selected and visited theWit for an overnight experience or a day/ night visit to ROOF, State and Lake Chicago Tavern, Spa@theWit, SCREEN and banquets and events hosted here.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Overall the experience can be simply put~Excellent! The hotel staff from the bellhop, front desk and maid service was phenomenal!!! We were welcomed and greeted multiple times from arrival to departure. Any questions or concerns were answered quickly. theWit Roof gave a beautiful view of Chicago downtown. Chicago Tavern State & Lake had an awesome bar/restaurant staff and local Chicago Beers!!! Will definitely stay for future Chicago trips!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amar404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Came to Chicago for work and stayed here at The Wit. Hotel is in a very convenient location in the heart of the Loop. Walgreen's, 7 Eleven, Starbucks are all a very short walk from the hotel. The L Train is right next to the hotel which is convenient to get around, although that is a big minus as well if you have a lower floor room. You hear the train going practically all night which isn't THAT bad but still annoying if you're a light sleeper. Rooms were pretty clean, bed was comfortable. The shower is a little odd, as there is no real divider or step for the shower...it's just a shower curtain that corners off part of the bathroom so when you shower, water kind of sprays out onto the bathroom floor. It looks like they planned for that since their is a drain right under the sink on the floor. Not a deal breaker, just thought it was a little odd. The one issue I had with the room was that the door that joins two rooms together. Sound travels very easily through the doors, and I heard my neighbors all throughout the night, partying going in and our, yelling, throwing up, and everything else associated to partying. Made for a very long day the next day. Fitness center was nice with cardio machines, wish they had a little more weights in there. State and Lake Tavern on the first floor is a great place to get a drink and catch a game on one of the many TV's. Bar staff extremely friendly, willing to change to any game you want to watch. Hotel staff was great, friendly and helpful. The cookie you get when checking in is absolutely delicious. If I had to come back to Chicago for work I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NKIM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
We enjoy the very detailed critiques that keep on coming in as engaged and passionate guests share your perspectives. As anyone who peruses our reviews can see, we certainly take all to heart and share with the team.

We do have a variety of rooms, suites and room/suite locations in the building that may be requested upon both reservation & check-in to ensure that we can exceed all expectations. This includes rooms with bed/bath combinations, rooms with oversized spa tubs, rooms with shower-only configurations- as well as accessible rooms with roll-in showers. Likwise, for the not-so-sound sleepers in a city setting, our rooms face four different vantage points.

Thank you for you business, loyalty and comments.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

theWit hotel was an excellent choice for our weekend getaway. The Roof rooftop bar is a great place and was just what we needed to celebrate our special event.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We had a less positive experience than many who have stayed at theWit. We found the service to be at best average. We checked in during the holiday season and the front desk staff gave us misinformation about a number of things when we checked in. We were able to sort this out later, but this required our visiting the front desk 2-3 times to specifically ask about each piece of misinformation. We also experienced a few problems in the room. The bathroom door was at times difficult to open and one of us got stuck in the bathroom on one occasion. Our room was a king corner room and was on the small side. The bed was moderately comfortable. The exercise room had several treadmills, elliptical machines, and bicycles and was generally good. This would not be a top choice for us in future stays in Chicago. We received a good rate for our stay and would have been quite unhappy if we had paid more typical rates. Of the three similar hotels where we have recently stayed in Chicago (the others being the Dana and the Radisson Blu), we would rank theWit as a distant third in terms of service and the quality of the rooms. theWit is in a central location in the middle of the Loop near Macy's and other shopping.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsogl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
We are appreciative of the review from a visit this past December. As indicated, this is atypical of many guest reviews and most guest experiences shared.

Our team prides itself on personalized service excellence, and all critiques are shared in order to ensure continuous improvement in all areas.

We look forward to making any new and repeat visits, a true positive WOW experience.

Thank You.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Amazing....What a property!!! I was desperately sad to leave on our last day. The hotel staff are, without a doubt, the most fantastic, professional staff I've ever encountered at a hotel. Their pleasant manner and kindness were beyond anything I've ever experienced. Our suite was beautiful (23rd floor-what a view) and always cleaned to perfection. The entire hotel has a very chic retro "Mad Men" feel to it. I LOVED IT! The location is wonderful...can't be beat. The rooftop bar was lovely and the restaurant, State&Lake, was so yummy. My son had the BEST time. The staff went out of their way to greet and welcome all of us. I have every intention of returning to Chicago for another AMAZING ADVENTURE and we'll stay at the theWith for sure. BRAVO & THANK YOU!!! I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel....absolutely FABULOUS!!!!

Room Tip: spend the extra and get a suite. You won't be disappointed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
990 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 189 in Chicago
4,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing