We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wow place is all remodeled in 2012, great neighborhood, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mark Twain Hotel

Mark Twain Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mark Twain Hotel
Ranked #161 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow place is all remodeled in 2012, great neighborhood, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Subway stop right in front of building, place is clean and close to Lincoln Park and River North - good location in Gold Coast. Convenient Supermarket right across street with deli counter. Lots of restaurants of all prices in walking distance. Rush street also nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

I've stayed there and appreciate the walking distance to everything/ the classic antiquity of it.
I have letters written by Father-in-law when he stayed there which are on this marvelous old stationery with a CLASSIC LETTERHEAD logo featuring Samuel Clements' photo done in half-tone dot patterns.
I'll include it here:

Room Tip: A room overlooking the avenue. Great visuals at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

I actually lived in the Mark Twain for 2.5 years while in grad school. Is it the best place to live? No. However, it was what I had since I do not get along with my family.

It is not the traditional hotel in the sense of a quality inn type of joint, however, there is a room, a TV, a private washroom and the place is good for in betweeners who are in town for short work trips and want to save money or just want a private room over night after the club.

The Gold Coast neighborhood is beautiful.

Takeaways: The saxaphonist playing nightly outside my window and the summer Farmer's Market that I could see from my window and participate in.

  • Liked — It was convenient for me at that time in my life.
  • Disliked — Transients lived there.
  • Stayed January 2003, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ajjones1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

Just so everyone knows, this is a transient/SRO hotel. What this means is that you'll be rooming with generally unsavory. It's a safe neighborhood, but not this hotel -- its not intended for tourists. STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
18 Thank Oskee2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#88 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#70 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Twain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Twain Hotel

Property: Mark Twain Hotel
Address: 111 W Division St, Chicago, IL 60610-1909
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 159

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing