We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thought this was a hip/trendy place to stay???” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #39 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thought this was a hip/trendy place to stay???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here with friends for my bachelorette party...its in such a fabulous part of the city, we figured The Wit would be our perfect homebase-we were wrong! The staff was not helpful from the moment we arrived. Security came to our room at 3am-4 large men...not necessary!- we were not even disturbing any of the other guests because we talked to every one of our surrounding neighbors the next day. The rooms were small and our showerhead was broken. To top it all off, they charged a credit card they SPECIFICALLY were told was just being used to hold the room. The only thing The Wit has going for them is the location. If you're looking for a fun and fabulous place to stay in this area, DO NOT STAY at the Wit! They are NOT fun and fabulous!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihearttravels77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MShouger, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
All feedback is great feedback. This specific review is perplexing, though, as visits to guest rooms and suites by our management or security teams as described are based on other guest calls by those whom voice concerns over disruptions from noise- or the personal observations while in guest corridors. Small private gatherings and suite visits are certainly not otherwise interrupted.

As our web site shares, we offer a variety of room and suite types to accommodate guest desires of just about any kind. In fact, the variety of room types and sizes as a percentage if overall rooms is higher than any other Chicago hotel.

As always, our team strives to offer comfortable, enjoyable and memorable experiences for all that visit.

We are certainly dismayed at anything less.

Thank you, again, for continued feedback.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,390
    604
    198
    70
    52
See reviews for
383
754
122
701
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is an amazing hotel...so stylish, so beautiful. The decor is modern, clean, comfortable. The soft sound of birds (day) or crickets (night) chirping in the hallways creates great ambience. The rooms are spacious; we had 4 people staying in a room with 2 queen beds and there was still plenty of room for suitcases on the floor. The rooftop bar provides incredible views of the city. Drinks are pricey, but you kind of expect that for the location. Upon arrival I forgot my cell phone in my car just after the valet had parked it. He was so kind and didn't hesitate to run to the ramp/lot to retrieve it for me. Great service. Breakfast in StateLake restaurant was delicious. Too bad Cibomatto was closed on Sunday night or we would have dined there. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The staff was spectacular, the view from my room on the 24th floor was breath-taking, and the location was perfect for a long weekend in Chicago! Upgraded to a junior suite, and it was absolutely wonderful to have a galley kitchen, lounge area and spa-style bathroom. But my favorite feature, by far, was the floor to ceiling windows, overlooking State Street.

The restaurant (State and Lake) was fine for breakfast - but with typical hotel restaurant pricing, there are better food values to be had just steps from the front door. Rooftop bar? Great view, friendly staff - and requisite over-priced drinks. Did the Sunday brunch on the rooftop upon arrival, while waiting for my room to be prepared, and was a little underwhelmed...

Did i mention the great view?

Parking on-site = vehicular rape. $46/day. But there seem to be no other reasonably priced options, so this is likely the going rate for parking in the neighborhood. Transportation options abound! Park outside the city and take the train!

Convenient bus stops just outside the hotel take you to all the museums - again, no need to have a car! The Blue line train is two blocks away (Clark/Lake) and can get you to/from O'Hare Airport for $2.25! A taxi will cost you $45!

Had a blast! Will stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyfae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
294 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a a great location for theatre trips. The hotel itself is done in a contemporary decor and is clean and sleek. The staff is professional and very attentive to their guests. We wanted to see the rooftop bar but we're "older folks" and didn't really want to be part of the young people's bar scene. A staff member unlocked it for us during the day and let us look around and see the view. Beware that the rooftop is PACKED on weekends and that tends to jam the elevators. We've stayed here three times and will probably go back.

Room Tip: ask for a partial lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank setter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Loved
Trendy lobby and rooms
Warm cookies on arrival and check out
Spacious rooms
Great location near millenium park

Did not love
Noisy room next to train
Noisy lobby due to restaurant traffic
Breakfast order incorrect, was told it would be comp'd, still got billed and had to ask for it to be fixed again. It happens - but other travelers should know room service has its kinks.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side opposite the train to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drea2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MShouger, Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Please know that theWit team appreciates all critiques. We have noted before that specific room and suite location requests may be made at time of booking and upon arrival to best meet all guest needs. Our prime downtown Chicago location allows for a variety of views, accessibility and requests. We look forward to hosting families, couples, friends, and single leisure and business travelers as The Traveler's Reward for all else one may go through to get here. Remember, too that theWit is part of HHonors and all the benefits associated with this.

Thank you.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

I was delighted my firm picked theWit for my weeklong stay in Chi-town.

CHECK-IN -- Hot cookie upon check-in! Sweet (if I liked sweet stuff, but nice gesture nonethless).

THE ROOM -- The rooms are spacious and the decor is trendy. My room was located directly off the elevator and on the side facting N. State street with the metro line to the left. I thought that might be a problem with all the noises, but it didn't bother me at all. Then again, my home is near an airport, so perhaps I'm used to that kind of background noise. The strange part was I could hear people showering and flushing toilets and stuff. I think they have good insulated windows and doors, but the walls are thin. I'm should thank my lucky stars that my neighbors weren't boisterous :)

They have wireless internet, but it's not complimentary. The desk setup was comfortable, so I could get work done in between meetings. Plus, if you don't want to pay $1/page, you can upload docs to Kinko's and pick up across the street in the basement of the Reneissance.

DINNERS AND OTHER NIGHT DISTRACTIONS
I was with a large group and we didn't make reservations for dinner. With the help of the nice concierge lady, we were able to snag very last minute rezzies at Hoyt's nearby.

One night we decided to try Cibo Matto in theWit, since we got a coupon for a free bottle of wine upon check-in. That was not such a great idea. The weight was horrendous, and the food was only so-so. Here's my Yelp review for those that want more details: http://www.yelp.com/biz/cibo-matto-chicago

The rooftop bar was snazzy, but pricey. It was fun seeing the different streams of people coming in and out of the elevators to and from the roof. Ultimately though, it was too noisy, so we made our way down to the lounge bar/restaurant, which was much better for a large group that wanted to talk.

All in all, I'd stay at theWit again. Aside from the inside amenities, it was within walking distance to everything you could imagine, include shopping, delicious food, and booze.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctina225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed over the July 4th weekend. Room was very quiet and the service from the hotel was excellent. Requested a refrigertor and room service promptly delivered.
The bathroom sink is elegant to look at but impractical. Shallow basin causes water to splash out. Roof Top bar is apparently "the place" as it was very popular day and night. Outstanding views of the city.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deaconridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing