We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sandwiches!”
Review of Bockwinkel's

Bockwinkel's
Ranked #490 of 9,614 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had to eat in a hurry and chose this place because it was convenient to the Fairmont Millennium Park. The staff maintained their good humor and helpfulness while being pressured by so many hungry people trying to get a quick bite before the next session of our Conference. The sandwich was tasty, the bread fresh, the ingredients high quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    22
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a joy for snacks, staples and even alcohol in the city”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stumbled upon this store as we are staying in the Hyatt Regency on Wacker. I have been there 3 days in a row. From the outside, it looks small but it is huge inside with all the little back rooms. Everything you need is there - a make your own salad bar, fresh produce, huge selection of cheeses, great wine selection and so much more. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mpalopoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good inexpensive eats.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Their salad bar is pretty inexpensive for the area. If you want an affordable eat this is the place. In the area most of the places are more expensive to eat at.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank depickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Salad Bar - Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I found Bockwinkel's while staying at the Hyatt. There was a crowd, so I decided to try. Plus, it was a really nice day and they had seating outside - which was very nice. The salad bar was very well stocked with a large variety of all sorts of things. Everything was very fresh and there was an assortment that I'm simply not used to seeing. You make your own salads here and there is also a sandwich bar (which I didn't try). I was real pleased I found this place - and after seeing the prices at the Hyatt - I was even more pleased it was so close!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A lifesaver, especially when staying at the Hyatt”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We found Bockwinkel's when staying at the Hyatt Regency practically next door. We had the salad bar for lunch and rolls for breakfast.
This was a very handy place for picking up water, snacks and very reasonably priced meals.
We'd definitely come back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank athena-fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bockwinkel's also viewed

 

Been to Bockwinkel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing