We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Paramount Suite of this Hotel is spectacular.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #34 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Paramount Suite of this Hotel is spectacular.”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The wit Hotel was a fantastic experience. From the warm cookies upon check- in and check - out to the fantastic views of the Paramount suite to one of the most comfortable sleeps ever! I have only stayed in the one bedroom suite so I can't offer opinions on the average room..but if you are looking for a suite...this is definitely the hotel to check out.

Room Tip: The paramount suite is the room we stayed in...you will not be disappointed if you like a lot of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MShouger, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
A Happy New Year to all. The holiday week reviews are appreciated as the team put much effort into preparing accommodations, activities and the overall Experience here.

We are blessed with the high number of reviews in 2011, and we look forward to hosting and taking great care of everyone throughout 2012.

This year will see exciting changes throughout theWit, State and Lake Chicago Tavern, ROOF and Spa@theWit.

Thank you!

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,482
    622
    204
    71
    55
See reviews for
415
795
127
726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We had a King Spa Suite for our family (mom/dad and teenagers) and it worked out perfect. We had a sitting area with a pull-out , small refrigerator, micro, coffee maker, huge bathroom (soft towels!), a king bed, and a roll-away. The receptionist was our first hotel representative that we encountered and she was wonderful. We were on the 24th floor and our view was fun! The room was very clean and very comfortable. I am all about a good nights sleep and I found the king bed to be great (not too firm!). We asked for a roll-away and it was delivered soon after we arrived to our room. He needed to get us a pillow and sheets as we were using the pillow and sheets supplied in the room for the pull-out couch. He practically ran down the hall to return with the pillow and sheets. We gave him a tip for his very prompt service! We have waited in other hotels for requests, so we really appreciated his service! We loved the location because of it being within walking distance of shopping and in the theater district. We shopped during the day and ran our packages up to the room before going out for pizza. Macy's was a must see all decorated for Christmas. We saw a show at the Goodman Theater and I was thankful to just walk back to our room at 10:30pm in a matter of 5 minutes. We would definitely stay here again. On a side note, we arrived at the Museum of Science and Industry around 11:30am on a weekday between Christmas and New Years. We love to see their Christmas Around the World (Museum’s 45-foot Grand Tree with more than 30,000 lights and ornaments and 50 smaller trees decorated by volunteers from Chicago’s ethnic communities to represent their cultures and holiday traditions.) It was absolutely packed! Most special exhibits and omnimax movies were sold out. We opted to just become members of the museum because the line was much shorter. If we go one other time during the year then we will come out even. We really just wanted to see the Christmas trees and decorations, so lines weren't an issue with us. My one daughter wanted to see the coal mine exhibit, but the wait was 1 hour. (thought we might be at Disney for a minute!) I was a little disappointed not to see an omnimax, but we will know better next time! Actually, I was glad to see the Museum so busy and supported!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24Carpediem7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Awesome medium sized hotel. Large enough not to be a boutique but not a monster sized hotel. Felt like a home. Not overly busy and could come and go easily. The location is awesome. Walking distance to so many great things and the rooms (2508) have a good city view and a small view of the river.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which was large enough to feel like a condo or apartment. Full kitchen complete with plates and silverware. An oven, small refrigerator, sink (no microwave). Closest space was amazing...3 separate closets. The bathroom was very large and contemporary...large glass shower and a tub big enough for two. Living room is nice size with it's own tv...table for 4 near kitchen. Overall a great hotel room. Service was outstanding! Room service was fast and friendly! Front desk, valet, concierge all very helpful!

Room service food was delicious!! :)

Never ate at the restaurant on ground floor. Rooftop bar is super groovy. Drinks are pricey $14 starting. Ambiance is what makes it....great electric fire pits....yummie drinks....service was aweful....but we were patient because it was so pretty and cozy.

This is a great hotel which will save you money and yet feel as good as if you spent the extra to stay at Trump or Conrad etc!

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor. Lower floors will limit your view since buildings surround it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islanddiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

In Chicago for the first time on business. I found it to be in a great location. Food at hotel was good and within walking distance of several great places to eat and shop. Easy walk to Millennium Park. Staff was friendly and the hotel looked pretty upscale not like other Double Trees I have been in. Overall enjoyed the staty and I would return to the Wit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cajun007Bakersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
175 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

No way this falls into a classic Double Tree style. The Wit is upscale fun without the stuffiness of other similarly styled hotels.

In fairness I a am a Diamond Hilton traveler and get nice upgrades when available. The Wit is no exception. Spa rooms are awesome and offer the best views. I have stayed here at least 6+ times to date.

But, start from the easy Midway airport access for $2 on the orange line. Killer location and no luggage lugging as you get off at State and Lake street stop and boom. There!

The Wit is always well staffed and you can tell the Hilton training is followed to the "T". Lots of smiles and attention.

The food at the State & Lake restaurant has always been great quality and worth consideration for any meal while in Chicago where there are tons of options.

The Roof Top bar is perhaps the hotel highlight especially in summer months. Killer views, expensive drinks and plenty of active young adults going til all hours. Or older folk wanting to be young!

Next time you don't click on this hotel because it is assumed to be a boring Double Tree I suggest you take a Double Take as it is really, really fun.

Room Tip: Spa rooms. Go high so you don't hear the L train or street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We had an enjoyable time at The Wit Hotel. Friendly staff and knowledgeable "experience architect" concierge Sean Patrick Wagner who was very helpful. We had breakfast included in The Wit Package at the State and Lake Restaurant that was awesome!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Fantastic hotel, perfectly located for romantic weekend downtown for us, city-born couple in our 30's who now live in the burbs. Service was spot on, restaurant State/Lake was wonderful for breakfast and dinner, the Roof was superb if you are not up there during primo club hours (I'm getting old) because then it does get packed. HOWEVER, staying at theWit allows you to bypass the suckers waiting downstairs. We plan on staying at least once per year.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the very top floor on a Fri/Sat night unless you are in your 20's and stay out la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
993 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing