We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, cleanliness and price”
Review of Ohio House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ohio House Motel
Ranked #123 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Elliot Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location, cleanliness and price”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here on a layover while passing through Chicago a few months ago. I don't look for amenities when choosing a hotel in another city since my view is that if I'm visiting another city I want to get out and see the city rather than the inside of a hotel room. I look for three basic things in hotels, location, cleanliness and price. The Ohio House provided all three.

The location was within walking distance or a short cab ride to many of our destinations, (House of Blues, waterfront, Union station); there were good restaurants nearby; and even an attached café that was, like the hotel itself, basic but clean and good. The hotel was aged and basic but well kept and clean. And the price was far below that of any other hotel in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Medicgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    231
    120
    26
    39
See reviews for
93
189
52
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I felt so comfortable at the Ohio House!!! They took great care of a very large group with loud mopeds and hooligans partying all night long. Close to downtown and some great restaurants right around the corner... highly recommended!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Thank you for your excellent review of The Ohio House Motel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that it will be passed along to the appropriate departments. Please come back and see us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlanger, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Close to the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and public transportation my family slept here for an overnight. Worth every penny and very convenient to Hard Rock Cafe and other favorite destinations. The room could have been a little cleaner, but the bed was ok and we brought our own extra pillows. I recommend bringing your own towels. Clean, but not fluffy as you'd expect in a motel versus hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I assure you that this has been addressed by proper management. We truly appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland City, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This motel is in the heart of downtown, just blocks away from the brown and red line. Five blocks from Michigan Ave. and a multitude of restaurants including a must see two level McDonalds right next door. For the price, it is hard to beat because of free parking. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I was expecting a lot of noise and it was not bad at all. The rooms are small but clean. When I go back to Chicago, this is the place I will stay.

If you are expecting the Ritz, then stay at the Ritz. I am very into saving money and the parking alone probably saved me 150.00 dollars for the three nights I stayed.

One tip to anyone driving into Chicago is to fill up with gasoline fifty to sixty miles outside the city, as gas prices are about a dollar higher per gallon in the city.

Room Tip: There are rooms that face Ohio St. and then there are rooms that face the alley in the rear. So that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank smeagolsfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy about this hotel. Wasn't that good of a price. Free parking, close to free shuttle, great staff, McDonald's next door, and soon to be restaurant on site. Those are the pluses. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momofkiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Thank you for your excellent review of The Ohio House Motel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that it will be passed along to the appropriate departments. Please come back and see us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I was part of a group that rented the motel here. Rooms were clean and the staff was very accommodating. Had a great experience right in the middle of downtown Chicago! Walking distance from great restaurants as well as McDonald's and Whole Foods in case your trying to stay on budget. Easy accessibility to the Blue line as well.

Ohio house made for a great central location to explore the rest of Chicago, whether you're driving or taking the trains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COTL_ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to share a bit about your experience here at The Ohio House Motel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Chicago, and that your guest room was a comfortable place for you to relax and refresh. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

right in the middle of down town, this hotel has free Alterra coffee, a dedicated parking lot and great service. rooms were modest but clean and included a mini fridge and microwave.
also, the rooms were surprisingly quiet given that they are ground level. plenty of towels, extra blankets and pillows!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstammiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2016
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to share a bit about your experience here at The Ohio House Motel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Chicago, and that your guest room was a comfortable place for you to relax and refresh. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Near North Side
FieldHouse Jones
FieldHouse Jones
#98 of 190 in Chicago
78 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#144 of 190 in Chicago
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Hotel Felix
#115 of 190 in Chicago
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohio House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio House Motel

Property: Ohio House Motel
Address: 600 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ohio House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ohio House Motel offers 2 star accommodations in the heart of downtown Chicago. We are walking distance from Chicago's finest attractions and are located in Chicago's River North neighborhood with free parking, Wi-Fi, HDTV, and free breakfast when you book us direct! The Ohio House Motel offers the best value lodging in downtown Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohio House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio House Hotel Chicago
Ohio Motel Chicago
Ohio Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing