We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super convenient, but need ear plugs”
Review of Ohio House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ohio House Motel
Ranked #123 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“super convenient, but need ear plugs”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed in 121 (ground floor next to entrance door, facing Ohio Street) between 5/24 - 5/29. Considering the history, we're a little worried about the room, but the room is spacious for the price + surprisingly clean (carpet, bedding), and bathroom is updated. My complains are about noises. Some of them is out of control by the hotel.

Pros:
* The location is super convenient. Michigan AV is 5min walk. If you want, you can walk to anywhere around loop on foot within 25min, but we had a 3-day pass.
* Many options for dining: Rock's'Roll MacDonald's in front of hotel. Portillo's Hot Dog is across from Rock'n'Roll MacDonald's. Lou Malnati's & Dino's Pizza are 2-block away.
* Cheap for location. You can't get a room under $100 near Michigan AV.
* Staff is accommodating. They cut off AC for entire motel when we told that our room was freezing.
* Neighborhood is safe for late night (after 10pm) + early morning (4pm) for us to walk from/to motel

Cons:
* Motel has several locked entrances. The door makes roaring sound when opened/closed.
* Walls are paper-think. We can literally hear what the next room guests were talking.
* Staying on the ground floor, the foot steps from upstair rooms were troubling for me.
* Traffic on Ohio/LaSalle are heavy, especially weekend night. I wonder other nearby hotels, e.g. Best Western across the stree has the same noise level.

If you want to save money as Chicago attractions are costly, bring a set of ear plugs.

Room Tip: If possible, choose the room far away from the entrance door on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I assure you that this has been addressed by proper management. We truly appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    225
    119
    26
    39
See reviews for
89
187
50
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McGregor, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2014

The motel is located close to everything in Chicago. We were within walking distance to Water Tower Mall, Magnificant Mile, Navy Pier, and the subway for Wrigley Field. The only negative thing, was the temperature of the room. It is regulated at the front desk, so it was warmer than I like. The room was clean and people were friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2016
Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The pictures of the smoking room doesn't look anything like the room. The room smelled like old gym socks. The housekeepers did not speak english very well to comprehend what I was asking so it added to my frustration. I would never pay that much money again to stay in a dirty motel room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyB602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. As a rule, our housekeeping department is extremely diligent in making sure that our guest rooms are absolutely clean and fresh.
I will review your comments with our executive housekeeper, and reinforce our policies regarding room cleanliness and attention to detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is my third stay at the Ohio House and I will continue to stay there for my Chicago visits. While my colleagues were spending 2 or 3 times for their hotels, the Ohio House allows me to save a bunch of money and still enjoy all Chicago has to offer. It's not fancy and for less than 150 per night in Chicago, don't expect it. BUT, the rooms were clean, comfortable with a small fridge and microwave and free wi fi. I didn't have a car, but there's free parking too! Nice staff too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hello, Albert.
Thank you for your kind words! You hit our goal right on the head, for our guests to enjoy a clean comfortable stay at the Ohio House while saving their money for the finest Chicago has to offer!
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

If this hotel were located anywhere else, the price would be laughable. But because it's only a mile from the miracle mile, it's reasonable. Ohio House not a big chain, and it shows. The mattress we had, sagged to the middle, and the temperature had to be controlled by the main desk. My girlfriend and I didn't stay in the room, except to sleep. If you plan on lounging in the room, look elsewhere. But if you're using this room as a place to shower and sleep, Ohio House is a passable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globe_trottin_Polak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us.
I can assure, these issues have been resolved.
We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Ohio House and attended a game at Wrigley Field. What a terrific find this motel is! Our room was as clean as any place we have ever stayed and when we opened the door our car was 20 feet away. Parking is free and no limits on in and out. We easily walked to Michigan Avenue and to the subway stop that took us right to Wrigley. What more could you want? I imagine you have to reserve early to get a room here because there isn't a better deal anywhere.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onnieon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! It was a pleasure to see you! Tell all of your friends, and Go Cubs!
This could be the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Doesn't exactly ooze street appeal in my opinion - but everything else makes up for it. I wanted to stay longer but was all booked up sadly. Located on the fringe of the CBD - but still a great location and well priced for the location. Modern, comfortable room, and wifi worked well. There are places close by to eat - walking distance for breakfast and dinner. Staff were friendly. Would recommend to any visitor going to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JK1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for visiting with us during your stay!
After all, they say it's what's inside that counts and to us that means it's all about the service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Near North Side
FieldHouse Jones
FieldHouse Jones
#96 of 189 in Chicago
72 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#144 of 189 in Chicago
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Felix
#115 of 189 in Chicago
1,583 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohio House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio House Motel

Property: Ohio House Motel
Address: 600 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ohio House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ohio House Motel offers 2 star accommodations in the heart of downtown Chicago. We are walking distance from Chicago's finest attractions and are located in Chicago's River North neighborhood with free parking, Wi-Fi, HDTV, and free breakfast when you book us direct! The Ohio House Motel offers the best value lodging in downtown Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ohio House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio House Hotel Chicago
Ohio Motel Chicago
Ohio Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing