We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The weekend is yours -- choose to make it perfect.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #41 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The weekend is yours -- choose to make it perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Fantastic hotel, perfectly located for romantic weekend downtown for us, city-born couple in our 30's who now live in the burbs. Service was spot on, restaurant State/Lake was wonderful for breakfast and dinner, the Roof was superb if you are not up there during primo club hours (I'm getting old) because then it does get packed. HOWEVER, staying at theWit allows you to bypass the suckers waiting downstairs. We plan on staying at least once per year.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the very top floor on a Fri/Sat night unless you are in your 20's and stay out la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    592
    192
    70
    52
See reviews for
373
734
121
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
michael30309
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

I was truly looking forward to my stay at theWit, but was left dissatisfied, particularly because of a subpar staff.

The good: i stayed in a king suite-1202 (intrinsically tied to the bad described below). the room was nice (nothing spectacular) and the bathroom was beautiful and moder-nice tub, great shower, awesome view, large, etc. The toiletries were beyond the quality of other Hilton brand toiletries. The tv was large and (thankfully!) wasn't controlled using lodge net (those who travel know how annoying/slow lodge net is). The iPod doc would have been great had it been functional (missing electrical plug). Unlike other reviewers, I found the elevators very fast and efficient. Finally, the fitness center was large (for a boutique-like hotel) and had good, new equipment.

The bad/ugly: There are better hotels in Chicago for a lower price, and all that I've stayed in have a more professional staff. The staff was inconsistent, inattentive and unprofessional. Examples:
1. I had numerous large holes in my fitted bed sheet (thereby exposing the mattress) and had pillows that smelled like feces. In spite of notifying the hotel concierge and housekeeping, the bedding wasn't changed and neither were the pillows. I woke up with a terrible rash on my face and need to see a doctor (on Chritmas, no less!).
2. The staff was particularly crass late at night...cursing in the lobby, discussing inappropriate and insulting topics, not greeting guests, etc.
3. I was yelled at by staff for trying to use the side lobby door at night.
4 Check in was annoying and slightly degrading. Although the hotel was rather empty, I had to practically beg to get an upgrade to a nicer room (as a Hilton gold member, this was disappoingting considering Marriott and Starwood readily upgrade me based on my gold statuses, and theWit had plenty of upgrades available for the night). The manager (I'm assuming) came to the front desk and allowed for the upgrade, but it was like pulling teeth with them (at one point I had to mention the it is Hilton policy to upgrade if available...concierge floor or not). So much for hhonors!!! I'm 2 stays away from diamond..this solidified my decision to focus on other chains that actually care about loyalty).

Overall, I wanted to love this hotel, but didn't because of the staff (and i NEVER have complained about the staff in any of my other reviews). If you're looking for simply a nice bathroom and hip bar, this is a great hotel. But the rooms are "worn" in spite of this being a new property. The staff is mediocre at best and from my experience, doesn't care about the customer.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael30309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

The cost of car valet was $46 a day plus tips making it quite high. There is not a self-parking option so unless you want to park in a self-park garage several blocks away, the cost adds up. The staff, room, housekeeping and everyone associated with the hotel were quite nice. I was also expecting a concierges floor as most Doubletrees I stay in have this for frequent travelers, but The Wit does not have such a floor. Was disappointed. So my 2 day stay went from the expected $196.00 using 50,000 points to achieve that price to almost $400 for 2 nights stay having to use the valet services for both car and luggage checking and checkout. Too expensive for what we received

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slscheffer1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Thank you for the feedback.

theWit consistently aims to provide a value for the services, amenities and location that truly make a visit- More Experience Than Hotel. We constantly assess the competetive marketplace, the cost for providing services and our ability to pacakge experiences to ensure that each and every guest stay exceeds expectations, to the best of our great team's ability.

Parking in the downtown area has approached new levels with a premium on space, additional taxes and expenses. Look for weekend package specials which may include parking, shopping discounts and more as we partner with other great downtown venues.

We value all critiques!

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

My first reaction when I walked into the lobby was a pleasant surprise. Unlike most Doubletree's that I've stayed at, theWit is trendy, clean, fresh and kind of has a bit of a W-esque vibe (be ready for this).

Rooms: My husband and I were upgraded to a suite. The room was huge! It was actually 2 rooms, living space/kitchen and then the bedroom. The rooms were incredibly clean and hip. Every night at turn down, they left you a little fun quote with a trinket to match the quote. Our bathroom was huge with a soaking tub that for $25 you could have the spa staff draw you a bath with special bath soaps, suds and oils.

Service: The staff was great. Very accommodating, knowledgeable about the area and friendly. The attention detail is excellent.

Location: It's at State and Lake, which if you know Chicago, is in a heavy business district and right on the brown line. It may not be the best location for a tourist new to Chicago, but it is a GREAT location for business travel and if you don't mind walking 8-10 minutes to Michigan Ave.

And of course since this is a Doubletree property you always get your unlimited supply of warm chocolate cookies. : )

The hotel has a great restaurant attached to it. Great food- we ate breakfast and lunch one of the days there. There is also a great bar on the top floor- very cool, hip vibe. Nice spot for a drink.

Overall, great property, we will return.

Room Tip: Highly recommend trying to upgrade to the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJFigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
We continue to be excited about the number of guest reviews we receive, and the general positive feelings regarding theWit experience.

Business, convention and toursit guests find our location to be readily accessible to offices, meeting locations, museums, shopping, theater, great restauarnts (including our own), sports venues and more. In fact, on our internal surveys transportation in general (our close proximity to all major CTA lines and even METRA stations as well as bus and taxi ease of use) ranks very high.

Exceeding our guest expecations at every turn is our number one goal, and TripAdvisor reviews help us refine and improve in all areas.

Thank you.

Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Great hotel, a little pricey - but would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAddis0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 21, 2015
Dear RAddis0n,

Thank you for sharing your experience at theWit Hotel! We hope to see you back soon. Have a marvelous afternoon!

At your Service,

theWit Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

Enjoyed my stay again this year. Heads up if you get a handicapped room, the shower and the tub are combined and a mistake. The architect did not have a clue as to what they were doing. It's pretty and works well as a stand alone spa tub. The tub is a drop in and has a 4inch rim around it which quickly fills with water when showering and then freely drains on to the bathroom floor. Five towels and a soaking bathmat later I was ready to head to breakfast. The State and Lake Restaurant was not available during my stay and breakfast was moved to the second floor eatery. It did nothing to improve the breakfast experience or quality. Hot items in lukewarm steam tables. Stiff bread for toast, the oatmeal glued as a lump the ladle all three mornings and a solid block of rock hard brown sugar in a bowl to chisel for your enjoyment. All this for $19.00. I would like address the voucher for HHonors diamond, it didn't cover the base amount of breakfast buffet (the only option). The server made it clear the balance and gratuity would be billed to the room. Why would management put this on the server who is just trying to kept up with the rush and then have to beg for the $2.00 short fall in the price? I'm used to covering the server's gratuity separately and this is not the issue. Rethink it. This aside the staff were delightful and cheerful always had a smile and made eye contact easily. I will be back, and Dunkin Donuts across the street gets my vote for breakfast for now.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Upon entering our room, we booked a junior executive suite, we realized our room was handicap accessible (not per our request). We called the front desk to see if another room was available, mainly due to the shower in this room. We were told no, all junior suites are handicap accessible. Ok. We unpacked, went downstairs where, Sean, the conceirge, asked how everything was. Also asked him about the junior suites, not true, they are not all handicap accessible. He offered to have our stuff moved, but we chose to do it ourselves. Upstairs, repack, move, back downstairs. All of this could have been avoided if the front desk person would have be more properly informed.
The rooms have taken some abuse in the last year. Furniture rather beat up, stained fabric, etc. The couch in the room is not comfortable at all. We had dual TV's, which proved to be interesting. Turn on one, the other one came on, manually turn one off, try to turn the other off while in bed, the other on turns on. The bathrooms are very cold and the shower caddy is useless as the amenities fall out through the slots.
Sean, the conceirge, was very helpful as was Jonah, our bellhop. The front desk staff seemed to be otherwise busy whenever we came or went. The staff at State and Lake is hit or miss.
Personally, I'd like to see them offer free WiFi, in your room, especially if you pay for an upgraded room.
The hotel is okay, but unfortunately, nothing special. I feel like with a little tweaking they could be great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Triangle_Motel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you for repeat business and for detailed feedback. We are pleased to host return guests- not so pleased that a repeat visit may not be as thrilling as the first. All feedback is reviewed with team mebers- the stars (like Sean and Jonah) and all areas with appropriate critique.

We are in the midst of an intense preventive maintenance and repair project this winter season to ensure that all rooms and areas stay new.

Happy Holidays to all!

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#8 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing