We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Ohio House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ohio House Motel
Ranked #123 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is easy to find and has a great location and the front desk is open 24 hours. There is plenty of free parking we never had a problem getting a space. The heat is controlled from the front desk, but a quick call and they will adjust it. My only complaint was the rooms are not very clean. The towels had a lot of stains there was hair in the bathtub and the shower curtain really needed to be changed. The walls and doors are very thin, we were lucky and all of the other rooms were occupied with quiet people. If you were next to a rowdy bunch you would definitely hear everything. Over all great for the price, if they cleaned the rooms a bit better this would be a great hotel. On a side note they have a little breakfast coffee shop. I recommend trying it, the food was great and most of the breakfast meals were under 6 dollars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfgirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ohio House Motel during your recent stay in Chicago. I sincerely apologize for any issues you may have experienced during your stay. This is not the level of service we provide here at The Ohio House! Our rooms are cleaned and inspected daily and must pass very high standards. (Please refer to other reviews.) We invite you to stay with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    225
    119
    26
    39
See reviews for
89
187
50
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BERGEN COUNTY,N.J.
Level Contributor
1,051 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Free Parking in Chicago,this in itself is a rare.Great location,very clean rooms,a staff that was very nice and cares.Attractive rates,close to everything.Do not let the outside appearance fool you,I would not hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChALUTCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, don’t hesitate to call us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It is, I believe, some 50+ years old with little changed -- the motel itself reminds me of many others of its era that still line Milwaukee Ave. near O'Hare, but cleaner. What you get at the Ohio House (Ohio and La Salle) is a great location with parking outside your door which, by itself, would otherwise go for at least $30/day. . . frankly, if you are there as a tourist most locations are an easy walk (the longest hike might be to Navy Pier which is interesting in itself -- kids love the Ferris Wheel and Spook House) and everyone will enjoy the one hour Chicago River Architectural Tour which starts near the Pier is a great way to appreciate how the city grew and developed from the days of a trading post called Ft. Huron. Rates depend on # of beds and if you are there during the week or for the weekend. Heat and A.C. are controlled from the front desk and should be checked each day or you may be reset to 72 F. come morning. Good WiFi included along with HBO and the usual cable channels (pretty good sound insulation between rooms). The TV screens aren't large, but is that what brought you? Suggest tourists walk West to the "Brown Line" (the closer "Red Line" is a subway), sit in the front car and get a fantastic lesson on why Chicagoans call the Loop the Loop. Also, the small Diner behind the Office could be Sienfeld's: comfortable booths, bottomless coffee, breakfast specials, friendly staff and the local paper -- all for less than Mac's (but only cash is accepted).

Room Tip: Second floor over the alley has both privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We apperciate your stay with us, and are happy we could make your stay a good one. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
146 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

For the location, this hotel was a great pic: very clean, good price, and within walking distance to Wills (Sears) Tower and Navy Pier. The parking lot is very, very small though. If you are staying here, get here early.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ria83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to share a bit about your experience here at The Ohio House Motel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Chicago, and that your guest room was a comfortable place for you to relax and refresh. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
172 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

After reading many reviews we decided to book. I was a little skeptical based on some reviews espeically at a rate of 130.00 during the labor day weekend. But for the price and for free parking we decided to chance it.... I was very happy with the location, the cost, the clean room, and will return on my next visit.

Our room, E-119, was clean, a nonsmoking room and updated. Included a king bed, TV, free wi-fi (used on I-phone), microwave and fridge. Our view was to the alley but we were not expecting skyline views. We arrived before 4 hours before check-in and our room was already ready. Parking was secure and safe. I have parked before in other locations and have gotten knicks/damages... this did not occur at Ohio House Motel. The workers were very friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out was very smooth. Our room was nonsmoking... and when you entered you smelled cleaning products. The housekeeper came in the afternoon... our personal items were secure.

Noise at night was expected: you are in the city and staying in a hotel. If you expect to not hear your neighbors or hear sirens then maybe you should wear earplugs. This is not a four star hotel with a pool and amenities but a good value for a room that you sleep and shower in.

A quick walk to Ed Debevics, Rainforest Cafe, Hard Rock, blocks from the Red-line, and a short 10 min walk to Michigan Ave.

My new gem to stay in for a great price.

Room Tip: If you prefer nonsmoking rooms; call ahead to double check. I have terrible allergies and let them k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitejewelrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to share a bit about your experience here at The Ohio House Motel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Chicago, and that your guest room was a comfortable place for you to relax and refresh. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We loved our time at the Ohio House Motel! The room was clean and comfy. I requested a fridge and got one! The parking was secure and FREE! It is about three blocks to the Red line subway, across the street from the Rock'n'Roll McDonalds, around the corner from Ed Debevics and The Rainforest Cafe. There was a Blues Bar across from The Rainforest Cafe that my Dad really enjoyed and easy walking distance back to motel. It really is a great location. We felt safe walking around at night. We were there for four nights and only used the car once to go to the Museum of Science and Industry because it would have taken almost an hour to get there by transit. I've already started planning my next vacation to Chicago and I will be staying at the Ohio House Motel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgilhula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronx, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Ohio House Motel is great if you're looking to pay somewhat less for a motel but still
stay in a location convenient to all the major Chicago attractions. Parking is available, which is a huge money saver, as lots run from $30 to 45 a DAY. The major subway/L lines are within five minutes from the hotel, as are Grant Park and Millennium Park. The hotel itself was clean and had the standard amenities. Free wireless was also a nice plus. It is a bit loud out on the street but nothing that prevented us from falling asleep after a busy day of walking around the Loop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emanningbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I assure you that this has been addressed by proper management. We truly appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Near North Side
FieldHouse Jones
FieldHouse Jones
#96 of 189 in Chicago
72 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#144 of 189 in Chicago
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Felix
#115 of 189 in Chicago
1,583 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohio House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio House Motel

Property: Ohio House Motel
Address: 600 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ohio House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ohio House Motel offers 2 star accommodations in the heart of downtown Chicago. We are walking distance from Chicago's finest attractions and are located in Chicago's River North neighborhood with free parking, Wi-Fi, HDTV, and free breakfast when you book us direct! The Ohio House Motel offers the best value lodging in downtown Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ohio House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio House Hotel Chicago
Ohio Motel Chicago
Ohio Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing